We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mere arrives, Winnipeg rejoices!”
Review of Mere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mere Hotel
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Mere arrives, Winnipeg rejoices!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

SO happy that Winnipeg now has a cute, modern boutique hotel. It's something that was definitely missing. Welcome, Mere! The location is excellent; we were able to walk over to Peasant Cookery for dinner in about 10 minutes.

The girl at was a bit slow, though definitely enthusiastic. I think once they get a bit more business through the door, their speed will improve.

Rooms were perfect; for a minute, I forgot I was in Winnipeg. Felt more like Chicago, New York-- a more cosmopolitan city. Definitely proud that we're now able to offer that to visitors.

Ours was a Valentine's Day stay-cation, and was absolutely lovely. Complimentary mini-bar snacks, complimentary Wifi, great beds and linens, Molton Brown amenities... this hotel snob is very pleased indeed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunCatchKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    238
    42
    11
    4
See reviews for
121
313
28
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Check in was quick and to the point. The hotel has a contemporary, airy feel to it. We entered our room and knew immediately it was our kind of hotel. Spacious, modern, clean and well layed-out. (Tile on the entrance floor was a draw back...it is winter and our boots have snow on them as we enter and leave puddles on the floor.) This hotel was quiet; neighbours could not be heard and neither did we hear hallway traffic. As this was a newly constructed hotel, there was some trace of building dust that needs to be cleaned as well as pencil lines the builders used to measure and mark for installations. Check out was poor, as the man at the counter who served us was dramatic and overly impatient with the computer and was heard muttering under his breath. This was overlooked as our stay was completed and we were happy to head home after a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The upgrade to a river view would only be necessary in spring, summer or fall as our view of the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_traveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Our stay at the Mere was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The location was perfect, not to mention beautiful as it is literally right on the waterfront. The hotel was clean, contemporary, and had everything you would want and/or need. The free goodies inside our rooms fridge was a delightful touch. If you are looking to to stay in Winnipeg's downtown core this is where you need to be!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Me and my husband had an amazing experience at the Mere Hotel for 2 nights. The lobby looks great and the interactive screen is really cool! The rooms are very nice and cozy too. We had a room facing the river and I cant imagine what it will be like in the summer time. The bathroom with the overhead rain shower is amazing and so relaxing. The beds and towels are as soft as a cloud as the other reviews said so. Very good security. Back door is locked all the time and the front doors lock at night. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Avid ( I think), was polite and courteous. And Lexi was always smiling and asking how I was. But every staff I encountered were great. I didn't try the restaurant as I had other arrangements but we will when we're back.
I only have 2 slight comments to make. 1) There is no plug ins for your car and in this city that should be a must. I was told they were looking into getting them.
2) There isn't any movies you can rent, but there is movie channels. I wish we can order movies or get Netflix or something. But not a deal breaker.
Other than that, this place is hip and brand new and just a overall clean hotel. The location is perfect. You aren't right in the middle of downtown, but close enough you can walk if it is nice out. there are a lot of restaurants and stuff within a few minutes walk. I would absolutely consider checking in here again when I am back in the Summer when I can sit on the patio and go for a walk along the river and go to the Forks.

Room Tip: Ask for a King river room on the upper floors. Its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Loved the fresh, contemporary style of this hotel that you'll find in boutique hotels in other cities, particularly in Europe. There's nothing like it in Winnipeg! There was clearly a lot of thought put into the details here, from the fun touch-screen artist panel in the front lobby, to soft robes, to lovely Molton Brown toiletries to wine glasses and wine opener, and complimentary energy bars/bottled water in the room's mini fridge. It's a great neighbourhood just steps from lots of restaurants and the theatre district. Cibo restaurant nearby had a great atmosphere, food and stellar cocktails.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We tried out the new mere hotel recently and loved it! First impressions of the beautiful front lobby with its cool furniture and huge media wall were excellent and we loved the red elevator. Check-in with the friendly staff was easy and quick.

Our room had a great view of the river and lots of thoughtful touches like USB chargers by the bedside and great Nespresso coffee included in the room. The bed and pillows were the most comfortable we’ve enjoyed while travelling, and the entire experience reminded us of trips we’ve enjoyed at resorts in Sedona, Las Vegas, etc. Definitely not what you’d expect from your typical stay in Winnipeg.

We were able to enjoy a great meal with friends at the adjacent Cibo restaurant and were very happy with the décor, service, food and wine! A great night out that made us feel like we were on vacation.

Room Tip: River facing rooms have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaybirdAndBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manitoba
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel Dec 22 - 23 for our anniversary. We were very impressed with the design, service and overall quality of this new and trendy Wpg hotel! Our room was on the first floor, was fresh and clean and the bed was very comfortable. We were extremely pleased to see that the mini fridge was stocked with juices, water and snacks - at no extra charge! This is a small touch that goes a long way with customer service!
We had a few minor glitches during our stay - husband wanted his morning paper that they advertise but never received it and the water was only luke warm in our room.......however.....we understand that the newspaper service wasn't quite up and running and that they would check into the hot water issue. There are always a few knots to work out whenever opening a new establishment, that is why I still gave this hotel an excellent rating.
Cibo Waterfront Café has a great atmosphere and amazing food! And its just steps out the back of the hotel and looks out over the river....beautiful!
Front desk staff was very attentive and eager to hear how our experience was. Upon check out they gave us a gift bag filled with larger sizes of the bathroom amenities. Nice touch! We look forward to visiting Mere Hotel in the future! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mc1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#11 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,109 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,072 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Hotel

Property: Mere Hotel
Address: 333 Waterfront Dr | Winnipeg, MB, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0V1, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mere Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mere Hotel ... A truly, unique boutique hotel located on the river in an urban park location and Winnipeg's vibrant Exchange District. From the hotel, it is just a short walk to major cultural venues, Shaw Park, the iconic Portage and Main Business District, the Forks Heritage Site, the Canadian Museum for Human Rights and numerous dining and shopping options. Our beautifully designed modern guestroom offer a truly comfortable stay. Mere Hotel ... Winnipeg's ultimate select service hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing