We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but clean”
Review of City Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Motel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Fredericton
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Check in was a breeze, we landed in Fredericton before lunch, and were able to check in, which is nice, i love that. Upon entering, we thought it was very cute and different. The room was clean, but very dated, the floors are a little uneven, especially the sleeping area, of the Queen Room. A bit of a musty smell, windows do not open, I hope if they change the windows, they put in windows that open, and maybe remove the carpet. The room was very quiet,, 302, top of the stairs, i was worried, we would hear a lot of late night noise from other quests, but was very quiet. The restaurant was not open, however I think it is now. The coffee pot wasn't in the room, We didn't go to the gym so i cant comment on that, and no pool. We would probably return, although i hope at a lower price, if the price is only a difference of 20 dollars or so, we may go somewhere else just for the use of a pool.But we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayeM411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had a night here with family and friends. The rooms were great, clean, spacious yet homey. Reasonable breakfast and good location. Good wifi. Loved the quilts on the bed.gave a nice warm touch. Nice staff. Would return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ann2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I tried this motel as I had a meeting early the next day close by. This place is fantastic !!! The rooms are great and really bright. And the price is very reasonable compared to the other hotels in the area. I found the staff really friendly too. I even met the owner who welcomed me personally.........you don't see that very often. I see that they even have small meeting rooms which will come in handy on my next visit. Thanks everyone for the nice experience. I'll be back !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_moncton_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A friend and myself recently visited this property for 1 night while in town for a concert. We decided to book last minute and found that City Motel was offering fairly low rates for a day-of arrival. I was pleasantly surprised by how well-kept the motel was for the price-range, however I was not aware that I was going to be quoted one rate over the phone at the time of booking (around $75, $89 after taxes) and then charged another at the time of checkout ($96). Won't be staying at this property again, very disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have stayed at the City Motel with my family back ages ago and we always had a really positive experience there. Today was the first time I've stayed there in over ten years, but returning to this hotel was wonderful.

If you're looking for a super posh hotel, the City Motel isn't that. It is very homey and welcoming though.The hotel rooms are quaint and cozy and we found it to be quite clean. It's homey in the sense that the decor and the bedding look like something you would find in a guest room if you were visiting your family that live out in the country. This is in no way a bad thing. Since I'm from a small town, I loved that it had that kind of feel to it. Very cozy.

The staff at the hotel is very friendly, helpful, and welcoming. We weren't sure how to work the coffee maker when we first got here so we called the front desk and they sent someone right away to help.

The hotel is in a superb location in Fredericton. It is very close to the Regent Mall, which is the main shopping center in the city. You can easily walk to it (once you cross four lanes of traffic) within five minutes. It is also close to the Uptown Center (formerly the Fredericton Mall). It's also about a five minute walk. Dairy Queen, Future Shop, and many other restaurants and shops are right across the street from the City Motel. The Motel is right across the intersection from Prospect Street which has a lot of shopping along it.

There is a restaurant in the motel but I haven't tried it. There are also drinks (chocolate milk, white milk, soda, etc) for sale at the motel but it is a little overpriced.

All in all, I was very pleased with my stay at the City Motel once again. It is a very reasonably priced motel considering the great location, the cozy rooms, and the great service! Highly recommended -- this Motel is a family favorite! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doakie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here in August .The lady on the front desk was very friendly and willing to help us with our questions.When we went to our room we could smell stale cigarette smoke. Got into the room, at first glance I spotted a condom wrapper on the floor.I wanted to report this but my husband said were only here one night and he doesn't,t like to make waves.I didn't sleep well. Went to the dining room for breakfast the meal was OK..Personally I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: If your not fussy its ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightnurse2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Located just off the highway we choose the place to crash after a long drive east. The place sits at a major intersection and is close to malls, highways and lots of chain style restaurants and fast food. Really just a place to crash for one night.

The service was pleasant and they have tried to gussy up a dated decor with paint but it is just an old queen with makeup.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericton hotels
10.0 mi away
Riverside Resort & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Fredericton
0.2 mi away
Fredericton Inn
Fredericton Inn
#6 of 21 in Fredericton
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Fredericton
Comfort Inn Fredericton
#9 of 21 in Fredericton
218 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Fredericton
Ramada Fredericton
#10 of 21 in Fredericton
611 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Motel

Address: 1216 Regent St, Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 3Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Fredericton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fredericton
Price Range: £49 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you heard that The City Motel in Fredericton is under new ownership? We have many clean and affordable rooms with rates starting as low as $89.00 plus HST (for a double/standard room). Yes, you heard that right! Not only will you enjoy our: -free continental breakfast for two, -free WIFI, -free and ample parking, and -free North American calling in Fredericton’s most centrally located motel; but, in addition to your already affordable room rate we offer: -a 20% discount coupon for our popular new sports lounge, Stuft Burger Bar and Poutinerie! We hope to see you soon at the City Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Motel Fredericton, Canada - New Brunswick
City Hotel Fredericton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing