We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overnight stop with dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great overnight stop with dogs”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was a clean, friendly and welcoming accommodation for us and our two dogs on the way to PEI. Our dogs are 50 and 70# and they didn't blink an eye, nor did they even ask for a pet deposit. There are adequate green spaces right by for the standard dog "business" and is not immediately on a super busy road (though it is very near the highway making easy access for travel).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thanks very much for staying at our Hotel and taking the time to share your experience. We strive to make everyone (including pets) feel comfortable and welcome!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Saint John.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    152
    42
    6
    2
See reviews for
119
121
16
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here en route to Cape Breton, and on our way back home, stayed here again.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and a great price. Solid wireless internet service included. Hot breakfast served each morning with a great selection of foods.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for recommending our Hotel in your recent review!

So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stopped at the Holiday Inn Express our way through Saint John. We did not have a reservation however the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The motel was clean and quiet and had all the amenities we needed. The motel is centrally located in Saint John making it easy to get back on the road as we continued our trip through Canada.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for recommending our Hotel

So glad you were able to enjoy all of our faciities and amenities during your stay with us.

Come back and see us soon!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

You know what to expect from the holiday inn express. Pretty standard service and amenities and certainly no frills. Breakfast was dreary but adequate if you don't mind cramped conditions and paper plates. The upside was the coffee was good and free all day

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hillwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thanks for you recent review.

Our Hotel is committed to providing a comfortable, clean product, along with friendly courteous service. "Ok" is certainly not a standard we aim for. Your situation indicated we must continue to try and improve.

Thanks for staying with us!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have not stayed in any Holiday Inn property for a long time, and our experience in St. John was positive beyond our expectations. The room was well appointed with every amenity we needed. Front desk personnel were helpful and friendly, and the parking was excellent. Breakfast was satisfying, and our overall experience was so good that we will stay with them next year as we travel in this area. The location was convenient to access the market area of St. John, and we highly recommend this hotel and a visit to St. John.

Room Tip: None to repoprt. We arrrived a little late--6 PM or so--and were upgraded to a king suite--an excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george_shepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Your experience is what we strive for!
"Positive beyond our expectations" - So glad to hear!
Your review has been circulated to our entire team. Thanks for choosing our Hotel!
Hope to see you on your return next year.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The staff here really looks after you it took me 20 seconds to check in.
Great Service, Pool, Exercise Room, Breakfast included and nice clean rooms which is all we are looking for!!
Join their priority club for free perks as well.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank EliseCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thanks so much for your terrific review and for staying with us!

So glad to hear your experience at our property was a great one.

Come back soon

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect for catching the ferry to Nova Scotia. The hotel is fairly new and very clean. Will stay there again next summer. The breakfast is standard for HIE but the room and tables were neat and clean. The beds were very comfortable.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
It was our pleasure t host you on your recent stay!

Thanks for choosin our Hotel.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.8 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#3 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Address: 400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint John
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#5 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint John Harbour Side You're invited to stay at our Saint John hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Saint John, NB. Hotels in the area can't compete with the great amenities and location we offer you. When you stay at our hotel in Saint John, you're near the world-famous Reversing Falls, the Old City Market and the new Harbour Passage Trail, giving you fast access to the shops and attractions of uptown Saint John. Our hotel is also located near historic Fort Howe, an 18th and 19th century British Army fortification. Are you a corporate traveler looking for hotels in Saint John? Our lodgings are adjacent to the Place 400 Business Complex, where the Xerox and IBM Call Centres are located. We are also within a 10-minute drive of the Aliant and Irving head offices. If you're planning an event, you'll find four meeting rooms with rentable equipment at our hotel in Saint John. Your search for Saint John, NB hotels ends with us. Our smoke free hotel features an indoor pool, Fitness Centre and a Business Centre. You can enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas, and you can wake up each morning to our complimentary Express Start "Hot" breakfast, served exclusively at Holiday Inn Express hotels. Flat screen televisions, Mini fridges and microwaves now in all of our rooms. In Saint John, you can relax in comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Saint John
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John Hotel Saint John
Holiday Inn Saint John
Holiday Inn Express Saint John
Saint John Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing