We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quite enjoyed ourselves!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona
Ranked #56 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“quite enjoyed ourselves!”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here because our truck broke down and it was close to the mechanic. But we really really enjoyed out stay and I am surprised at all the bad reviews :( We personally didn't have any problems with noise, and we had good sleeps. The only down side to this place was that the headboard fell off, but it's not entirely its fault. There is a pub attached so without a truck it was nice to be able to walk down to get some wings. It's atmosphere was great too. I think there was a big pool too. anyway, the staff were super friendly and easy going and we would stay there again :)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bc_expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    12
    12
    12
See reviews for
15
3
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2011

This hotel is avrage hotel has a good restraunt in it, unfortinatly also accompanied by 2 bars and alot of weekend traffic. This hotel is noisey on weekends you can here people walking on the floor above you. The beds are a little rough on the back.. The hotel over all is over priced, I have stayed in hotels of the same quality for $30.00 less.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

This Canad inn is no different from other Canad inns. It is getting a little worn our but for the most part it is alright. We stayed two nights and the kids had a blast. The pool was perfect for them. We stayed in a theme room - they loved the bunk bed area. It has a mini fridge, and microwave so you can store things or bring your own popcorn. This is not a hotel to stay at if you are just passing through and want to go to bed early. There is a bar attached to all Canad-Inns and it si very lively around midnight. this never bothered us.
Food was average as you would get in all alto's - we have staying in the polo park, brandon, Fort Garry and garden city Canad-Inn. They are all the same. Club Regent is ok too. All in all an ok stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tikkogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I will be brief, but will confirm exactly what others have said before. Very thin, and dirty walls. We could hear outside "bar noises" until nearly 3am.

Halls were dirty and smelled of mold. Beds were worn but reasonably clean. Bathroom was very old, worn, small and dirty. However it did have a handy bottle opener on the counter... From the 70s! Remember those? Lol

We were here for a team sporting event in the neighborhood. Our "team special price" was over $100 per night per room. Arrrrr!

We did not risk the pool.
Pass this hotel by.
Stay at the casino hotel 3 blocks away, even if you hate casinos, and you have to stay in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deals4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winnipeg hotels

Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I will never stay in this hotel again in transcona the kids next door were so loud it was like they were in the room with us. they got a phone call too quiet down cause I heard the conversations and they kept it up for a hour so I asked to move to another room.the next day, well when the bar got out at 1 a.m
it was so loud in the hallways you could swear they where in my room and you could hear every word . for the price I paid it wasn't worth it

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helen1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brandon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2007

Canadinn in Transcona,Winnipeg,manitoba it really started at check in unfriendly place was a little dirty to expensive pool was dirty and the building was very noisy room was clean morning staff at front desk was nice clean and polite stayed 2 nights to long everything else was booked traveled for a sporting event.Do your homework before u take your family there..Thanks

Helpful?
1 Thank lookingforaroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 June 2004

One would expect when you pay for a room in a hotel that you do so with the intention of getting a good nights sleep.... Well, should you ever have the unfortunate luck of being placed in a room backing on to the the bar forget it!!!! There is a ill placed picnic table where hotel, restaurant and bar staff and patrons gather alike to gosip and smoke. As the windows in this hotel do not open, this shouldn't be a problem, right? WRONG! Every word can be heard as if you were right there with them. And with the amount of sleep we got it would have been a lot less frustrating to joing them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So how about complaining, well a very late call to the front desk, resulting in a visit by security to the picnic table patrons one would think it solved. Nope, and the second compalint did nothing either.

Then comes check out, ok I'll try to complain there too, only to be told that front desk staff has no authority to do anything about my complaint. They only option I have is to contact the manager next week. What no shift supervisor even? I give up.

So, I shall use this forum instead, seeing as they couldn't even attempt to satisfy or even pretend to care about my complaint. I have a very difficult time beleiving that I was the first to complain, yet the picnic table remains for staff and bar goers alike. Maybe they should realize that without guests they wouldn't need staff???

So all I can say is, ask where & what your room faces before accepting it, if you hope for (a very unrealistic hope it seems) a good nights sleep.

Signed,
KCP
Frustrated and tired

Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
0.7 mi away
Canad Inns Destination Centre Club Regent Casino Hotel
2.6 mi away
Canad Inns Destination Centre Windsor Park
6.7 mi away
Canad Inns Garden City
Canad Inns Garden City
#42 of 63 in Winnipeg
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Winnipeg East
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#26 of 63 in Winnipeg
680 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hilton Winnipeg Airport Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona

Property: Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona
Address: 826 Regent Ave W, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2C 3A8, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona features 50 deluxe King and Queen double guest rooms with Suites, serving the east side of the City of Winnipeg. Our hotel is a convenient, friendly and fun place to stay. Located along one of the city's busiest shopping streets, filled with big box retailers, the Kildonan Place Shopping Centre, specialty shops, movie theatres, Golf Course, car dealers and the "must see" tropical-themed Club Regent Casino. Guest Room Amenities: - Kids Theme Rooms - Complimentary coffee makers, flat panel TVs, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons and boards - Sony Playstation 3 - Guest voice messaging- High speed wireless internet - BluRay Players in our suites - Access to Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Canad Inns Destination Centre Transcona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canad Inns Transcona Hotel Winnipeg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing