We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better looking inside than out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel in March 2014. The outside does not look like much but the inside is clean and acceptable for the price. The room is fairly big and very clean. All was in working order. Free parking and free breakfast. I noted that you can have soup around dinner time for free also. Over all a very acceptable performance.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank nicole n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We are glad to hear that your recent stay was an enjoyable one. Your positive comments on your stay have been shared and are much appreciated.

Thanks for staying with us!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

The room were clean comfortable and modern. Everything functioned as it should. Breakfast was one of the worst aggregations of inedible garbage I have ever seen. They did have real bananas but everything else was highly processed junk food. Decided to move after one day. I need to start the day with a good breakfast. The fitness center I had a look at but did not use. There wasn't a lot of equipment in there so I didn't bother. One of my gripes with most hotel fitness centers is that they don't have regular exercise bikes, they only seem to use the recumbent bikes, not sure why that is, but this one was the same. So if you don't care about breakfast or the fitness center, the hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apond58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We value your comments and feedback about your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that we could not meet all of your needs while visiting the city. In case you did not get a an opportunity to experience our full breakfast line up while you were with us...here is some of what we offer. Fresh bananas, apples,fluffy scrambled eggs or cheese & western omelets,crispy bacon or sausage patties, beans,variety of breakfast breads,bagels,muffins & cereals,oatmeal, a selection of fruit juices and skim & 2% milk,signature cinnamon buns,flaky biscuits, hardboiled eggs,100% Arabica Smart Roast® Coffee,Assorted yogurt
Holiday Inn Express is also rolling out some new options as early as next month which include turkey sausage, greek yogurt and a new Oatmeal station with condiments. Also several gluten free items.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just to say that it's a good check in plus the room is very comfortable. Staff is friendly and especially the breakfast staff. So sorry that the people that use the bratfast do not tip the staff. So sorry guests think it's free and not service. You shoud be ashamed. Give a couple of bucks..They work hard!!!

Room Tip: this is the best value to donwntown
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seaslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

We sincerely appreciate your time reviewing our Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear how satisfied you were while visiting Saint John. We are very proud of our staff and the service they all deliver to our guests.
Thanks for staying with us!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Nicest hotel around, staff very friendly and we had a good stay !

Room are clean and breakfast is included!
I stay there for business and then as well on the weekend with the girlfriend and we had an awesome stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Marc12907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

We sincerely appreciate your comments on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear how satisfied you were while visiting the city and the surroundings. Our Team continually provides terrific customer service and show how much they care about our guests every day. Glad you noticed.
Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here during a hockey tournament!! The service was excellent and the staff very friendly and knowledgable. Popcorn as the kids arrived back from the rink was a great touch! The microwave and fridge in the room was very convient. Great location as 2 of our games were in the rink beside the hotel. Some resaturants(McDonalds, Subway, Pizza Delight, Deluxe Fish and Chips) and stores (Shoppers drug mart, Dollarama, liquor store) are within walking distance. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the Saint John Area!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you very much for your posting on Tripadvisor. We sincerely appreciate your comments about your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear your family and team enjoyed their weekend here and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Spending New Year's eve here has become a tradition for our family for the last 3 years.

Close proximity to all the happenings uptown, beautiful lobby with big screen tv, very clean rooms tastefully decorated with bar fridge, microwave and plenty of tea & coffee. Free hot chocolate & popcorn in the evening, and in the morning a delicious breakfast with bacon, eggs, pancakes, yogurt & fresh fruit. A portion of the New Year's eve discounted rate also goes to support local charities in their "Snooze while you doze" campaign. Harbor side rooms give perfect view to the city's fireworks.

Exceptional, friendly staff from the front desk check in to housekeeping, love seeing the same friendly faces year after year. Pool and hot tub area is always clean with a well stocked towel supply. Nice toddlers play room located beside exercise room.

A little disappointed to see the in room keurigs replaced this year with regular ho-hum coffee makers.

Will continue to return every New Year's eve.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LWoodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us on New Years Eve!
That evening has certainly become a popular night out for families with young children and we're glad you noticed all of the little "extras".
We're so proud of our team here and their caring attitude. I will certainly pass along your comments.
Come back and visit with us again next New Years...or sooner!

Thanks for staying with us

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here the night before taking the ferry over to Nova Scotia. It was convenient - right off the highway and just a few minute drive to the ferry. We arrived late in the evening and the only bad thing was that all the restaurants had already closed (it was Nov) in the area. So, we had a hard time getting food - ended up eating at a fast food burger place. We got breakfast free the next morning in the hotel lobby - it was great. The staff was very helpful with directions and they were very courteous. Our room was clean. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbrouill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thanks for staying at our Hotel and recommending us!

Our housekeeping team always loves to hear their work is noticed. Their attention to detail is certainly appreciated.



Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.8 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
1,035 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
311 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Address: 400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint John
#2 Family Hotel in Saint John
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#5 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range: £95 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint John Harbour Side You're invited to stay at our Saint John hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Saint John, NB. Hotels in the area can't compete with the great amenities and location we offer you. When you stay at our hotel in Saint John, you're near the world-famous Reversing Falls, the Old City Market and the new Harbour Passage Trail, giving you fast access to the shops and attractions of uptown Saint John. Our hotel is also located near historic Fort Howe, an 18th and 19th century British Army fortification. Are you a corporate traveler looking for hotels in Saint John? Our lodgings are adjacent to the Place 400 Business Complex, where the Xerox and IBM Call Centres are located. We are also within a 10-minute drive of the Aliant and Irving head offices. If you're planning an event, you'll find four meeting rooms with rentable equipment at our hotel in Saint John. Your search for Saint John, NB hotels ends with us. Our smoke free hotel features an indoor pool, Fitness Centre and a Business Centre. You can enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas, and you can wake up each morning to our complimentary Express Start "Hot" breakfast, served exclusively at Holiday Inn Express hotels. Flat screen televisions, Mini fridges and microwaves now in all of our rooms. In Saint John, you can relax in comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John Hotel Saint John
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Saint John
Holiday Inn Saint John
Holiday Inn Express Saint John
Saint John Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing