We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beds so comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
WInnipeg
1 review
“Beds so comfy”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

It looks like new inside and the staff was very friendly. Plus their beds are sooo comfy. :) The location is perfect is central St. Vital and close the mall. I recommend this hotel for business travellers and families. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricklogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff R, General Manager at Econo Lodge Winnipeg South, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. Our team is happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel has gone though major renovations and our guests are enjoying the newly renovated rooms and great beds. Getting a good nights sleep is so important when travelling and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the bed. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    23
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
14
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, SD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My friends and I went up to Winnipeg for the weekend. The concierges Isobella and Andrejs were very helpful in where to go and how to get there. The rooms were very nice and the maids seemed to be always making sure everything was nice and clean. The pub next door, Tapp's, was also great and filled with amazing servers.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff R, General Manager at Econo Lodge Winnipeg South, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Andrejs and Isobella are great assets to our team and they will be happy to see your review acknowledging their hard work. We are lucky to have them as part of our team. Tapps' is a great pub and very popular with locals and visitors to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Yes, some of the other reviewers would echo our concerns. The young man who greeted us, was marvelous. Andreja, was the concierge, who greeted us. We were told that if it is a two storey, Manitoba will not allow an elevator, so if you have mobility issues, this is not a place to go. The other joyful news we got was that 8 a.m. the water was to be shut off. Then it was changed to 9 a.m. and check-out is 11. My friend who had booked the accommodation got an e-mail, advising that they were cancelling our reservation (we had already booked in). We were three women and a dog. However, the young man at the desk (they are truly blessed to have him) found two other young men with muscle to help us with our bags, he helped at the breakfast area in the morning and helped us figure out how to get out of Winnipeg and back on the road. If you are on a road trip, find a hotel closer to the highway. Winnipeg, I found was a confusing city to get around. Lot's of poverty in the downtown core. Sad to see.

Room Tip: Get a room close to the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadianeh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff R, General Manager at Econo Lodge Winnipeg South, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You were with us on a very challenging weekend! A water main break on the street behind the hotel resulted in the City of Winnipeg turning off the hotel's water supply periodically throughout the weekend causing inconveniences to our guests for which we sincerely aplogize. I am happy to hear that Andrejs was able to assist you during your stay. We have a great team here at the Econolodge Winnipeg South. The hotel is located in a newly renovated, older building that does not have an elevator. We do our best to advise our guests of this when they are making their reservation. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your road trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I was surprised when we drove up to this hotel to find it in the top floor of a strip mall. Their was no elevator to move our bags up to the second story. The room smelled somewhat smokey, which surprised me considering it is a non-smoking hotel. I went to open the window to air it out only to find that directly below our window was a bar's patio full of smokers. As we went to get ready for bed the bar started becoming very popular, with two bouncers outside. There was no way I was getting any sleep above a bar and packed patio full of rowdy drunk patrons. I went downstairs to ask if we could move rooms. Unfortunately their were no other available rooms with two beds (which we required). Their were 6 or so empty rooms with just one king bed, and after half an hour of waiting while the manager ran around and consulted with other employees, we were told that she was not willing to provide us with two rooms (in-order to get the two separate beds we required). I was told that we would have to remain in our original room, and that if we waited until about 1am that the patio and bar would quiet down, and they would offer us a meagre 15% discount. If you want to stay in a hotel above a popular bar that sounds like a frat house, then by all means, book at this hotel. If you are looking for a restful sleep, I recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica_v_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff R, General Manager at Econo Lodge Winnipeg South, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel is located in a newly renovated but older building which does present some limitations at times. On busier weekends the rooms over the pub are utilized and can be nosier than some of the other rooms. On the weekend you were with us we were unfortunately sold out of the rooms with two queen beds and could only offer to accommodate you in the room with the king bed and sofa sleeper. Your reservation shows that you were checked in with a discounted rate and that an additional 15% discount was applied at check out time. Please accept our sincere apologies for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very disappointed. Called and booked reservations two weeks in advance showed up and the claimed they don't have a reservation under our name. Then proceed to charge us a higher rate. We were very pleased with the room but when we left for dinner and returned there was no place left to park. We waited and circled the parking lot for many laps. Finally we got a parking spot. Also the concierge was very unhelpful and not very courteous about finding our "missing" reservation. I question his ability to use a computer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russek24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff R, General Manager at Econo Lodge Winnipeg South, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear you had difficulty locating your reservation but understand that the issue was resolved when it was discovered you had made your reservation at another EconoLodge location in Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winkler, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We were looking for a place to spend the night after a concert we planned to attend in Wpg.
All of our usual spots were either full or at mid week prices, which seem to be higher. The venue was the MTS centre so we were looking for something downtown Wpg. Did a search and this Econo Lodge came up. At first I ignored it, but then it seemed to be the only one in our range that was available.
It's on St Marys which is perhaps not on the beaten path for hotels, but is in the middle of a bunch of eating places, grocery store and very close to a major mall, St Vital Shopping Center.
The drive downtown only took 10-15 minutes.
The rooms themselves were newly renovated. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Free wireless, which worked!
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast, included, had a decent variety.
We don't need a pool or exercise room so this place worked very well for us.
Attached is a great eatery called Tapps Neighbourhood Pub. Again, clean, great food, reasonable pricing and great service.
So if you need a place to rest your head, we'd recommend this place.

Room Tip: All rooms are on second floor and no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moe2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff R, General Manager at Econo Lodge Winnipeg South, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for submitting a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. We are a short drive to downtown Winnipeg making it a quick commute for concerts and other events in the downtown area.

I am glad you had a chance to try our pub; Tapps. It is a populat place for great wings and to catch the game.

We hope to see you again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Picked this hotel because of the great reviews.

Just checked in our room. The employee at the front desk was unfriendly and lacked the knowledge of any kind of customer service. The floor next to the tub was wet. Found dirt and hair in tub and when started water, the water was yellow? Almost vomited. Bed sheets has strands of hair on it and the comforter has trances of dirt. Feeling pretty uncomfortable laying on their bed right now writing this review...

We stayed at Motel 6 yesterday in Alberta and it was just fantastic. Everything you would not expect from a motel but from a hotel. Our dog even stayed free of charge (vs. Econo Lodge charge $10). It was unfortunate that the TripAdvisory iPhone app did not show Motel 6 in Winnipeg.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bransonisawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff R, General Manager at Econo Lodge Winnipeg South, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
I am sorry to hear of the poor experience you had while at our hotel. The events you describe are definitely not the level of service and cleanliness we strive for everyday at the Econolodge as you can see by our other online reviews this is definitely not the norm for our hotel. We will be taking immediate corrective steps with our guest services and housekeeping staff to ensure this shortcoming does not occur again.

I am sorry you did not feel comfortable contacting the front desk to discuss the condition of your room as we would have immediately moved you to another room. We do our best to keep our pet rooms as clean as possible

We appreciate you taking the time to write this review so we can ensure that this does not occur again.

Again, please accept our heartfelt apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Winnipeg East
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#25 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
#30 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
9.7 mi away
Super 8 Winnipeg West
Super 8 Winnipeg West
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South
#33 of 63 in Winnipeg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#38 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pembina Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Winnipeg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Winnipeg South

Property: Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
Address: 1105 St Mary's Rd, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2M 3T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Winnipeg South 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Econo Lodge® in Winnipeg, MB offers easy access to the St. Vital Shopping Centre, Riel House National Historic Site and Osborne Village. This Winnipeg, Manitoba hotel is also convenient to Investors Group Field – home of the Winnipeg Blue Bombers and Manitoba Bisons – and The Forks Market, which includes unique shops, dining, the Winnipeg Goldeyes, the Children's Museum and the recently constructed Human Rights Museum.Guests of the Econo Lodge hotel will appreciate comfortable interior corridors that provide safe and easy room access. Enjoy our full service restaurant or stop by next door at Tapp's Neighbourhood Pub, "Where your game is always on!” Other amenities include:•Free continental breakfast•Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Business Center All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, a desk, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer and alarm clock. Some rooms feature kitchen facilities and a sofa sleeper.This is a pet-friendly hotel, with four-legged friends allowed to stay for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Winnipeg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing