We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian By Night @ The Urban Deli.......”
Review of Urban Deli

Urban Deli
Ranked #11 of 237 Restaurants in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Delicatessen, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Urban Deli lives up to it's tag line of 'old fashioned. Slightly sophisticated'. We love to put a spin on some favourite old fashioned dishes like our popular meatloaf sandwich. We have the deli classics like Montreal Smoked Meat and our popular Reuben Sandwich. Urban Deli was featured on the Canadian Food Network's 'You Gotta Eat Here' featuring our Muffuletta & Uptown Big Beef Bad Boy sandwiches and our famous lemon sour cream pie, which has travelled as far as Alberta & Ontario. We also offer catering for lunch or private functions. If you are craving something other than deli, see Italian by Night for our authentic Tuscan Style Italian menu for dinner.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Italian By Night @ The Urban Deli.......”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Last week, myself,my italian husband and two wonderful friends had the pleasure of experiencing the most exceptional and authentic italian cuisine. This most interesting restaurant, with great ambience, genuine italian background music, service and friendly staff is located right in the heart of Saint John city. The menu for "Italian by Night" has just sufficient selections that you are not over powered when making your choice from dishes made with only the freshest ingredients, and prepared "al la carte" in the kitchen. Our host "Elizabeth" welcomed us, and shared her recent experience of cooking in Italy. Obviously this restaurant is operated and staffed with people passionate and experienced in both food preparation and hospitality. Ciao, grazie, ci vediamo (goodbye, thank you, and we will return).
Margaret & Giovanni

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    56
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
222 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, very good food”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a weekday lunch here and were very happy woth our food. The service was friendly and attentive. Would recommend it as a great place to stop while exploring downtown Saint john. Right near shopping and the old city market.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arncliffegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Italian two ways”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This has become one of my favourite stops when visiting Saint John. The restaurant is a deli by day, and Wednesdays through Saturdays also has Italian fine dining at night. Both "phases" are great. The deli mode is much less formal. The mufaletta sandwich is really one of the standout dishes, but any of the sandwiches I've had were great. The fine dining mode is really a stand out experience. The menu changes regularly and is a mix of classic and more modern Italian dishes. The bruschetta plate is a great way to start the meal. Usually the fish dishes are a good way to go. The service is usually a bit better in the evening as well, since it's less hectic and the servers have more time to spend with the guests. You'll fine a decent selection of local beers on tap. It would be nice if they mixed up the offerings from Pump House and Picaroons a bit. If you're in Saint John and want to have a nice meal out, don't miss out on Urban Deli.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philadelphia_Collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasent Surprise”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Recently some friends and I recently visited the Urban Deli, it had been a while since We had been there and that the restaurant changes it's menu in the evening hours to Italian We had a really great time the food and service was excellent the whole atmosphere was just great....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Pulled Pork Sandwich”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Just moved to the area and stopped in based on reviews. Was lunch time and the place was very busy. The pulled pork bbq with slaw was great but the split pea soup with ham was somewhat watery. Tasted ok but could have been thicker. Would have asked if this was common for the soup, but no one bothered to ask me if everything was alright with my meal. Definitely will return but will try the correct next time.

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Urban Deli also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Urban Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing