We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst HI I have stayed in.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winnipeg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
HI-Winnipeg Downtowner
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Worst HI I have stayed in.”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This has got to be the worst HI I have stayed in in Canada.

The place was run down.

It was fairly warm outside the night I stayed here. The air conditioner in the room didn't work and to open the window the blackout blind has to be up half way (large window with small opening). When I tried to roll up the blind it didn't roll up and the whole thing fell off the mount.

The room was dusty and I really didn't want to take off my flip flops. The bathroom in the room had no ventilation and there was rust in the tub. The bunks weren't all that great either, they squeaked a lot.

Even though there was WiFi in the place, I couldn't get a signal in my room.

Paying to park at a hostel is annoying.

Avoid this place if you can!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CndTrvlr042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    0
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
1
3
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Inishowen Peninsula, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My experience here may have been a bit skewed by the awful experience I had in another Winnipeg hotel the previous two nights. The HI seemed like paradise in comparison. I came to the HI last minute and thankfully they had availability. The staff are really helpful and there is an excellent vegetarian restaurant on the ground floor (try the parsnip ravioli, mmmm). The rooms are really outdated, but I think the staff try their best to give their guests a good experience though by organising a pub crawl on Thursday nights, having a pretty good bar and rec room, and of course the restaurant. There's a good vibe in the place. I hope they'll do something with the rooms and make a jewel for young travellers to Winnipeg.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devotchka83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I was told it was renovated previously so that bathrooms are now in the room. This is not a great feature, but standard for hostels nowadays.
The room wasn't very clean and didn't feel comfortable. The bar was lame. Kitchen good. Ask for a bed in the lower etage of a bunk bed as they are bigger.
The location was close to the big shopping centre and not basically good located. However, I did not feel safe at 7pm 5mins away from the hostel. As tourist you never know how safe it is anyways, but I rarely felt as uncomfortable as there.
Not too far away from Greyhound station.

Room Tip: ask for a lower bed = bigger; near shopping centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

A Strange hostel. We booked into a dorm, but when we arrived we were told there were no mixed dorms, so we had to upgrade to a double. There didn't seem to be any travellers there although it was 'off season'.

Free Wi-fi was good and fast, but other than that, the hostel was over priced and not very pleasent. Seemed to be in a rough area, did not seem very safe at night. The bar was ok, but again, no atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
488 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
#12 of 63 in Winnipeg
193 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Winnipeg Downtowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Winnipeg Downtowner

Property: HI-Winnipeg Downtowner
Address: 330 Kennedy St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2M6, Canada
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of Winnipeg's vibrant downtown, HI-Winnipeg's Downtowner hostel is in the center of the country's most diverse mix of cultures. We are close to the city's finest attractions including the Forks (the future site of the Human Rights Museum), the award-winning Manitoba Museum, the Winnipeg Art Gallery, and the incredibly dynamic National Historic Site, the Exchange District. The Exchange is known for all of its vibrant shops, restaurants, and entertaining nightlife. We are also located about a 20-minute walk from our very own Osborne Village. On the Osborne strip you can find an array of local only shops, restaurants, stellar pubs. Ask our staff about the hot-stops in these areas for shopping and great night out. Also, ask about how you can receive discounts from our partners in the area with your HI Membership! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing