We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great lay-over hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A great lay-over hotel”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a lay-over in Winnipeg before catching our flight the next day. We booked into the Grand because of its location - right across the street from the airport doors, literally! It could not have been closer.
The hotel is new so we expected nice and fresh, but were amazed at the luxury of the room. We were most impressed.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating.
And when we checked out the next day, 6 hours before our flight, they were most happy to keep our luggage in storage until departure.
Thanks to the Grand for a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    161
    37
    15
    12
See reviews for
202
195
100
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birch River
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Excellent facility. Warm friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean comfortable and provided amenities we did not expect but greatly appreciated.
The meal was reasonably priced and well prepared. We booked a room on our return flight. Based on our experience I would recommend the Grand to those who appreciate quality and personable friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Our UA flights from both New York City and Chicago were late and obliged changing plans several times. Our late arrival in Winnipeg, with no connecting flights out that evening obliged finding a hotel. With three pieces of luggage missing we appeared at the hotel carrying only back packs. Jun, the bell captain met us with a remarkably friendly and welcoming demeanor. He introduced us to Kammer, the desk clerk, who signed us in and arranged for toiletry necessities, which Jun delivered to our wonderfully comfortable room with a king size bed..
We went down to the dining room and were hosted by Mags, a remarkably kind young man, who chatted about his family and made us feel extremely comfortable and served us great food.
The next morning, albeit after a short, but pleasant sleep, we left for the airport, just a short few steps across the road to the terminal.
We feel extremely pleased to have stayed at the hotel, new and prisitne and so clean.
We will happily talk up this experience to anyone we know who plans to overnight in Winnipeg.

Thanks for a delightful experience to end a difficult day.

Barbara and Ernie Dawson
Saskatoon

Room Tip: Trust the clerk at the check in counter to meet your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Small staff but very friendly and super helpful. Facilities are immaculate. Wifi is actually pretty fast. Some noise from the airport but dropped way off at night. Weird entertainment options, it seems they want you to use the ipad instead of the TV for movies!?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed one night and enjoyed this lovely new hotel. Beautiful bathrooms with glass walk-showers, comfy beds and bedding and in room iPads that are set up to take room service orders etc. Bottled water delivered to your room, included in rate, as well as single serve coffee machine with a great assortment of coffee and tea. Would definently stay again. Neat, and clean, with wonderful friendly front end staff.

Room Tip: room with a view of the airport tarmac was great to watch the planes come and go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotdiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I flew in late Saturday night at about 1 am, Checked in to the hotel shortly after, stayed until Monday. While I was there found the staff was vey friendly always willing to help out. if your flying in to Winnipeg I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Pierre Jolys
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here on our way out of Winnipeg. Room was fabulous and ever so comfortable! Front desk staff was very friendly, and the Gentleman that helped us to our room was just so sweet and friendly!! Restaurant food was excellent (try the pizza...it is FABULOUS!). We would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,137 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,153 reviews
Courtyard Winnipeg Airport
#19 of 63 in Winnipeg
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel

Property: The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel
Address: 1979 Wellington Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 1H5, Canada (Formerly The Grand by Lakeview)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Winnipeg James A. Richardson International Airport, The Grand boutique hotel provides true personal attention, thoughtful amenities, beautiful appointed accommodations and a memorable culinary experience. Your experience will be Simply Grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing