We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have heard so much about this hotel and was very excited that we were going to stay there for our 29th anniversary. I am very interested into the history of old buildings like Mariaggi`s. Lowell you are AMAZING to say the least. He took us on a history tour of the place which I absolutely loved to hear about. We chose the Roman room which was amazing. The whole decor of Roman statues, hot tub with ivy. The food was the best we have had in any hotel. Lowell took care of every detail to make sure everything was perfect for us. We loved our stay here and can`t wait to come back. Mariaggi`s outdid any other couples resort in Manitoba! Thank you Lowell for making our stay so memorable. See you next December. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7WIEBES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to be your host on your 29th Anniversary. Rome is a very romantic room with a variety of authentic art, statues and little details that represent the country of the theme. It is wonderful to know that dinner was one of the best you have had in any hotel. We find that guests really enjoy dining in the theme suite. It is relaxing to eat in the comfort of the hotel suite.

We really hope you keep on telling your friends and family about our property. See you next year on your 30th!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    46
    15
    15
    13
See reviews for
7
323
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Where to start....the staff was friendly and very helpful. The room decor was nice enough. That being said...there was no parking for hotel patrons. Before we even left our vehicle we were approached by a pan handler for money. The area is sketchy at best. The hot tub would have been nice if the breaker hadn't flipped every ten minutes shutting off the jets. So we would have to get out of the tub and run to the breaker panel at the front of the room to flip the switch. We were not running any appliances or lights other that the radio. The rooms are poorly insulated all around. We could hear everything coming from neighboring rooms..every footstep in the hotel...every head board banging. The single pane windows allowed all the street noise to sound like it was at the foot of our bed. So the rowdy drunken fights at 2am sounded like they were in our room. Every profanity and drunken slur was heard clear as day. The labels made with the cheap label maker and plastered all over the walls were tacky for a "high end" hotel. The bed was very small, pushed right up against the wall and very uncomfortable. It was sagging in the middle and very worn in. The staff are not found anywhere after 8pm. There is another tacky sign with emergency numbers on it found at the vacated front desk. Overall it was a VERY disappointing stay. Needless to say we checked out after being awoken by load bangs at 5am and checked out by 6am, leaving our keys at a vacated desk...with our gratuity envelope. No way would we recommend this place or ever go back there ourselves. We are baffled at all the high reviews for this place. The hotel staff must be busy writing positive reviews while they are not posted at the front desk. All in all...DONT DO IT!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 718Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi Cody and Jaimie:

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not meeting your expectations. Over the past 30 years we have been providing romantic escapes for couples. Hawaii has been one of our more popular suites and we have had many satisfied couples stay in this suite. I talked with Sarah today and she told me that you came out one time at 6PM to complain that the hot tub was shutting off. Sarah told me that she suggested to flip the breaker and it should correct itself and if it kept happening to come out and we could try and fix it another way. No one came out and we thought everything was fine.

We have taken extra precaution to sound proof the rooms. There are two separate walls between suites and sound barriers and sound insulation have been installed. The windows are double pane. We are located downtown and some nights when the bars close it can be noisy, however, it is usually short lived and does not affect our guests as it did on the night you stayed.

We actually are in the building 24 hours. It is true that from time to time there may not be anyone at the hotel front desk all the time as we may be helping guests with one thing or another. There are phone numbers that guests are encouraged to call if they are experiencing problems. Saturday night I was at the front desk till 11PM and I did not notice you come out to ask for help other than the time I came in to show you how to use the stereo system which was around 7PM.

Of course we would rather have heard how much you enjoyed the room décor and our service and cleanliness. The 3,000 pounds of lava rock work that surrounds the hot tub and the abundance of Hawaiian artwork, statutes and figurines are throughout the suite. We have directions on how to use equipment in the suite, however, our room design is second to none which is a large reason why most of our guest reviews are extremely positive.

Our guests reviews are genuine. We do not have our staff write reviews on our hotel or anyone else's for that matter. We have been awarded many Travelers Choice Awards including one of the Worlds Most Romantic Hotels as well as a number of others from independent bodies such as Rand McNally (Best of the Road).

I wish we could have helped you with your hot tub problem at the time it was causing you discomfort. Please call me anytime to further discuss your stay....

Sincerely.

Lowell L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights for our 7 year wedding anniversary. For the first two nights, we stayed in the India suite. This room is a thousand square feet of pure pleasure. With authentic statues and carvings and artwork directly from India this place makes you feel like you are really there. Throw in a waterfall Jacuzzi hot tub alongside a 50 inch flat screen TV with surround sound , add a pool table and a numerous amounts of lights to set the mood anyway you want . I have never been in a room that look like this before. This hotel sets the bar for the term theme room. For the last two nights we stayed in the Jakarta penthouse room. 3000 square feet ! you wouldn't believe how much space is in this room until you see it. My wife and I made use of all the room, but it would have been better if there where more people to be there with us. We are experienced travellers, so we had our own soaps and lotions, which worked out okay because the only thing the hotel had to offer was hand soap. They did provide bubble bath, candles and incense which was a nice touch as well. There is a great cake bakery called cakeology right around the corner and smokey poutinery.. check my review on that as well lol... all in all this is a great hotel in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, close to everything, but of all the great things the rooms had, the entire staff of this hotel is why we are already planning our return to experience china:) a super special hello and take care from joel and the nail lady to the ENTIRE STAFF!!! You guys made our anniversary the best one yet!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank da_browns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We were so honored when you told us you came to Winnipeg specifically to stay at our theme hotel. We wanted you to have a fantastic experience in Winnipeg. Our location was perfect for you to explore what Downtown Winnipeg has to offer. Glad you enjoyed Cakeology and the Poutinery (I really like them too). I don't know if you had time to go to the zoo and see the polar bear exhibit or to Leo Mol's bronze sculpture garden but they are really great to visit as well. We really put our hearts into designing a great atmosphere for couples to celebrate special occasions. I often tell guests it is not just a room with a statute in the corner and a hot tub in the room. All the artwork, carvings and statutes in the suites are authentic and really add to the genuine and romantic feel. It was nice that you were able to spend time in our Jakarta Penthouse suite. We hope you were able to enjoy the new private 300sq.ft. balcony. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the waterfall hot tub and large steam room. Customer service is so important. I am glad to know we took great care of you in this department too. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for recommending your friends and family - we will definitely take good care of them too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

At first i was a little skeptical because i had read a bad review online. But as soon as i got there i forgot all about it. It's a nice family owned business and you can tell (that's a good thing). The service was unbelievably awesome, they showed us around our room and how to work everything. The room itself was definitely the nicest hotel room i've ever stayed at in my life. I give this place 5 stars and can't wait until i come back

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aalbanito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Couples need couple time. It is a philosophy that many of us pay lip service to and most of us find hard to put into practice. Mostly it is because we are so busy working and raising our family. When guests decide to come here we are determined to make their stay amazing. It is so nice to know that you had a great night out with us. The combination of a great room design, cleanliness, great value and exceptional customer service really has been our key to success. There have been guests that have not shared your view. Thankfully, these have been the exception rather than the rule. We really think we have created a great themed suite. With a little imagination you can easily make believe you are in Rome, Japan, Hawaii etc... Thank you for your kind review. We hope you can make another great escape with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I have stayed in hotels with hot tubs on three continents and I have never seen such care and detail put into a room's environment. These rooms are designed around the hot tub as opposed to simply installing a tub in the bathroom. Once the door to your room is closed the decor is so all encompassing it actually feels like you've been completely transported into that country. I slept with delight under the Sheik's tent while watching a warm fire glowing and the hot tub had a waterfall overhead which was divine. Soundproofed rooms even allow you to crank up the tunes or your movie's soundtrack without annoying the neighbours.
This place is truly a hidden gem and worth every penny ~ this is where I lodge visitors to Winnipeg.

Room Tip: Website has several great pics of each room to help you decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Morocco is a lovely suite. We are so happy to know that you would highly recommend others to stay. The waterfall hot tub is unique to Mariaggi's. We specifically designed the hot tub so that when you are sitting in the tub you can turn a switch and enjoy the waterfall splashing on you while the back jets are pulsating. We find most of our guests really enjoy this feature. The Sheiks tent hanging over the bed area really adds to the Moroccan feel. We recently repaired some small tears in the tent and we are pleased that you were impressed with this feature along with the fireplace. The stereo system in the room along with the 50" Flat panel TV are well used. We took care to insulate and sound proof in between suites so that guests can enjoy their music and video's at a louder than normal decibel. We are so glad that you found great value in your stay with us. We try our best to have our guests feel extra special in their stay and will love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I were given a nights stay at the hotel for a honeymoon gift. It was a nice thought and the reviews were positive so were looking forward to it. We set it up for a night where we would take in a show at the nearby Centential concert hall. Dinner was included and we received a phone call in advance requesting us pick what we would like. The gentleman on the phone inquired what time we would like dinner so we instructed him at 6, since we wanted to leave for the show no later than 7:15 or so. He said that was fine, dinner would be served around 6 give or take 15 minutes.

Upon arrival the staff was friendly enough but maybe a bit too casual for what is advertised as a romantic upscale type hotel. A woman showed us to our room and talked a bit about the history of the property. She welcomed us to Rome as she showed us the room. She went over all the many switches and knobs to operate everything. She informed us dinner would be served between 6 and 7. Thought ok, thats a bit later than we were told on the phone but still doable.

The room was something out of an 80's adult film. Plastic grapes hanging from the ceiling. Green tub and shower. Gold surround. It was clean by all means but hadn't been updated in 20+ years at least. The "Rome" theme was super tacky. Apparently romantic means poorly lit. The room just made us feel uncomfortable. So we waited and and watched our basic cable til dinner arrived. (The TV stand was one of those Wal-mart ones. Super cheap and didn't fit in with the rest of the room at all). Well we waited and waited and dinner never arrived. Shortly before 7 we went out to check on it since we had the show to catch. The place was deserted. No one at the front desk.

Shortly after 7 we decided to cut our losses and grab a bite to eat somewhere before the show. Upon our return the gentleman at the front desk saw us coming in and said that he left our dinner in our room cause he kncked shortly after 7 and no one was there. He said dinner is always served between 7 and 730. If dinner is always served between 7 and 730 why did the two other staff members tell us two different times?

We tried enjoying the room a bit considering the cost but just couldn't. The tub was probably really nice when it was purchased 25 years ago but it showed its age. The night was compeltely restless. You could hear the music from the square a few blocks away until midnight. Hear drunk people yelling and screaming til 3 am as if the window was wide open. When a bus passed on the street the room shook a little.

We got up around 8 and wanted to check out but again there was no one there. We returned later to check out.

I can honestly say I have no idea how this hotel has such postiive reviews. And I'm not one to really nitpick but the experience was the opposite of relaxing or romantic. I feel bad cause it seems like the management tries really hard to make it nice but they just fail in all regards.

In short if you're spending this kind of money on a hotel just stay in a traditional upscale hotel. Your experience would be a thousand times better. If your idea of romantic is out of a cheesy adult movie, maybe this will float your boat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
I am sorry to hear that your experience in Rome was poor. Normally dinners are served between 7-8PM. This timing usually fits perfectly as guests have time to settle into the suite usually taking a steam in the steam room, lounging in the hot tub or just having a drink and conversation with one another prior to dinner. Obviously we made a mistake with your dinner timing request and I apologize for this.

Many guests have rave reviews on our room design and décor. We think the Roman Room is very romantic. The grape vine canopy hanging over the hot tub area is not real but I think it is very well done. Lighting in the room is on dimmers and most people enjoy the many candles and dim lighting although you can bring the lighting all the way up if you wish. The TV stand in the room allows the large flat screen TV to swivel so that guests can enjoy the movie from anywhere in the room. We also have quite a sound system complete with DVD/CD and IPOD/IPHONE hook up. There are even speakers inside the steam/shower so that you can comfortably listen to your music while showering or using the steam bath. Our hot tubs are very large and very comfortable even for taller guests. Our hot tubs are 4'x6' in width and length and extra deep. Most other hotel hot tubs are half the size of ours. We have had large Winnipeg Blue Bomber Football players stay with us and they have really enjoyed the hot tub in Rome.

We are happy to know that you rated cleanliness and our location 4 stars. Being located downtown is convenient for our many guests who like yourselves decide to go to the Centennial Concert Hall and other downtown attractions like the Winnipeg Jets or the Theatre and Ballet.

For the past 30 years we have been providing romantic escapes for guests to enjoy some quality couple time. Thankfully, most guests have very good reviews and many have returned for multiple visits and sent friends and family here as well. Perhaps Rome was just not your style. We do have 10 destination theme suites and I am positive that you would find one that you would really like. Please call me any time to further discuss your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I feel amazing. I just got home from one the best stays I've ever had at a world class hotel in Winnipeg - sure the price seems high but do yourself the favor and check out their beautiful website.... with an experience like we had money didn't matter...
The staff are friendly and beyond accommodating, the food was great and the privacy... we couldn't of asked for anything more.
Do this ONCE, its a private spa experience. You forget you're in a hotel!! - we stayed in China - perfect for couples!! Overall the experience we had was 10/10 and would definitely go back in the future.

Room Tip: The higher rate rooms are and will be worth every dollar spent. TRUST US!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trisha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell L, General Manager at Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review. China is fantastic. The hot tub with the multiple jets and contoured seating is really great. The multi shower head steam room is super fun and the infra red sauna is fabulous. What we really spend our time with is our room design and the attention to detail is extremely important. From the colors to the artwork to the color of the towels, linen flooring and bedding. Everything has been chosen for a reason. In the end the suite just feels so right. We are so glad you had a chance to enjoy a great escape with us and that you saw exceptional value in your stay. Please continue telling your friends and family about your experience at our boutique property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#18 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa

Property: Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa
Address: 231 McDermot Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#14 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mariaggi's Theme Suite Hotel and Spa offers our guests a wide range of Romantic getaway suites, scrumptious diners and wonderfull relaxing massage from licensed massage therapists. Our attention to detail in room design far surpasses the standard hotel of the day. Plan your great escape today and Getaway Without Going Away!!! All romantic theme suites have:*Large whirlpool tub.*Steam/shower room with speakers inside the steam room.*50" TV, DVD, 200 Watt Stereo System.*Fireplace.*Romantic Dining for Two.*Small Refridgerator and Microwave. India and Caribbean also have:*Waterfall hot tubs.*Pool Table. China also has:*Infa Red Sauna.*Vichi Tornado Shower.*Multi-jet Hot Tub. Some suites have direct access to private or shared outdoor spaces. Our 3000 sq.ft. Jakarta Tropical Penthouse has:All the above plus...*Baby Grand Piano.*Bar Area.*Dining Area. *Darts and Pool Table. Mariaggi's is perfect for birthdays, anniversaries, honeymoons or just a great escape from the kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mariaggi's Theme Suites Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariaggi`s Theme Hotel Winnipeg
Mariaggis Theme Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing