We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnetic Hill Winery

Magnetic Hill Winery
Ranked #9 of 48 things to do in Moncton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Magnetic Hill Winery offers visitors an authentic roots experience, life as it should be lived. Visit Moncton's premier winery and discover your palate’s pleasure during your complimentary tasting of award-winning wines in the wine cellar. Learn about the 1867 historic property and see pictures of the 8 year restoration process. Browse the gift boutique for that unique souvenir or gift. Fill a basket with your chilled wine of choice, local cheese and crackers for a delectable picnic on the heritage patio, and revel at the panoramic skyline of the city below. A visit to the Magnetic Hill Winery is a must - its a Wine Lover's Utopia.
Ontario
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stopped here expecting just a taste of wine but got so much more. We were met at our car and given a history lesson of the house and it's restoration and then were brought to the winery. Here we sampled 6 different types (all were delicious!). We bought 6 bottles of wine and some glasses. The wine is also reasonably priced (compared with the Ontario wineries I've visited). Their verandah is licensed so we were able to purchase a half bottle of wine, local artisan cheese and crackers and headed up to the verandah to enjoy our impromptu picnic and the views of Moncton. Then we were serenaded by the ukele playing owner who took requests (and was awesome!). Great stop!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adventure2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    18
    6
    1
    0
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Fun and Different Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Visiting this winery is worth the short drive out of downtown Moncton. The staff were super friendly and knowledgeable. The gift shop is well stocked, and the picnic option--sitting on a deck, overlooking the countryside, Magnetic Hill and Moncton--a great time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank src04605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyside, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So Nice and So Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had the pleasure of meeting Christiana and tasting the wines at Magnetic Hill Winery. She shared with us the history of the house and the family business, explained all of the wines, and let us sample everything. We bought two bottles--unique and delicious! This is a great stop on the way to Nova Scotia! Next time, we'll stay at their B&B too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank roxymigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best Moncton has to offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

All I can say is WOW! What an experience. My wife and I found this to be a perfect romantic stopover on our way to Nova Scotia. The gorgeously renovated heritage house was stunning! We stayed two nights on our way to and from and wished we had stayed longer. Sharing some awesome wine and overlooking all of Moncton from the patio was wonderful. The rooms were beautifully restored with the original hardwood. The hosts were wonderful and very passionate about their wine and with good reason. It was so much fun doing the wine tasting in the beautiful winery store in the basement. i found the story behind the winery fascinating. you would never know its fruit wine. the taste was like a good old Okanagan wine, full of flavour and body. A fun and delicious breakfast shared with our hosts with non-stop homemade maple butter and jams! Loved it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet E, Owner at Magnetic Hill Winery, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Thanks so much for bragging up our location. We love being able to share our story and it is just so much fun with guests like yourselves. We look forward to having you back again when you are visiting this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

The view from the place is beautiful, the exhiibits are interesting, the people are friendly, the wines are awful.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaunty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet E, Owner at Magnetic Hill Winery, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thanks for visiting our winery. I'm glad you enjoyed the view and the ambiance of our property. I'm sorry to hear that the wines weren't your style. Last fall a group of sommoliers in Halifax did a blind tasting on hundreds of Atlantic Canada Wines and judged wines on scoring them against the perfect. Our winery has been only producing now for five years so we were very pleased that 6 of our 8 wines won medals at the Atlantic Canada Wine Competition. Winners are as follows.
Dessert Wine of the Year: Chocolate River Spiced Fruit
3 Gold: Illusions, Bay of Fundy Blue, Chocolate River Spiced Fruit,
1 Silver: Chocolate River Raspberry
2 Bronze: Evangeline Blanc, Reflections
The wines range from dry to dessert so usually there are always a couple styles to compliment your palette. Hopefully when in the area you will give us a try again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magnetic Hill Winery also viewed

Moncton, New Brunswick
Moncton, New Brunswick
 
Moncton, New Brunswick
Moncton, New Brunswick
 

Been to Magnetic Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing