We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just to say that it's a good check in plus the room is very comfortable. Staff is friendly and especially the breakfast staff. So sorry that the people that use the bratfast do not tip the staff. So sorry guests think it's free and not service. You shoud be ashamed. Give a couple of bucks..They work hard!!!

Room Tip: this is the best value to donwntown
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We sincerely appreciate your time reviewing our Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear how satisfied you were while visiting Saint John. We are very proud of our staff and the service they all deliver to our guests.
Thanks for staying with us!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    150
    42
    5
    2
See reviews for
117
121
16
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Nicest hotel around, staff very friendly and we had a good stay !

Room are clean and breakfast is included!
I stay there for business and then as well on the weekend with the girlfriend and we had an awesome stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc12907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We sincerely appreciate your comments on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear how satisfied you were while visiting the city and the surroundings. Our Team continually provides terrific customer service and show how much they care about our guests every day. Glad you noticed.
Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here during a hockey tournament!! The service was excellent and the staff very friendly and knowledgable. Popcorn as the kids arrived back from the rink was a great touch! The microwave and fridge in the room was very convient. Great location as 2 of our games were in the rink beside the hotel. Some resaturants(McDonalds, Subway, Pizza Delight, Deluxe Fish and Chips) and stores (Shoppers drug mart, Dollarama, liquor store) are within walking distance. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the Saint John Area!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you very much for your posting on Tripadvisor. We sincerely appreciate your comments about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear your family and team enjoyed their weekend here and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Spending New Year's eve here has become a tradition for our family for the last 3 years.

Close proximity to all the happenings uptown, beautiful lobby with big screen tv, very clean rooms tastefully decorated with bar fridge, microwave and plenty of tea & coffee. Free hot chocolate & popcorn in the evening, and in the morning a delicious breakfast with bacon, eggs, pancakes, yogurt & fresh fruit. A portion of the New Year's eve discounted rate also goes to support local charities in their "Snooze while you doze" campaign. Harbor side rooms give perfect view to the city's fireworks.

Exceptional, friendly staff from the front desk check in to housekeeping, love seeing the same friendly faces year after year. Pool and hot tub area is always clean with a well stocked towel supply. Nice toddlers play room located beside exercise room.

A little disappointed to see the in room keurigs replaced this year with regular ho-hum coffee makers.

Will continue to return every New Year's eve.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LWoodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us on New Years Eve!
That evening has certainly become a popular night out for families with young children and we're glad you noticed all of the little "extras".
We're so proud of our team here and their caring attitude. I will certainly pass along your comments.
Come back and visit with us again next New Years...or sooner!

Thanks for staying with us

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbrouill
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here the night before taking the ferry over to Nova Scotia. It was convenient - right off the highway and just a few minute drive to the ferry. We arrived late in the evening and the only bad thing was that all the restaurants had already closed (it was Nov) in the area. So, we had a hard time getting food - ended up eating at a fast food burger place. We got breakfast free the next morning in the hotel lobby - it was great. The staff was very helpful with directions and they were very courteous. Our room was clean. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbrouill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thanks for staying at our Hotel and recommending us!

Our housekeeping team always loves to hear their work is noticed. Their attention to detail is certainly appreciated.



Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Despite Saint John being small and my stay was in the off season the hotel was very well staffed. Staff was EXTREMELY helpful and may me feel at home. The room was spotless, quiet and warm ( December in the maritimes can be damp and cold). Wifi worked well and lots of coffee/tea in the room. Breakfast was simple but plentiful!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cantravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for telling us about your experience at our Hotel.

We're so proud of our veteran team here who goes out of there way to make every guest experience a positive one. They care...and we're glad you noticed.

Come back soon!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Having checked this hotel on Trip Advisor I can say it is one of the best in this price range that I have ever stayed in. It is modern with clean, nicely decorated, appointed, and very spacious rooms. Staffs were very friendly, cordial, and helpful with local directions. The hotel has 7 floors with the even numbered rooms facing the Bay of Fundy and the river. There is a lower level, below ground floor for the pool an exercise area which we did not use. A parking garage is also there but we always found a place in front of the lobby entrance. The breakfast area was large with a good selection of (real) eggs, ‘Canadian bacon’ cereals, fruits, juices, and baked goods. Our only comment was that the room was very ‘acoustically loud’ especially when populated with a lot of children in the under 6-8 age groups. The hotel was only about 5-10 min from the downtown area and easy to navigate to and from. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face the Bay of Fundy and reversing falls area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank etntripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience at our Hotel!
You pointed out some of the great amenities and facilities we have and we're so happy you were able to take advantage of them.
Always love to hear comments about our amazing staff who strive every day to make our guests stay a positive experience. I will be sure to pass along your wonderful comments.

Thanks for staying with us!!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.7 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
0.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Address: 400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint John
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#5 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint John Harbour Side You're invited to stay at our Saint John hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Saint John, NB. Hotels in the area can't compete with the great amenities and location we offer you. When you stay at our hotel in Saint John, you're near the world-famous Reversing Falls, the Old City Market and the new Harbour Passage Trail, giving you fast access to the shops and attractions of uptown Saint John. Our hotel is also located near historic Fort Howe, an 18th and 19th century British Army fortification. Are you a corporate traveler looking for hotels in Saint John? Our lodgings are adjacent to the Place 400 Business Complex, where the Xerox and IBM Call Centres are located. We are also within a 10-minute drive of the Aliant and Irving head offices. If you're planning an event, you'll find four meeting rooms with rentable equipment at our hotel in Saint John. Your search for Saint John, NB hotels ends with us. Our smoke free hotel features an indoor pool, Fitness Centre and a Business Centre. You can enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas, and you can wake up each morning to our complimentary Express Start "Hot" breakfast, served exclusively at Holiday Inn Express hotels. Flat screen televisions, Mini fridges and microwaves now in all of our rooms. In Saint John, you can relax in comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Saint John
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John Hotel Saint John
Holiday Inn Saint John
Holiday Inn Express Saint John
Saint John Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing