We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have time...”

Royal Canadian Mint
Ranked #10 of 189 things to do in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open Mon-fri 9-5 in winter, mon-sun 9-5 in summer. $5 per adults and $3 per child. Call to make reservations.
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“If you have time...”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This had not been near the top of our 'to do' list whilst visiting Winnipeg for 3 days, but our local friends wanted to take us there so we went. It was a very worthwhile visit and the 90 minutes did not drag at all. The Mint makes coins for so many countries and the story of the process very interesting. You do get the chance to hold a valuable gold ingot (chained to concrete!) for photos.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MartinBDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    131
    59
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Not a long tour but absolutely fascinating to see how our coins are made. Did not know that we make coins for other countries too. Very nice tour guide Real. I was able to hold a gold bar worth half a million dollars! It was chained down.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank englishteacher54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Was very suprised to learn about what all the mint does. Our tour guide was entertaining, but not in a good way for her. ALso some of the people we toured with were amazing with the questions they asked. I was embarassed to be an American. Besides that it is pretty cool. Lots of cool coins to look at and for sale. Fun to get a behind the scenes at how coins are made. There is a fee for the tour, but you can go look/buy coins at no cost.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank arlopear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 540 helpful votes
“Great looking building - well worth a visit”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is one of Winnipeg’s more unusual attractions and definitely worthwhile for a one hour visit. The mint is located just outside Winnipeg proper in a semi-rural location that allows for good views of the very attractive mint building. The best place to get a good picture is from … Approaching the mint you pass through the colourful (parade of flags) representing each of the (65+) countries that have some or all of their coinage minted at this site. The entry fee is moderate and the only way to see the working mint is on a 45 minute guided tour. If you just want to see the interior, browse the giftshop which has many beautiful and rare commemorative coins for sale, see the medals cast for the Vancouver Olympics, get your picture taken in a gigantic one cent piece or get your own coin pressed, then it’s free. However, I would strongly recommend the tour, particularly on a weekday when coins are being minted just on the other side of the plexiglass.

The guided tour essentially takes place in a relatively small space that looks down on the inner workings of the mint. There are numerous stops along the way where the process of minting a coin is explained from beginning to end. Not surprisingly photography is not permitted. This may not be the best tour for small children, but for everyone else it is an hour well spent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank maritimeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“So many currencies...so little time!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were a bit rushed but we felt that we had to have a look at the Mint while we were in Winnipeg. We flew through our tour and it was very interesting and informative. I had no idea how many countries have their coins produced here! I loved being able to buy coins that were in 'mint' condition at the gift shop. The shine on my new quarters was amazing. I would recommend this tour to families and anyone in the area. A great stop during our afternoon tour.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank momofthecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Canadian Mint also viewed

 

Been to Royal Canadian Mint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing