We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting....lol” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting....lol”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

All in all we enjoyed our very first and last stay. Arriving we picked some movies and got our things in to the room. Our room looked pretty and we were pleased with the decor.
We left and returned later to what can only be assumed was a low budget porn going on next door.
I was greeted by some over weight middle aged creepy man telling me to come on in to his room. We just went to our door and went inside. Through out the night we seen many people, cameras, and lingerie because they would leave their door open constantly.
For the price we dished out I wasn't expecting such shady and skeevy atmosphere.
On top of that there was a glob of feces....yes feces on the bathroom floor in our room. Talk about a mood killer.
On top of that the movies we chose were empty. A bin of empty DVDs left in our room.
What should of been a beautiful romantic night to celebrate my husbands birthday turned in to a dirty experience.
Needless to say we will not be using the 50$ coupon for another visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
I am sorry to hear that a neighboring room was disturbing you. It is unfortunate that you did not call or let management know of the problem until now. We could have most certainly rectified the situation. Cleanliness is usually of the highest standard at our hotel. Again I appologize for the overlooked problem and will address it with our housekeeping staff. For the past 30 years our hotel has been providing romantic escapes to couples. We have had all kinds of couples stay with us - from young newly weds to those celebrating 65th anniversaries. Honeymoons, birthday celebrations and anniversaries are regular occurances. We have had the very wealthy to the university student on a small budget stay. Most of our guests want to come and enjoy some alone time and reconnect with one another in a lovely romantic atmosphere. Every now and then we encounter an unusual situation that we rectify immediately once we know about it. We have had hundreds of satisfied couples stay and many of them have given us very good reviews. Please call me anytime to discuss your stay in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    46
    15
    15
    13
See reviews for
7
323
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carman MB
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Wow! What a fabulous unique get away experience! The Mariaggi, located in the historical Exchange District is truly Winnipeg's hidden gem. My husband and I stayed in the Jakarta Penthouse suite and felt whisked away to the Islands of Indonesia. Lowell was very charming, knowlegible about the local history, and made us feel so welcome and special. Seeing our gorgeous tropical suite all lit up with candles and a glowing fireplace and soft music playing, added to the romantic ambience. The creative decor in this suite is amazing, right down to the finest detail. We had a great time playing pool, enjoyed playing the baby grand piano, and loved the relaxing waterfall hot tub, and the steam shower. Our sumptuous meal served in our room was delicious! Our compliments to the Chef! Our experience will be unforgettable, from the amazing room to the delicious meal to the wonderful service. The Mariaggi is hardly a "hotel" but a get away mini vacation. Thank you Lowell and staff for the experience. We can't wait to return, and hopefully see "Paris". Colleen Carman MB

Room Tip: The Jakarta Suite would be a fantastic place to throw a special event or have an intimate gathering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColleenCarmanMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Wow. We are really grateful that we had the opportunity to provide a mini vacation for you. We may not have the sandy beaches and palm trees. Stepping outside in a bathing suite in some winter months could give even the toughest Manitoban frost bite. However, staying at Mariaggi's allows our guests creative imaginations to easily make believe that they are on a exotic getaway. Jakarta is enormous. It is the largest suite in North America with almost 3,000 sq.ft. to explore. There are clouds in the ceiling and grass huts seem to hang over the bar area. The waterfall hot tub is unique to Mariaggi's. We designed and developed it so that when you are in the tub you can push a diverter and it waterfalls on you while the jets are pulsating. It is a great experience. No hotel anywhere in the world has this unique feature!! Being able to treat one another to a game of pool and then serenade each other on the baby grand piano without having to leave your suite must have been fantastic. Having diner delivered and served to you in the comfort of your hotel room is very special. Dinner in the suite is regularly well received. We really want you to feel extra special when you stay with us and we are pleased that you saw exceptional value in your stay. We hope your kind review encourages others in rural areas like Carmen to get away at Mariaggi's without going away on their next planned escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

This hotel is like a diamond in the rough the outside doesn't look like the all mighty delta or Hilton but upon entry you wil find yourself more surprised then ever before. These rooms are exscusit and breath taking. You feel glamorous just being a guest there. Highly highly recommended!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindeebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Many people are suprised when they walk through the doors on McDermot Ave. Most high quality hotels have wonderful entrance ways and glamorous reception areas. Nothing in Winnipeg really compares to those lobbies of some of the five star hotels in Vegas, Mexico and Hawaii etc. However, even in many of these fine hotels, when you enter the rooms, I find them to be very stail in comparison to the lobby. Our lobby is quaint and the 600 sq.ft. deck off the lobby offers guests a nice relaxing area. However, where we have spent our efforts is in the design of the rooms. I am pleased that you have noticed the wonderful environment we have created. There is no typical hotel furniture in any of our theme suites. All suites have authentic furnishings, art work, and artifacts that represent the country of the theme and they all have hot tubs, steam showers and firplaces. As a smaller boutique property we are able to pay close attention to details. Customer service, cleanliness and providing exceptional value to guests are extremely important to us. I hope to see you again soon and hope comments such as yours inspire others to experience a getaway with us too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

What a fun way to spend a weekend away, take advantage of all the great space and relax! Lo ated in central downtown Winnipeg so your close to everything, can't wait to go back! Look for coupons as they often have great specials going on!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulw1nky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great when you have a chance to escape from everyday life and do "something a little different". Today with all the challenges we face at work and raising a family we find couples really need a great escape. We are so glad your stay was relaxing and comfortable. We put alot of work into creating a wonderful environment in each of our theme suites and it is nice to hear you saw really good value in coming here. Being located in the heart of downtown's Historic Exchange District - The Old Market Square is really nice for couples who love turn of the century architecture. The exchange district has a bunch of one of a kind shops, boutiques, eateries and night life - it is encouraging for us to know that you appreciated the central location. Customer service, cleanliness and room upkeep is very important to us and we are thankful that you noticed much above average attention in these categories. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arborg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

we stayed here for one unforgettable night in the Morocco Suite the experience was great. We had been thinking of going to place just for a getaway but we wanted something unique, We called Mariaggi's to find if there was anything available and we talked to Lowell as he picked up the phone, he was one of the nicest people and told us everything we needed to know and kindly answered all of our questions. When we got there the experience only got better as we waited for our room to get the final touches done (candles lit and our choice of movies and music) Lowell was nice enough to tell us a brief history of the hotel and showed us the wall of amazing people that have once stayed there which in my eyes made the stay an even better experience. When we got to our room it was almost overwhelming how it takes you away to the place that the theme was about the colours, the lighting, tile work and even the awning style ceiling screamed Morocco even the soothing music playing on the stereo. The rest of the evening was a relaxing get away from all of the world when you get to sit in a jacuzzi tub with a water fall while you listen to some music that you have got or something that you have brought yourself, or when you are standing in the steaming shower as the music is playing threw the speakers in the showers. All in all it was a great time we enjoyed ourself very much and thank Lowell for showing us great hospitality and kindness and we will be recommending Mariaggi's to anyone looking to get away from the regular themed hotels that just plaster some cheezy wallpaper up and throw a few tiki leaves over a small jetted tub.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your getaway with us. It is good to know you enjoyed the history tour of the hotel. Frank Mariaggi was quite a visionary when he developed the building 100 years ago. His hotel boasted to have the longest bar in the west and a 8,000 sq.ft. dining room with private dining groto's in the basement. His suites were among the first in Canada to each have a private bath complete with toilet, bath and sink. Today I would like to think we are once again setting a new standard for hotel getaway suites. The hot tub in Morocco waterfalls into the tub, the steam room is spacious and the big 50" TV swivels so that you can watch a movie while lounging in the waterfall. We are so glad you thought our hotel to be a great value, exceptionally clean and had exemplary service. Every now and then we get some negative reviews. Thank goodness these are the exception to the rule. We hope to continue developing the hotel into a world class property - one that all Winnipegers can be proud of. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

stayed here as a couples night , was as fantastic experience. feels like youre on a vacation , right in the heart of winnipeg's own downtown. this backyard wonder should become more of a hosuehold name, as the experience was amazing. friendly staff, quiet environment, very comfortable and private. wouldn't even think of going anywhere else again, for that relaxing, comfy experience.

Room Tip: Roman room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We put so much of ourselves into providing an environment for couples to enjoy. It is so rewarding when we get reviews like yours. I often comment that our theme rooms really make you feel like you are on a romantic vacation. The lava rock that surrounds the hot tub in Hawaii allows couples to feel like they are sitting in a volcano. The artwork, figurines, statues and even the flooring and wall covering in the suite are authentic to the country theme. We are so glad you appreciated our customer service, cleanliness, comfortable beds and saw great value too. We look forward to seeing you the next time you need a great escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

My huband and I stayed in the "Jakarta" suite and it was absolutely amazing. We did not have one complaint!. It was exquisitly decorated and very clean .. all the staff were exceptionally kind and ready to help with anything!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TashaandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed a great escape with us. Couples are so busy today. When they have a chance to get away it is important that they are treated extra special. Jakarta is one of those magical suites that take you away from reality. We are pleased that you saw great value with your stay. I will pass on to the cleaning and maintenance staff that the suite was exceptionally maintained and clean. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#2 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#18 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa

Property: Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa
Address: 231 McDermot Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#1 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#14 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel and Spa offers our guests a wide range of Romantic getaway suites, scrumptious diners and wonderfull relaxing massage from licensed massage therapists. Our attention to detail in room design far surpasses the standard hotel of the day. Plan your great escape today and Getaway Without Going Away!!! All romantic theme suites have:*Large whirlpool tub.*Steam/shower room with speakers inside the steam room.*50" TV, DVD, 200 Watt Stereo System.*Fireplace.*Romantic Dining for Two.*Small Refridgerator and Microwave. India and Caribbean also have:*Waterfall hot tubs.*Pool Table. China also has:*Infa Red Sauna.*Vichi Tornado Shower.*Multi-jet Hot Tub. Some suites have direct access to private or shared outdoor spaces. Our 3000 sq.ft. Jakarta Tropical Penthouse has:All the above plus...*Baby Grand Piano.*Bar Area.*Dining Area. *Darts and Pool Table. Mariaggi's is perfect for birthdays, anniversaries, honeymoons or just a great escape from the kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariaggi`s Theme Hotel Winnipeg
Mariaggis Theme Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing