We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Burgers and Fries ...Period!”
Review of VJ's Drive Inn

VJ's Drive Inn
Ranked #16 of 1,641 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Fast food, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown Winnipeg
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Burgers and Fries ...Period!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

VJ's offers the best burgers, dogs & fries you will ever find in a classic shack style eatery. Topped with delicious chili, onions and real pickle spears, every bite leaves you looking forward to the next. I like my natural cut fries well done and presented in a box so adding the salt & vinegar is easy and eating less messy (the bag would get soggy quickly). The menu options are minimal but excellent. Oh yeah, bring cash, plastic is not accepted.
PS. I lived in BC for 7 years but hated the burger places there (so boring). Every time time I came back to The Peg the first place I wanted to eat at was VJ's.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KomynCents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    102
    22
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Greatburgers”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I love going to VJ'S DRIVE INN. They have one of the best hamburgers and the best home French fries. The people are very friendly and the cost is reasonable. I would recommend this drive inn.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Myrna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious burger and fries”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you want to enoy an absolutely delicious burger and fries I suggest you make your way to VJ's. you will not be dissapointed. The burgers are juicy and seem to melt in your mouth. The fries are thick and cooked perfectly. Cost is very reasonable and you will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 543Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beausejour, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Judge this JEM by it's looks.......”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Best fat boy burger in Winnipeg hands down... I's an old fashion DIRTY MESSY BURGER!!! Tasty fresh and hot to order... This joint is a MUST TRY!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3maxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Winnipeg Staple”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

From the tables outside, to the screen doors granting you access to this amazing joint. Vj's Drive Inn is by far one of the best places to get a burger, fries and shake. Would run to Vj's on my break just to have a fat boy. I hope 10 years from now I can still go get a Fat boy and Bag Fries. Highly reccomend taking time out of your day and devour one of these burgers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tych_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed VJ's Drive Inn also viewed

 

Been to VJ's Drive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing