We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate hotel - nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Fredericton
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Adequate hotel - nothing special”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed here in October for 4 nights during a conference. I was surprised to be charged a daily deposit fee of $50 to cover any 'incidentals'- settled up on check-out. I assumed this was to cover the in room mini-bar fridge but was surprised to discover that it was empty - no water even! It was odd to find the 'keurig' coffee maker in my closet though! Every day I had to bring it out to make coffee and then maid would place it back! Food for conference was adequate - nothing special (egg tasted like powdered and were scrambled), my co-worker who was 'gluten-fee' was not offered many choices at all - she practically starved while we were there! In the morning that we were leaving, I thought I would have a cup of the 'complimentary' coffee in the lobby (it was about 9am), but the coffee canister was empty - I was told that I had to buy coffee from the lobby's 'Starbucks' instead - only provided complimentary coffee until Starbucks opened! I dropped an earring behind my bed and had to move the mattress slightly to reach it, and was put off by the mounds of dust bunnies and half eaten lollipop! Indoor pool was super tiny. Fredericton was incredibly charming but I wouldn't return to this hotel.

Room Tip: At least 15 minute walk to main downtown area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunintheSun111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta_Manager_FRE, Public Relations Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear FunintheSun111 - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on-line. Please allow me to firstly apologize for all of the inconveniences and issues caused during your recent stay with us. With regards to the $50 charge to your card, this is a temporary hold that allows guests to sign anything to their room, including meals, salon, gift shop, etc. Also, our fridges in our guest rooms are fridges for your convenience and not minibars, which explains why they are not stocked. With regards to the food and beverage, and housekeeping issues we have notified the Directors responsible for these departments and the matters will be attended to. We would love an opportunity to make this up to you and look forward to welcoming you back to the Delta Fredericton in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    178
    40
    15
    8
See reviews for
132
198
25
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel has gone through a makeover and the new look and amenities are first class. The staff were friendly and over the top professional.

We were en route from Montreal to les Iles-de-la-Madeleine and this was a perfect stopping point.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proudcdn-Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta_Manager_FRE, Public Relations Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Proudcdn-Sean - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on-line. I'm happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, as well as our hotel renovations, amenities and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Delta Fredericton in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 616 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed once in July then in August as Delta Privileges Platinum Plus and received all benefits and then some. Rooms nicely renovated to new Delta styles. Quiet river side area and no traffic noise issues. Feels like a resort on the river.

July stay was a Complementary Stay due to issues from renovations in 2012 and given an upgrade from base room to King Exec corner room , River front, with Club Access at time of booking per Plat+ benefits. Great stay with no issues so booked another stay in August.

Following August stay was an upgrade from base room to King Exec corner room , River front, with Club Access at time of booking per Plat+ benefits "but" they were sold out at check-in so decided we would enjoy the bump up to the Royal Suite #717....The 1800 sq ft Royal Suite that Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip stayed in on the last royal visit in 2002. Its a $1000 per night "house" on the top floor with balcony, parquet floors, huge spa bath room with marble Jacuzzi, 10-person dining, on and on.....best room upgrade we ever received in Canada. The framed letter from Buckingham Palace in the entrance really made this a room with pedigree. This was a very thoughtful upgrade thanks to the GM and the Front Desk and it will remain our most memorable Fredericton stay ever!

The Exec lounge has one of the best views I've enjoyed from a Delta with a walk out (small ) patio overlooking the St.John River and the pool area. Adult Beverages are $7 ea with taxes, light snacks ok but limited selection although the hot snack was bacon wrapped scallops which is a bit more than most Clubs offer. Free pop,water,fruit drinks, fruit bowl

Excellent stays since reno's finished, excellent staff, enjoyable location with activities and a 1km walk from downtown, new Starbucks attached to the "Catch" restaurant now.

Note that this is a Gluten-Free Friendly location at the "Catch" restaurant. Just discuss with your Server and they will work to Gluten-Free protocols for worry free dining.

Lots of free parking. Safe & Secure Area

Only ongoing concern was the balcony on the club floor allows smoking which is odd given it drifts back into the club and no covered area to park at check in when its raining.

Room Tip: River views are preferred although you can get a lot of pool crowd noise when its busy. Any Special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TM643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta_Manager_FRE, Public Relations Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear TM - Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us on-line. It was a pleasure reading your review of your recent stays with us, and I'm happy that you enjoyed our recent renovations and amenities, as well as the upgrade to our Royal Suite; it certainly is an experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Delta Fredericton in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It’s been two years since we last stayed a night at the Delta Fredericton and it continues to be a hotel that we would certainly recommend. Beautifully renovated since our last stay, the hotel’s public rooms including restaurant and lounge are wonderfully inviting. Even the rooms have been renovated providing up-to-date amenities.

The staff members continue to be professional and attentive.

Although the restaurant renovation is pleasing to the eye, the new approach to cuisine is less appealing. When we were there two years ago, we even called the chef out to compliment him on the food of surprisingly high quality for a hotel in a small town. “Catch”, as it is now called, has changed its approach: no longer a fine dining spot, it offers “comfort food.” Not a good move in our opinion. But all in all, the best place to stay in Fredericton.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank professorpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta_Manager_FRE, Public Relations Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear professorpj - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on-line. I'm happy to see that you continue to make us your hotel of choice in Fredericton, and that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, including our hotel renovations and our friendly staff. Thank you also for the feedback regarding your dining experience in [catch] URBAN GRILL and I've shared your review with our Food & Beverage Team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Delta Fredericton in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Unfortunately my wife and I only stayed one night, as we loved this hotel. Freshly renovated and located on the banks of the river only a short walk from downtown, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We spent a few extra dollars on a Signature Room, which was clean, freshly renovated and came with a continental breakfast and happy hour appetizers in the Signature Lounge. We would have rented bikes to ride along the bike path to downtown and beyond, but apparently there are only two available for the entire hotel. Two? Really? For a hotel this size?Otherwise, the staff was great and the common areas were beautiful. Nothing pretentious, but warm, comfortable and inviting.
My only complaint of our entire stay, and to me it is a big complaint, is that smoking is allowed on the pool deck and lovely patio where meals and drinks are served. The place was hopping and we would have loved to stop for a drink or five, but the smoke turned us completely off. The Signature Lounge also smelled slightly of stale smoke- not sure if it came from the balcony or if people had smoked inside the lounge itself- I suspect the latter. Is New Brunswick so backward as to still allow smoking where meals are served, or is the Delta just ignoring the law? With all the propaganda the Delta chain sends to me and have in the rooms about being "green" and eco-friendly, a blanket no-smoking policy on their properties might be a good place to start.

Room Tip: Signature Suite well worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronski766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta_Manager_FRE, Public Relations Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Ronski766 - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on-line. I was happy to read that you and your wife enjoyed your recent stay with us, including our hotel renovations and our warm and friendly staff. Thank you also for your feedback regarding smoking on our outdoor patio. Fredericton's city by-laws do allow smoking on outdoor patios, so this has no relation to the Delta Fredericton; and we do refrain from allowing smoking on our top terraces close to the hotel. We do apologize that this turned you away, and for your concern. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Delta Fredericton in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The lobbies, room, bed (and bedding), restaurant and lounge, and business facilities all world-class. Staff exceptionally warm and helpful. Food delicious. View spectacular. Very nice walking trail. Shop and spa very classy.

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta_Manager_FRE, Public Relations Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Di H - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on-line. It was a pleasure reading your review, and I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, including our hotel renovations and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Delta Fredericton in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed one night in Jul on our way to Grand Manan. We had a room with 2 queens. It had a nice updated bathroom. The room as with all Delta's was super clean and comfortable. It was well equiped for business needs. Our view was of the parking lot so nothing to mention. We used the pool (wish there was a hot tub). I thought it was odd that there was no showers in the gym area.
When we arrived the toilet plugged up immediately but a quick call and this was fixed up. I also requested a bath robe and one was delivered quickly. The hotel is a fairly short walk to downtown restaurants. We had drinks in the hotel bar and the service was great. Too bad it was cool and cloudy the day we arrived as it would have been very nice to have sat by the outdoor pool and sipped a cocktail but it was closed the day we arrived.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericton hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#1 of 20 in Fredericton
499 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Fredericton
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lord Beaverbrook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Fredericton Hotel & Suites
2.0 mi away
Fredericton Inn
Fredericton Inn
#5 of 20 in Fredericton
435 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Fredericton
Ramada Fredericton
#11 of 20 in Fredericton
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton

Property: Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton
Address: 225 Woodstock Rd, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 2H8, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Fredericton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fredericton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fredericton
#2 Family Hotel in Fredericton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the St. John River, just minutes from the heart of downtown activity, Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton is the perfect blend of city life and waterfront resort. We are Atlantic Canada's only urban resort! Our Fredericton hotel's recent renovation in 2012 provides you with updated public spaces and guest rooms. Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton offers a contemporary home base from which you can explore the best sights and sounds of the city. We boast a picturesque location, an array of thoughtful in-room amenities, and hotel amenities and services that are perfect for business and leisure travel. Our Fredericton hotel's spacious rooms and suites are intelligently designed and they feature Wi-Fi access, deluxe bedding, and an ergonomic desk. In our hotel restaurant, URBAN GRILL, you will discover an oasis of culinary pleasures. Our signature spa is a perfect place to unwind and we offer 2 swimming pools on site. Begin planning your visit to Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton, a top choice among hotels in Fredericton NB. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Fredericton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Fredericton Hotel Fredericton
Delta Hotel Fredericton
Fredericton Delta Hotel
Delta Hotels By Marriott Fredericton Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing