We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Hotel was very nice, modern decor and the two restaurants attached make it very convenient. Staff was really friendly and helpful and accommodating. It's seemed like the policy's were the problem, my boyfriend needed to be picked up from the airport after dropping off the rental van and I called down from my room to book the pick up but apparently he had to call from the airport....kinda silly when the van was still in the parking lot but he had to find the phones and this meant he missed that van. We had to meet a ride so it was very inconvenient Apparently a radio is 1000 dollars and can't have a phone...I understand you can't check it when your.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Clarissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband, myself and our toddler decided to stay at this hotel because he had a flight the following day. We made a reservation online and checked in at around 5PM. The desk manager was not super friendly, but efficient and got us checked in quickly.

We booked the executive junior suite. I would not recommend this room type to someone that really needs two beds. The room was a standard sized room with a king bed and a pull-out sofa. The pull out sofa was not a very comfortable one, but the bed was nice. If we had our other children with us I would definitely book a larger room with two beds.

The room was clean and the bathroom was surprisingly a nice size. I love the soaps and shampoos they provide at this hotel brand.

On this particular stay, the room and the hotel itself were very cold. We had to set the heat fairly high to keep the room a nice temperature. The lobby was cold and the hallways were cold. I understand that it is Winnipeg (I live in northern Manitoba) but was surprised at how chilly the hotel was, I've never encountered this at other hotels.

I like that there is a little snack bar area located down in the lobby equipped with a microwave, cooler with drinks for sale and various snacks and toiletries. This is handy instead of having to carry around change for vending machines (although there are vending machines as well in the hotel), you can just charge the purchase to your room.

There is a fitness facility provided, with lots of choices for equipment. We really liked that the hotel provided this. There is also an indoor pool.

Attached to this hotel is Chop Steak & Seafood Bar as well as a 24 hour Denny's. We have never tried Chop and it was quite good (although a bit on the pricey side). Denny's was great.

Checkout was quick and convenient. The front desk staff in the morning was super friendly and courteous.

Overall our stay was nice, although a bit chilly. Would upgrade to a different room if staying in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here as the overnight between two busy days in Winnipeg for work. Great location by the airport, check-in was quick with pleasant staff at the desk, and solid first impression based on lobby and walking in.
Room was nice and big, clean, no issues or concerns. Bathroom also big, clean, up to date fixtures and plenty of towels. Bed was comfy and provided an excellent sleep, no noise whatsoever from surrounding rooms.
Has The Chop & a Dennys attached for dining convenience which means you don't even have to walk outside which is great in a Winnipeg winter!
Overall good stay, would definitely return when in town on business again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel as a quick stopover between flights. We caught the shuttle bus to the hotel from the airport. Excellent service.
The check in was quick. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. We ate in Denny's diner which is 24 hours which was really helpful as we arrived late and had an early flight out. The prices were reasonable and the portions were large. The staff in the diner were lovely and chatty.
We stayed one more night on our return journey. Again we had great service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allotment_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We stay here quite often. It's not the best place if you have small children, they do have a pool but it's quite a ways away from the rooms. The rooms are always clean and up to date.
It's very close to the airport and also close to major shopping centers. The Chop is the licensed restaurant attached to the hotel. You must go to this restaurant if you stay at the hotel it's a wonderful place. I have nothing but good things to say about the Sandman. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel has it's own shuttle and it runs all day. So no need to pay for a taxi. I found the staff at the front desk very friendly and helpful. I personally think that for 1 night it is a good hotel to stay at. Their rooms are comfortable and roomy. I also stayed there in the summer time and their A/C system is noisy if you like to sleep quietly. It is a Window Air Conditioner (Wall mounted) They don't have that problem in the winter. Also very convenient to have 2 restaurants attached to the hotel (Denny's and Chop) when it gets cold outside. Much better food at Chop but pricier. I've always liked staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: In the winter ask if there is any hockey teams in the hotel. Ask to be away from those rooms. It cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDM246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the executive jacuzzi suite over the weekend, the bed was comfortable but the pillows were awful, neither one of got a good sleep. We also found the tv's fuzzy and had a hard time watching it. They also give instructions on how to access their pay per view movies but they didn't work. For the price I paid for the suite I would have expected more.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharp87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
#31 of 63 in Winnipeg
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
554 reviews
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport

Address: 1750 Sargent Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: £70 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located minutes away from Winnipeg International Airport and a short 10-minute drive to downtown, Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport offers guests the perfect combination of comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Winnipeg Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Winnipeg Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing