We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful find”
Review of Norwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Norwood Hotel
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Level Contributor
240 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days while were exploring Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. The room was not large, but came with a micro and refr. Liked that the shower facilities and dressing sink were separated. Stayed on an upper floor which was quiet and non-smoking. Bed was extremely comfortable. Hotel is within walking distance of The Forks which is kind of a park on a river with food courts and restaurants, walkway along the river, walking distance to the baseball park. The Forks is really a cool place and very close to The Norwood. Norwood has an in-house pub and restaurant. Didn't eat or drink there, but there were many people doing so. Free parking was a plus. The price was pretty fair considering it was Canada. Under 100 US per night. No breakfast, but like I said micro and fridge. Will stay there again should I find myself in Winnipeg. Not real close to the airport, but near downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StonecreekArabians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    119
    42
    4
    3
See reviews for
102
46
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

There were pluses and minuses with this hotel. I rated it overall as a good 2 star. The parking is plentiful and free. The service at the front desk was very good - even moved us to a different room when we asked for a quieter side of the building. The hallways and the rooms seem dark and small. The room was OK, but the bed was soft with an indentation. The hotel restaurant and pub are great. The pub serves a rib special on Tuesday and Wednesday's which are large and great for only $14. The pub has multi sport screens and live entertainment on the weekends.
There is free wifi in the rooms, but no micrwaves or fridges. The hotel is a very short walk over the bridge to the "Forks", which is a major attraction (park, musuem, restaurants, etc)

Room Tip: Walk to the Forks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgrassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I've stayed at the Norwood Hotel on my last three trips to Winnipeg. The hotel itself is well situated (easy to get to, close to downtown), the rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious and the service is excellent. Rates are very reasonable. The hotel also has a restaurant on the ground floor which is super convenient for breakfast (although the serve lunch and dinner too). I recommend the Norwood.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I was in Winnipeg for business, and stayed here as all the large hotels were booked. This hotel is a medium sized business located close to (but not in) the downtown. There are a few useful shopping within walking distance (eg pharmacy). The room was large and clean.

I was travelling on business and needed a place with a business centre and taxis at the door. This place didn't meet my needs in that regard. However, the room was just fine. I particularly liked being able to open the windows for some natural fresh air. I would travel here with my family if I wanted a clean place with basic accommodations outside downtown.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor at the end of the building to get the fresh breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalgaryAB
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Norwood Hotel provides clean and comfortable accommodations. My family stayed for five nights this summer while visiting extended family in Winnipeg. We have stayed there before and while it is still a nice place, it doesn't seem to evolve much and there really aren't many features that are found at other hotels (eg. microwave, fitness room, laundry (although there is a drycleaning service). It works for us, though, and we would go back.

The restaurant is very nice for breakfast (again, it doesn't seem to change). We purchased the breakfast vouchers. This limited our choices to 3 meals and I don't think I would do that again. The whole menu looked inviting and it would have been nice to have more options.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked this after being unable to book our regular Hotel Inn on the Forks. This hotel is clean, walking distance to the Forks and is inexpensive. We'll be staying here on all future visits to Winnipeg. Bonus is that it has a great restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willie421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

we had our reception here July 13,2013 and the service was oustanding we paid extra to have the hall decorated and it was money well spent the hall was beautifully decorated and all our needs were met. The buffet of food was enjoyed by all in attendance as was the variety of food offered. We would highly recommend the Norwood to anyone looking for a banquet hall. I would also like to mention the staff , all the staff working our reception were freindly and very helpful

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#4 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
#12 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwood Hotel

Property: Norwood Hotel
Address: 112 Marion St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2H 0T1, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Norwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated, The Norwood Hotel in Manitoba is immersed in Winnipeg’s oldest and most popular Francophone neighborhood, St. Boniface. Soak up French Canadian culture at charming bistros, lively summer garden markets and a trés cool winter festival. Visit locally owned shops, restaurants and jog expansive winding river trails. Shopping conveniences are footsteps away from our stylish Manitoba hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Norwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hotel Winnipeg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing