We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very wonderful”

Le Musee de Saint-Boniface Museum
Ranked #33 of 190 things to do in Winnipeg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Grey Nuns' convent, Winnipeg's oldest building, houses Le Musee de Saint-Boniface Museum. Built for the Grey Nuns who arrived in the Red River Colony in 1844, the structure is an outstanding example of Red River frame construction. The Museum presents an impressive collection of artifacts that reveal the lives and culture of the Francophone and Metis communities of Manitoba, including a special exhibit about Louis Riel, the "father" of Manitoba. ~ Le couvent des Soeurs Grises, le plus vieil edifice de Winnipeg, heberge le Musee de Saint-Boniface. Construit pour accueillir les Soeurs Grises qui arriverent dans la colonie de la Riviere-Rouge en 1844, il s'agit d'un merveilleux exemple de construction a ossature-bois dite « de la Riviere-Rouge ». Le Musee expose sa collection impressionnante d'objets representatifs de la vie et de la culture des communautes francophone et metisse du Manitoba. Mentionnons, a titre d'exemple, son exposition speciale sur Louis Riel, le « pere » du Manitoba.
Elm Creek, Manitoba
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very wonderful”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

very fun time, while my penpal was out from Saskatchewan we took her there to experience another side of Manitoba which she might not have known about. Loved the tour guides were dressed in traditional garb, lovely interactive displays, and even had us make our own homemade butter to taste. It was a highlight of our afternoon in Winnipeg.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank desireeepenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Visit!”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I visited the museum on November 16th which is the anniversary of Louis Riel's hanging. I had not been to this museum in over 20 years and it exceeded my expectations. The Louis Riel exhibit was informative and the artifacts like Riel's hair, hanging rope, ceinture fleche, coffin were great. The permanent exhibits on the Cathedrale fire and the significance of the Grey Nuns in forming St Boniface were also very enlightning and very educational. As a French-Canadian who went to school in St Boniface, it taught me the significance of my heritage and how the city has grown so much in a short period. Not only is this venue great for out of town visitors but it's also great for home town visitors to understand the French-Canadian culture. The museum takes about 1.5 hours and you can visit the gift shop which has a nice assortment of items like aboriginal jewellery, brown sugar fudge, homemade mitts and hats, musical wooden spoons, etc.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank peachmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“In Riels Footsteps”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We enjoyed the theatre in the cemetary tour of the St. Boniface Cathedral cemetary. The actors did a wonderful job in informing and entertaining us about the inhabitants and their roles in the history of Manitoba and French-Canadian heritage. We also did the I Spy treasure hunt in the museum. Our 10 year old got to build a model of a Red River Cart and learn how to weave and tie a Metis sash. The only problem was finding a parking spot and there are only 2 hour parking limits on the streets in the area. We had a long walk to and from the car as it had to be moved to avoid a ticket.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We happened to go when a historical society from the area was there. They had various stations set up where school children (there were a lot of school groups) could learn different things about the areas history in an interactive way. They could dress up, learn how to build things, speak with the area's 'priest (maybe Bishop)' who would tell the tale of Louis Riel. It was a great event. The museum has a lot of nice artfacts and the staff was absolutely wonderful. We spent a good portion of our time speaking with the museum's curator. Worth the visit.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottawa_NMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good representation of the area's history”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Great way to spend an afternoon in the french section of Winnipeg.

Helpful?
Thank quin1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Musee de Saint-Boniface Museum also viewed

 

Been to Le Musee de Saint-Boniface Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing