We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, poor food quality, go elsewhere” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earls

Earls
Ranked #552 of 1,625 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Price range: US$7 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor food quality, go elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Family of 6 went (adult kids) and 2 of the meals were burnt. The fettuccini came with 3 smaller sized prawns which was disappointing. The garlic toast was $2 for half a slice. One of the tacos was so loaded with hot sauce my mom couldn't eat it. My salad came with a sliver of avocado and burnt chicken. The yam fries were $8. In total, it cost a lot for what we got...burnt food & poor quality. Save your money and go elsewhere. This used to be a great restaurant, but the quality has gone out the window. I was told the manager would be in touch with me but that never happened.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank trixyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    38
    20
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
177 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great food, great wait staff, good prices...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

I had to stop and eat something before heading to my hotel, and I saw the Earls which I have eaten at before in Toronto and Vancouver... They are consistent!!
Servers are very attentive and really seem to enjoy their jobs which make your (my) experience even better!
I had their clam chowder and it is really hardy, a lot of clams and bigger than I would expect in the land locked tundra that is Winnipeg. I also had their margarita pizza, which is great flatbread style, thin crust!

Thanks Team Earl's!! I'll be back when I am back...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FEOHIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Experience! Great Food! Great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and I came here the other night before going to the Paul McCartney concert. The server was very attentive,polite, friendly and easy on the eyes. I had the Bigger Better Burger with mushrooms bacon and cheese and it was amazing, cooked perfectly. My wife had the Fish Tacos, she loved them. We shared the sticky toffee pudding for desert and it was awesome. we will be back forsure. Thank you Earls St.Vital for starting our night off perfectly. BTW, The concert was amazing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant and servers make it even more disappointing when you try the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I went onto the very nice patio and was ready for a nice meal. Unfortunately what came was far from that and I would recommend you stay clear from the lobster and prawn roll. I decided that after one bite. Unfortunately they still deamed it ok to charge me for it and after complaining again they 'only' charged me for a starter salad! The most frustrating part was that there was no manager in sight to even discuss the experiance. I work in hospitality and am generally easy going but I left here furious! Try joeys or moxies!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jondu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Earl's Girls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The food was very tasty. We ordered An Italian pizza and a Los Cabos chicken
Other than that I have nothing positive to say.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AMKLafayetteIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Earls also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Earls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing