We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Museum-Friendly Staff”

Fredericton Region Museum
Ranked #11 of 52 things to do in Fredericton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Fredericton Region Museum is a small not-for-profit history museum located in Officers' Square, the heart of Downtown Fredericton!! It exhibits the history of Fredericton in 12 galleries and is the home of the taxidermy remains of the Coleman Frog! Some exhibit themes include Native, Acadian, Planters, Medical, Military and Loyalist history as well as an 18 minute orientation video that tells the history of central New Brunswick. There are over 700 artefacts on display ranging from farm implements to fine art. Operated by the York Sunbury Historical Society, the museum has a small paid staff. Dedicated volunteers, summer students and interns do most of the gallery work. The time that it takes to visit is dependent on the visitor; some stay for 30 minutes while others stay for hours.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Whiting, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Museum-Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

In April, our family traveled to Fredericton for the day, from Maine where we live. My wife and granddaughter shopped, and two grandsons and I played tourist. One of the places we visited was the Fredericton Region Museum.
This is a non-profit museum with only one full-time staff member. A small admission fee was charged and donations are accepted.
This is a very interesting museum - for adults and children interested in history. There were quite a few rooms, on two floors, containing many exhibits. The exhibits I found most interesting were the film that gave an overview of the region's history, The Boss's World, Fredericton's Loyalists, a Fredericton perspective on the War of 1812, and of course the exhibit on the Coleman Frog.
The museum offers a game for kids called Find the Frogs. A number of small frogs are placed throughout the museum and anyone who finds all the frogs gets a prize. The game helps maintain the interest of kids for whom history is not their cup of tea.
This is a regional history museum, and it does a very good job of presenting the region's history. I recommend it for visitors to Fredericton who are interesed in history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius W, Frog-in-Residence at Fredericton Region Museum, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Hi Michael,

Thank you for taking the time on your recent trip and visiting our fabulous little museum! We love that you found our exhibits interesting for adults and children. We make a special effort to keep the museum interesting for visitors of all ages.

If you find yourself back in Fredericton, please drop by again. We are always working on new projects!

Cornelius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Took my grade 5 class there and we loved it! The staff was great at answering questions and they had a craft for the kids at the end of the tour.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank scooby2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small but interesting”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Has what most historical museaums have with no surprises. It is conveniently located just off Officers Square in the downtown area.

Helpful?
Thank SueBee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting Regional Museum”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The York-Sunbury Historical Society Museum is a typical regional museum. We found it to be a nice overview of the history of the area - there is a short film to watch and a number of exhibit areas to view that detail a wide variety of topics and time periods. Because we're not from the area, we weren't sure what to make of the giant stuffed frog - perhaps locals have a greater attachment to that story. The exhibits relating to the history of the military and local settlement were nice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Inge1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanwell
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fredericton's History in an hour”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Good interpretive video, about a dozen different history theme exhibits, the largest frog in the world (stuffed), old stone museum building is in the barracks where the Canadian Army started in the 1880's.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fredericton Region Museum also viewed

Fredericton, New Brunswick
 
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Fredericton Region Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing