We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Gate Manor

West Gate Manor
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winnipeg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Gate Manor
Ranked #10 of 14 Winnipeg B&B and Inns
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away from Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2007

My two sisters and I spent four nights at the West Gate Manor while we were visiting relatives in Winnipeg. Our two rooms were very nice,
with comfortable beds and we shared a completely redone bathroom. The hosts of West Gate Manor are very friendly and we enjoyed talking with them while we ate a lovely breakfast each morning in the dining room. West Gate is in a beautiful neighbourhood, you can walk to downtown and off-street parking was available. We would definitely stay at West Gate Manor on return trips to Winnipeg.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Montrealtraaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    4
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
7
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HALIFAX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2007

We crossed Canada staying in all provinces in both B & B's and hotels - this was certainly one of the finer ones. The owner was friendly and helpful - the house is BEAUTIFUL - we loved the location. It was clean and run very well and kept up - we would definately recommend this place to anyone - our thanks to the owners for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — that we had to leave
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giddyup21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stratford,ont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2007

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Westgate Manor in Winnipeg for 5 days. The house is beautiful. I brought with me the cold weather that those in Manitoba are familiar with. My room on the third floor was spacious with an attached sitting area. The room was decorated charmingly with several pieces of antique furniture with an extremely comfortable bed. Even though it was freezing outside my room was warm and inviting.
The bathroom on the third floor had been recently redone. It was bright and cheerful, well lit,with radiant floor heating,a new shower stall with a large shower head.
The space upstairs is a wonderful combination of the past melded with the future.
The owners were extremely helpful re information on what to see in the dead of winter in Winnipeg with verbal information as well as pamphlets etc. Since I was a newcomer to this extreme cold they also cautioned me re exposure and how to
protect myself from the elements.
Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room with a sparkling chandelier overhanging the antique table and chairs.Each day I was served a delicious,well balanced breakfast. The owners made me feel welcome and answered any questions I had without making me feel rushed.
I certainly will suggest this bed and breakfast to my friends and work associates and will visit again often if I am going to Winnipeg for a convention or a business meeting.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank delightedguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelowna b.c.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2006

We stayed with you in October with the plan to stay several days but upon our first glance at the premise we knew that it probably wouldn't happen. The greeting - take off your shoes and i will show you to your room, the carpet was filthy and we are not in the habit of taking off our shoes in a commercial establishment especially a dirty one. The room-The room has become smaller than the one you reserved, in other words you screwed up and rented it to someone else. the radiators were filthy and the doilies were soiled along with the dirty dresser set full of hair and the ceiling was pealing. The bathroom old and decrepit with no place to place your toiletries except on another dirty,filthy radiator, with pealing paint everywhere. Breakfast-First of all we asked twice what was on the menu for breakfast the evening before and were told my wife will put something together. Well the something was dry cold toast, weak coffee, a quiche that was simular to a frissby and we were told that the coffee was limited as they don't want to waste any as they stood hovering over us during the miserable breakfast. We asked for an ironing board and iron when we phoned for the booking and again when we arrived but it never surfaced. With the plaster falling off the walls and the paint pealing we had to leave the next morning in disgust. We have stayed in B&Bs across N.A. and Europe and have to rate this in the bottom 10% for cleanliness and the bottom 2% for food

  • Liked — absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — everythin
  • Tips/Secrets — go elsewhere
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank terrylapoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winnipeg hotels

Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2006

We have recently returned from a 24 day western Canada vacation. "bbcanada" has a wonderful website for which to choose lodgings, and normally has good representation. However, an exception is "West Gate Manor". The bbcanada wesite is inadequate and the proprietors have opted to include their own site as backup. It is a glossy ad that screams "Come stay with us". Obviously the proprietors have fallen on bad times.

The paint is peeling on the walls and ceilings, the roof had been leaking and was now being retiled. The furniture in the common rooms wre totally uninviting. The breakfast table was layed out austerely; two half pieces of melon (never changed both days we were there), weakest coffee we had ever tasted. First day's breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs and bacon, both plopped without fanfare, in serving dishes, onto the table. Toast was not offered. Second breakfast consisted of the same melon slices, the same "Cafe au Lait", bacon and 2 pancakes each (dare not ask for more, as the offer was never suggested).

The rooms were comfortable,(and well priced), but did have a shared bath...with 3 other rooms. Our host John was a likable fellow, but he was most concerned about other things than running a B&B. When questioned aboutquality control from a municipal or provincial body, we were advised that the B&B's were not regularly inspected by anyone. Other provinces have strict guidelines to follow, Alberta in particular. I suggest that the proprietors discontinue using the backup website as it is a total misrepresentation at present. This B&B has great potential, but is not up to the standards it has set out for itself.

Sincerely, Rick Sidock, Ottawa

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
19 Thank trwesterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#19 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Quality Inn & Suites
#36 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Gate Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Gate Manor

Property: West Gate Manor
Address: 71 West Gate, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 2C9, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate Manor is a full service Bed & Breakfast situated in one of Winnipeg's most historic neighbourhoods. The beautiful Victorian style house is a delight to your senses and features 6 beautiful rooms each decorated in a unique style. We are close to downtown and only a few minutes car drive to all of the major attractions in the city. All rates include a full breakfast served in our main dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing