We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent room, but didnt feel safe outside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winnipeg Thriftlodge
Ranked #60 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Duluth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“decent room, but didnt feel safe outside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The staff and the room were fine. The bed was excellent. I just didnt feel safe as a single traveler outside the hotel at night and early morning. It definitely felt like there were people living in the outside exit rooms and there were many people milling around drinking and smoking outside the back entrances. I was even harrased once.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Travelp2013 S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie L, Owner at Winnipeg Thriftlodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's unfortunate that you felt less than comfortable outside during certain hours and it's for this reason we have a professional security detail looking out for hour guests both inside the property and parking lot as well. During your stay we did have a number of families staying in our outside-facing main floor rooms, these were flood evacuees from the north awaiting accommodations/lodgings in Winnipeg and outlying areas. We've since worked with both account coordinators and our own management to see any issues stemming from the goings-on after hours addressed and rectified. We hope that the above would not dissuade you from returning and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    24
    25
    41
See reviews for
44
17
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kenora
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our first impression from the street was a little sceptical, but we soon found the accomodations to be very pleasant and comfortable. The staff wasiendly and helpful. The rooms were exceptionally quiet. Usually you here noises from other rooms or the hall way, but not here. The pool was alot of fun and seemed to be kept clean. The hot tub had a bit too much cemical for my liking. We ate breakfast in the restaurant. the food and service were satisfactory. I would recommend this lodging as a place to stay for a quiet get away in the middle of a big city with lots of shopping and things to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie L, Manager at Winnipeg Thriftlodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future. We do take pride in our water park and have measures in place to ensure that it's operation is up to code. Thanks to your comment we will now take additional steps to ensure that the chemical strengths in our hot tubs are not too intense.

Once again, thank you for the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Bad service, ignorant workers,only good thing is the waterpark. I wouldn't even recommend this place to my worse enemy. Never again. Next time I guess pay the extra 60 and stay at canad inns. Your desperate go to the stock probably better service I'm so disappointed ..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandybayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie L, Owner at Winnipeg Thriftlodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
It is regrettable that your stay with us was not all that it could have been and for as much we sincerely apologize. If it is at all possible, could you please expand or further explain where our performance suffered most (where you experienced that bad service & ignorant staff).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winnipeg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Canad Inns Destination Centre Health Sciences Centre
Super 8 Winnipeg West
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#21 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#26 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Comfort Inn Airport
#51 of 63 in Winnipeg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnipeg Thriftlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnipeg Thriftlodge

Property: Winnipeg Thriftlodge
Address: 1400 Notre Dame Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E 3G5, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Winnipeg Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great people. Nice rooms. Affordable rates. We offer rooms with 1 queen size bed or 2 double size beds. Close to many attractions and shopping centers. Our indoor water park is a family favorite, also available for birthday parties, with water slides, and hot tubs, and sauna. Our cafe/restaurant is great for coffee, or a completely delicious dinner. Also, the bar and lounge offer great entertainment. We look forward to seeing you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winnipeg Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thriftlodge Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Thrift Lodge
Thrift Lodge Winnipeg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing