We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something different and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Something different and relaxing”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We wanted to try something different, and that it was! We choose the Caribbean theme room. It includes a jacuzzi, steam shower, pool table, and a comfortable queen bed.

The Mariaggi is a historical building in the heart of Winnipegs exchange district, situated beside one of Canada's finest coffee shops (The Fyxx) and surrounded by great night life. (Kings Head Pub & Whiskey Dix Bar)

Its a great getaway for couples who want a romantic night out.

Parking difficulties, a small sign, and lots of stairs were my only concerns.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank World_Class_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    48
    17
    15
    14
See reviews for
7
333
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We loved the Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel in Downtown Winnipeg. We stayed in the China room. It was fascinating to see the state of the art amenities. i.e. The shower seemed like it had a thousand nozzles coming at you from every side. It also played music and warmed you with steam if you wanted.
The room was also fitted with a state of the art sauna and hot tub. The large screen TV was on a giant swivel so no matter what you were enjoying, you could watch your favorite show.
We decided to have dinner there that night. Excellent food. They deliver it right to your room where we enjoyed it together.

Room Tip: The China room was the newest addition when we stayed there. They had more rooms under construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We celebrated our 20th anniversary here and it was fantastic! The building has been lovingly updated in a historic downtown neighborhood, and is amazingly peaceful. The staff was helpful and always available, but seem to disappear when they are no longer required. The owners of this place must have an incredibly creative imagination to be able to put these theme rooms together. We stayed in the Rome suite, and can't wait to go back and experience some of the other "destinations".

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We went there for our anniversary and stayed in the India suite...they went above and beyond to make our stay as romantic as possible. Excellent service. The room was luxurious and comfortable. We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This hotel and building has tons of history in Winnipeg over the past 100 years, and it is so cool to walk up the stairs and through the halls see photos of the old rooms, grotto, dining areas, etc. Now it is a family operation and the staff at Mariaggi's has made every celebration extra special to me and my girlfriend at the time - with themes suites meticulously decorated from all over the world.

My latest visit was to the Rome theme suite, which I remember was a room I always wanted to experience from 20 years ago when it was one of two original rooms available. Upon entering Rome, everything was spotless, with plenty of towels, dinner settings and cande light all ready for a fantastic evening including a classic CD of Dean Martin Italian love songs playing. When the moon hits your eye like a big Pizza Pie, that's AMORE!

WOW! What a reaction from my girlfriend, who has never experienced anything like it in her life! The dinner of Salmon and Pasta that we chose was fantastic - even the potatoes were amazing making them as good as the main course! The extended checkout till 1pm was great, and other services were offered as optional upgrades.

The rooms are freshly re-decorated since my last recollection making them clean and modern. The only remenant that should be replaced is the old style projection TV with newer high def models - but the TV worked and the surround sound audio sounded fantastic as we enjoyed both recordings we brought with us, and those available in the hallway library.

The service through 20 years and 5 visits was so immpecable and friendly that I can't wait for my next opportunity to return again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BazWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We'd originally booked the Mexican room but due to an unusual odor that was coming from a recent repair job, they upgraded us for the night to the Indian suite complete with pool table, 60" tv, waterfall and king sized bed. This was a *HUGE* room and far superior to the tiny Mexican room we'd originally booked. The next night, we stayed in the Mexican room, which was a let-down compared to the Indian room. In the Mexican room, the plumbing to fill the jacuzzi tub runs across the floor so they covered it in a brick ledge about 6-8" high, running the width of the room so we had to leave some lights on because it *really* hurts stubbing your toe against the brick wall if you need to pee at night. Also, my husband discovered some sketchy wiring of the lights and redid the wiring of the entertainment systems in both rooms to get stereo surround sound (it was just coming out of the tv before he "adjusted" everything).
The rooms were nice and the staff is very friendly, but because the hotel is located downtown, it's very noisy. VERY NOISY! The street in front of the hotel is used by the neighbouring fire hall to get to ALL fires in the downtown and North End and the surrounding high rises act to amplify the sirens so we were awakened almost every hour with a screaming fire truck. Also, we stayed at the Mariaggi during JazzFest with the free concerts at Old Market Square, 1 block in the other direction, so that was also very noisy until 2am each night. It's not the hotel's fault, but it's something to be aware of that downtown Winnipeg often has free weekend concerts that might keep you awake. We were lucky we didn't stay the following weekend because that was the electronic music festival weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ejmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We went here for our wedding aniversery.
At first I was annoyed that there was no parking but the staff directed me to a parkaid
on albert street which is about half ablock from the hotel and cheap. We were there from friday to sunday and it was only $16 for sheltered parking.
At first sight it looks like a office until you get to your room. The room was nice more like a pimped out bed room then a hotel felt more like home then a hotel.
I never sleep well at a hotel do to crappy beds and blankets but this was differnt very very nice beds and blankets so nice we slept in whcih being parents of 4 we never do.
Don the owner of the place very nice guy he gave us free candles and when we asked to rent some movies he gave us all the movies we wanted for free to.
The lady in the morning at the desk very friendly and will direct you were to go for breakfast and give you info of where to check out that's all in walking distance of the hotel.
Right beside the Hotel is the News Cafe pritty good price and portions for you to hit up for breakfast (they will tell you about it).
I would like to send my parent here for a present if it's in the budget for next year and go again our selves.
James and shannon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odinsblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,074 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
759 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
989 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#19 of 63 in Winnipeg
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa

Property: Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa
Address: 231 McDermot Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#14 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel and Spa offers our guests a wide range of Romantic getaway suites, scrumptious diners and wonderfull relaxing massage from licensed massage therapists. Our attention to detail in room design far surpasses the standard hotel of the day. Plan your great escape today and Getaway Without Going Away!!! All romantic theme suites have:*Large whirlpool tub.*Steam/shower room with speakers inside the steam room.*50" TV, DVD, 200 Watt Stereo System.*Fireplace.*Romantic Dining for Two.*Small Refridgerator and Microwave. India and Caribbean also have:*Waterfall hot tubs.*Pool Table. China also has:*Infa Red Sauna.*Vichi Tornado Shower.*Multi-jet Hot Tub. Some suites have direct access to private or shared outdoor spaces. Our 3000 sq.ft. Jakarta Tropical Penthouse has:All the above plus...*Baby Grand Piano.*Bar Area.*Dining Area. *Darts and Pool Table. Mariaggi's is perfect for birthdays, anniversaries, honeymoons or just a great escape from the kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariaggi`s Theme Hotel Winnipeg
Mariaggis Theme Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing