We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Wpg night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Norwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Norwood Hotel
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
405 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Winter Wpg night”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Well, very happy to find a Hotel downtown, location is very good. Stayed on the 5th floor. The carpet is a bit tired. The coffee machine burped coffee grounds all over the counter, I have a Keurig at home so I don't think it's me. Then the weirdest whistling sound from the shower faucets. I'm sure my early morning shower was not pleasant for others on the same floor. The restaurant was lovely. all in all, a warm place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at Norwood Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. I would like to assure you that we have checked all the Keurig machines. We are also trying to find any noisy showers because I want to make sure that it won't disrupt our guests. I am glad that you did find our property to be " all in all, a warm place to stay". I hope that will stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    107
    39
    3
    3
See reviews for
94
41
26
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
madsen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

1st time with this hotel but we will be back + have told our friends about it as well. Chose it for the location (close to the grandchildren) but was won over by the restaurant + bar. Good food at a reasonable price + the bar features live music on the weekends without the face fishhook, vampire crowd. Family owned since 1927 they have kept up with the times as the room was quiet, clean + comfortable. We were the loudest on the floor due to the 8 month old grand daughter. Within walking distance to the ballpark so would be a alternative hotel for your next Goldeye game. At the time of booking they had a weekend special that included 2 drinks at the bar + 2 breakfasts free per day. That's my kind of marketing!

Room Tip: See if you can get the weekend promo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at Norwood Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you very much for the wonderful comments. We look forward to being of assistance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
107 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Wanted to find a place close to the downtown area and away from the airport chains..... Ok so it's not affiliated with any of the major brands. And the building seems quite older...... Here's what I found: Friendly people. Great location - shopping, restaurants etc... right out your door. Could walk downtown to places like Earl's or even The Keg assuming it's warm enough. Rooms were very quiet in terms of adjacent rooms and the floor above. There is street noise as Marion St or whatever it's called is quite busy. Rooms are very clean, TV is flatscreen with many HD channels, and the HVAC is very quiet. Further, there is a restaurant and bar on site which has good food and very reasonable prices vs the chains and downtown hotels. Daily breakfast special at least while I was there was $4.99 inclusive of coffee and taxes. Parking is right off the lobby and free ta-boot! So I'd recommend this place and will stay here again!

Room Tip: Avoid the street noise and request and odd numbered room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kubzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan C, General Manager at Norwood Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Have been using this place for years when visiting Winnipeg. Started using when visiting on business, now also use when on visiting area on own time. They have never disappointed, always clean, friendly staff and a great location. They also have good food and you can have a drink at the bar without leaving the hotel. Nice walk to " The Forks" which is a must to visit when in Winnipeg. As many have said before .... I would recommend without hesitation.,,,,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunner
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here one night on a business trip. Nice clean hotel in a good central location.
check in was quick and easy, room was clean and comfortable, wifi worked well, and lots of good restaurants in the area. Reasonably priced. would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank north-lite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Frances
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here about a half a dozen times and was pleased each time. Close to St. Boniface hospital , and great restaurants such as Pasqualis and Santa Lucia .beer store in parking lot and liquor store a cross the street. Also very quiet, nice people at check in, secure parking lot. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailey241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
240 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days while were exploring Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. The room was not large, but came with a micro and refr. Liked that the shower facilities and dressing sink were separated. Stayed on an upper floor which was quiet and non-smoking. Bed was extremely comfortable. Hotel is within walking distance of The Forks which is kind of a park on a river with food courts and restaurants, walkway along the river, walking distance to the baseball park. The Forks is really a cool place and very close to The Norwood. Norwood has an in-house pub and restaurant. Didn't eat or drink there, but there were many people doing so. Free parking was a plus. The price was pretty fair considering it was Canada. Under 100 US per night. No breakfast, but like I said micro and fridge. Will stay there again should I find myself in Winnipeg. Not real close to the airport, but near downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StonecreekArabians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,074 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
469 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
990 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
802 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
#11 of 63 in Winnipeg
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwood Hotel

Property: Norwood Hotel
Address: 112 Marion St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2H 0T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Norwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated, The Norwood Hotel in Manitoba is immersed in Winnipeg’s oldest and most popular Francophone neighborhood, St. Boniface. Soak up French Canadian culture at charming bistros, lively summer garden markets and a trés cool winter festival. Visit locally owned shops, restaurants and jog expansive winding river trails. Shopping conveniences are footsteps away from our stylish Manitoba hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hotel Winnipeg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing