We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best in Fredericton”

The Palate Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 222 Restaurants in Fredericton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$19
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: One of Fredericton's best places for casual dining. Our food is prepared fresh in an open kitchen atmosphere, where dining meets a casual relaxed atmosphere and experience.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The best in Fredericton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Fredericton is not a culinary destination but The Palate does not disappoint. Prices are reasonable, service is good and the food is always served hot. The ambiance still needs work although it has improved over the years. Good downtown location. Reasonable wine prices with good selection.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELC_Freddy_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    96
    31
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
463 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Halloween seafood”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Halloween seafood...reason why...the chef feels it necessary to mask good fish with whatever he/she can put on it. Took a perfectly good piece of haddock and turned it into a nightmare. I don't mind a bit of spice on my fish but when your fish is coated with all sorts of garnish you get the feeling the chef is trying to hide something....NOT RECOMMENDED. I am a maritimer and this is the worst fish dish I have EVER had.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Food, service, and atmosphere were great. One of the best meals we had on the road this year. We will surely visit this charming downtown restaurant again, the next time we are in town.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank davestud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Cuisine here is a pleasure to the taste buds. They have a fairly extensive wine list. In a recent meal I enjoyed the pan-seared halibut with chanterelle mushrooms. Phenomenal! There is a very diverse dessert list as well.

The Queen St. location is very lovely on a summer's eve, for outdoor dining. Service is excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthHeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The food and service never disappoint! The menu includes a wide variety of choices. Service tends to be quick. Central downtown location.

Helpful?
Thank dlvan850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Palate Restaurant also viewed

Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Fredericton, New Brunswick
 

Been to The Palate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing