We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel, but needs update”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West
Ranked #40 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We rented the room and motel is fine so are the staff, fine and friendly. They have to shampoo and clean the carpet, small rooms and smell so does the hallway, maybe because they take Pets. They have to work on it.

Room Tip: Its Yaki!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night both before our flight out, and two weeks later when our flight got in. The first night was in the hotel part and the room was small and dated, but clean and comfortable. I was concerned however, for the safety of our vehicle and it's contents since the parking lot is in the back alley with bar traffic in and out all night. Our second night here, we checked in at 1am, and were sent to a room in the motel part. It was so old. And stunk of cigarette smoke so badly even though it was a non smoking room. Everyone knows you can't get smoke out of a room simply by cleaning. This bothered me, as I have asthma. However, since it was so late, we slept fast and left early. The front desk lady was very apologetic when I complained of the smoke smell. She said they are demolishing that portion of the hotel in September. Perhaps they should not be renting those rooms if they are so bad? Anyways, there was nothing wrong with the Hotel room for its price.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kevin U
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The beds and pillows were comfortable. No elevator, so you may want to ask for the lower floor if this is an issue for you. There was a "musty" almost smokey smell to the room which wasn't overbearing, but noticeable. The shower was the problem - shifts to burning hot to freezing cold several times during my shower - not fun! This is an economy hotel - old - but acceptable for a comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: Request a lower floor if stairs are a concern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LESLEYHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bernadyne T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Priscilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winnipeg
0 mi away
Super 8 Winnipeg West
Super 8 Winnipeg West
#2 of 63 in Winnipeg
246 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#38 of 63 in Winnipeg
334 reviews
10 mi away
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
#22 of 63 in Winnipeg
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Headingley Winnipeg West
9.2 mi away
Queen Bee Hotel
Queen Bee Hotel
#43 of 63 in Winnipeg
36 reviews
9.9 mi away
Travelodge Winnipeg East
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#27 of 63 in Winnipeg
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West

Address: 3740 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3K 0Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: £44 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Winnipeg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing