We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Overall excellence, from the amazing food, the courteous service and very high level of cleanliness, staying at The Grand before flying out of Winnipeg Airport is an awesome way to start your journey.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    155
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
192
188
95
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is located right at Winnipeg Airport and is convenient; there is free wifi, use of an IPAD, Keurig Coffee, and a fridge in each room. The challenges we had with this hotel were that the clerk in the evening seemed to be unsure of her job; we had a simple check in and she seemed challenged by it. Also, there is parking, but at a cost of $10.00/day; other hotels very near the airport do not charge for parking. The hotel is not connected to the Airport terminal or the parking, so in inclement weather one must make their way there in rain or snow. The biggest issue is that our cellphones did not work in the hotel, except very near the windows. this is very tough for business travelling.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Everything about the hotel said "5 stars" to me. The staff was professional and friendly, the amenedies were top notch, the chef at the Blue Marble did a great job with the menu for a "foodie". The view is horrible (airport parking garage), but the room is so nice you dont even need to look outside anyway. My favorite little touches: huge tub, wide variety of K-cups, excellent tapas and wine choice, high end spa products in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Walking distance to airport and car rentals, and the staff was super accommodating. Very CLEAN! My daughter loved cool features like iPad in the room and huge shower. Keurig too! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Beautiful new hotel, convenient location within walking distance to the airport(across the street), friendly staff. A refreshing addition to the Winnipeg hotel collection. Rooms were spacious, clean, and hypoallergenic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights, the first was excellent, very satisfied with the hotel room and had a great sleep. Second was the opposite, we were awoken around midnight due to construction noise within the hotel, which carried on for several hours. Although we called to complain, the response was that they were installing a 'banner', and the noise continued. Management promised to follow up to discuss with me when I returned home and I am still waiting for a call, 3 weeks later. Not satisfied with this customer service. Great place to stay as long as you didn't need to sleep on June 7th!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley Carter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Manager at The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Shelly,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We take customer service seriously here and I do hope that since your review we have met your expectations. We are truly sorry for the one night of dissatisfaction you encountered. It is my guarantee that procedures have since been put into place to ensure our valued guests never go through the lack of customer service you had encountered ever again. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stopped at The Grand by accident after driving for almost 24 hours and had been turned away at 6 previous hotels for an early check-in.

The staff was helpful and very eager to assist us. It cost $10 to park and it was added to our bill. Unfortunately there is no indoor access to the parking area from the hotel but the parking spots are reserved and very close to the hotel as well as there being a loading zone at the front doors. If you prefer, valet is available for $5. It is difficult to follow directions to the parking area but if you follow "short term parking" you should find it easily.

Our room faced a section of the tarmac and an entire wall was glass but the sound-dampening was excellent and we had no trouble sleeping.

Our room was generous in size, clean and well-equipped with an office chair, lounge chair, fridge, coffee pot, iPod docking alarm clock, several USB & regular outlets, TV, iPad, ironing board & iron, robe, towels, toiletries and comfortable bed.
The bathroom was large and while the shower with its rain-shower-head was refreshing the water pressure left a bit to be desired.

We had dinner on the main floor at The Blue Marble Restaurant & Lounge and were able to charge it directly to our room. The food was better than average and the bar appeared very well stocked.

There's a 24 hour Tim Horton's a 2 minute walk into the airport for early or late requirements as well.

Unlike several of the other airport hotels The Grand seemed secure and safe as there was no real transient foot traffic which was a relief.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#4 of 63 in Winnipeg
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
880 reviews
Courtyard Winnipeg Airport
#19 of 63 in Winnipeg
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel

Property: The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel
Address: 1979 Wellington Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 1H5, Canada (Formerly The Grand by Lakeview)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Winnipeg James A. Richardson International Airport, The Grand boutique hotel provides true personal attention, thoughtful amenities, beautiful appointed accommodations and a memorable culinary experience. Your experience will be Simply Grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Winnipeg Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing