We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome stay night after wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chipman Hill Suites
Ranked #1 of 16 Saint John B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome stay night after wedding”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Kris and i stayed in one of the penthouse suites the night after we got married it was a wonderful room very clean and comfortable with a nice big huge tub (my favorite) it was a nice relaxing night after all the wedding fun we realky enjoyed it .
Thanks again
Kat&kris charters

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katc97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Bride, Kat and Groom, Kris;

Thank you for taking time from your busy post-wedding schedule to write a review for us here on TripAdvisor.

We are always happy to be part of a couple's wedding memories by providing accommodation on their wedding night, or at some other point in their honeymoon.

Our entire management and staff join me in thanking you for choosing Chipman Hill Suites for your honeymoon and in wishing you both every blessing of married life now and in the future.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    87
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
153
317
99
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Hats off to Marilyn and her colleagues at Chipman Hill Suites, I spent five months at one of their suites and was exremely pleased at the service and professionalism displayed by team members. The location was convenient and within walking distance of downtown. Rooms were cleaned on a weekly basis and cleaing staff very friendly. Apartment was well equpped.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Voyage58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Saint John;

It was great to have you stay with us for five months!! Thank you very much for choosing us and for taking time to write us this great review.

Marilyn and her staff work very hard to ensure that all of our guests are well looked after and it was very nice of you to mention her in your review. (We have a little contest amongst our staff and give a prize at our staff party to any staff person whose name is mentioned in a wonderful review such as yours. Marilyn will be so pleased!!)

Thanks again for your business. We appreciate it so much!

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2014

A wonderful Welcoming Unique B&B. The Chipman Hill Suites are unique Historical buildings in down town Saint John. The rooms are ' Beautiful - well maintained. 71 Sydney St - has been a house that I have admired & coveted since I was a child. This is my second stay - It meant & extended my needs. You are a short walk through Historical King Square to the City Market, as well as numerous other bristos, pubs - for all your breakfast & lunch needs; as well as many 'fine dinning spots just moments away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Ruth, Formerly of Saint John and Now of Sudbury;

What a pleasure to be chosen by a former Saint John resident home on vacation! We were honoured to host you once again and very much look forward to your next visit home.

Thank you so much for taking time to write us this highly complimentary review. Our 71 Sydney Street building is one of my favourite historic buildings in uptown Saint John, also.

Our decorator extraordinaire, Doug Black, has made a number of beautiful changes to the décor on the main floor over the past two or three weeks. Please be sure to check out his photos on the Chipman Hill Suites Facebook page.

It was so nice to see you while you were here, and we hope you will be back in Saint John again soon.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My stay @ Chipman Hill Suites in downtown Saint John was GREAT!!! Very quiet and safe. The employees had given great service, e-mailed me good directions & was informed on what was in my room several days ahead of time. It had a fantastic bed, good size kitchen, decorative comfortable furniture and adjustable air conditioning. The cleaning personnel was very friendly & throughly cleaned the room daily and given thick towels. I'll be back next year to visit my family & will definitely use the Chipman Hill Suites to enjoy my stay again!!! ;>))

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yourkeyisannmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Ann-Marie from UAE;

It is so nice to have you back in Saint John after all this time so far away! THANKS for returning to Chipman Hill Suites!

We really appreciate your wonderful review which touches in each and every aspect that are the most important to us. Clean. Comfortable. Great Staff. That is the whole package!

I hope that your stay in Saint John met all of your expectations and that you will be back again sooner rather than later.

Thank you SO much for taking time from your extremely busy schedule to write us this delightful review.

All the best.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at 71 Sydney Street for one night in suite #12. The suite was clean, comfortable and very welcoming. As we were in the suite for only one night we did not use the kitchenette although it seemed to have all of the basic necessities. The location was perfect as it was a quick 5 minute walk to all the local pubs and restaurants. The wifi worked great in the suite and the complimentary guest laundry on the second floor was a pleasant surprise!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Evan;

Thank you so much for choosing Chipman Hill Suites for your recent stay here in historic Saint John!

Our 71 Sydney Street building is truly a historic gem, with such a long and interesting history! I am so happy that we were able to share it with you and that you found it clean and comfortable and convenient.

The location, so close to our best restaurants and just a short stroll to the pub district makes it a favourite with many people, including those attending performances at our famous Imperial Theatre just next door!

Thank you for your kind comments about our complimentary laundry facilities, which even include the soap!! As a frequent traveler myself, I know how annoying it is to try to find a clean laundromat to look after the necessities of having clean clothes. We do not want our guests to have that little job, so we are happy to provide free onsite laundry as part of our package.

Thank you so much for your business, and for taking time to write us such a complimentary review. I hope you will visit Saint John again soon, and of course, stay at Chipman Hill Suites.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I've stayed twice at Chipman Hill Suites and been very happy. The staff is very accommodating. Chipman Hill have converted a number of old houses and small apartments around downtown Saint John into self contained suites. They all have wifi and free laundry. Many have lovely living room style common areas. This time I was given a very small room in the charming 75 Coburg. I requested a change and was graciously moved next door to 77 Coburg, room 1A. The building was not as charming but the room was like a bachelor apartment: spacious with a high ceiling, full kitchen, a king bed and a pull-out couch. Great for a family with two small kids. Shelly on staff was particularly friendly and helpful. If you are without a car this location is a bit up a hill from downtown.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest, David;

Thank you for your repeat business, and for your kind remarks about the two properties in which you stayed on your last visit. Each of our rooms is unique as we try to preserve the existing fabric of our historic buildings as much as possible. We are always happy to offer a guest a different room if, for any reason, they would prefer it.

In your review, you hit all the high points: great value, comfortable, practical and staff who care! Thank you!

We really appreciate your lovely comments about your housekeeper, Shelly, who looks after the buildings as though they were her own home, and looks after our guests as though they were guests in her own home. She is a gem.

We really appreciate your lovely review, and hope to see you back with us again soon.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is very rich in character. Very quiet and relaxing. A lot of times I didn't know if anyone else was in the building. The only draw back from my room was tiny bathroom, only shower stall and television sitting way to high. Other than that great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chipmanh, Owner at Chipman Hill Suites, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Kris;

Thank you for your very kind review.

We very much appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again soon.

When we are preparing these beautiful historic buildings for our purposes, we try, as much as humanly possible, to keep as many of the walls intact as possible. This sometimes means combining two closets to make a small(ish) bathroom. I am sorry that you found it too small, and happy that as soon as we were made aware, that we were able to move you to another room.

We look forward to serving you again soon, and thank you for your constructive advice about the TV. Sometimes it is difficult to place a TV but we are working on a solution to move this one a little lower.

Thanks again for your kind compliments in the title of this review. Quiet and relaxing is exactly what we are trying to achieve in all our accommodations.

Sincerely

Susan

Susan Fullerton
Chipman Hill Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.4 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#3 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chipman Hill Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipman Hill Suites

Property: Chipman Hill Suites
Address: 1 & 5 Chipman Hill and 76 Union Street, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 1A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chipman Hill Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chipman Hill Suites has a beautiful collection of Victorian mansions located in the historic "uptown" of Canada's oldest city, Saint John, New Brunswick. Designed for your comfort and convenience, each of our rooms has a private bathroom (of course) as well as a fully equipped kitchenette (some even have a full kitchen). Each totally non-smoking building has complimentary on-site laundry machines (complete with soap!) for your convenience. Our buildings are located within easy walking distance to the top restaurants, tourist attractions, entertainment and shopping venues, and business offices. Our beds are the very best, with piles of beautiful pillows and wonderful linens. Come and let us share one of our beautiful historic buildings with you, and make it your home away from home for your stay in Saint John, whether for a night, a week or an extended stay. We welcome you to Saint John and to Chipman Hill Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chipman Hill Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chipman Hill Suites Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing