We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not What We Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed 1 night and were totally surprised be the condition the place was in. We left for Cuba the next day and stayed in a 3-3.5 star resort. That was nicer than this Howard Johnson. The only good thing we can say is the reception was very friendly, and the breakfast the next morning was awesome, It was hot, fresh tasting and service was good. We would go back for the breakfast only.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    100
    69
    45
    21
See reviews for
93
57
36
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We rented the room and motel is fine so are the staff, fine and friendly. They have to shampoo and clean the carpet, small rooms and smell so does the hallway, maybe because they take Pets. They have to work on it.

Room Tip: Its Yaki!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winnipeg hotels

Esterhazy, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night both before our flight out, and two weeks later when our flight got in. The first night was in the hotel part and the room was small and dated, but clean and comfortable. I was concerned however, for the safety of our vehicle and it's contents since the parking lot is in the back alley with bar traffic in and out all night. Our second night here, we checked in at 1am, and were sent to a room in the motel part. It was so old. And stunk of cigarette smoke so badly even though it was a non smoking room. Everyone knows you can't get smoke out of a room simply by cleaning. This bothered me, as I have asthma. However, since it was so late, we slept fast and left early. The front desk lady was very apologetic when I complained of the smoke smell. She said they are demolishing that portion of the hotel in September. Perhaps they should not be renting those rooms if they are so bad? Anyways, there was nothing wrong with the Hotel room for its price.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathmore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The beds and pillows were comfortable. No elevator, so you may want to ask for the lower floor if this is an issue for you. There was a "musty" almost smokey smell to the room which wasn't overbearing, but noticeable. The shower was the problem - shifts to burning hot to freezing cold several times during my shower - not fun! This is an economy hotel - old - but acceptable for a comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: Request a lower floor if stairs are a concern
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LESLEYHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winnipeg
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Winnipeg West
Super 8 Winnipeg West
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#38 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
9.9 mi away
Travelodge Winnipeg East
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#25 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park West Inn
Park West Inn
#54 of 63 in Winnipeg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Winnipeg West
Motel 6 Winnipeg West
#2 of 2 in Headingley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West
Address: 3740 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3K 0Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
#5 Best Value Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Winnipeg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Winnipeg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing