We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Room was clean and our room had a view of the harbor. Staff were friendly and helpful (for getting directions). Very close proximity (walking distance) to the harbor and reversing falls. Complimentary breakfast in the morning was average in options but tasted good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanzlyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We're so pleased to hear your stay was "Great"!
Our team hear truly cares...and it's always nice to present them with reviews with positive experiences from our guests.

Thanks for staying with us!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    156
    42
    6
    2
See reviews for
132
131
17
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The kindness of the staff, the ease of the parking, the cleanliness of the room, the view of the Harbor-- are all pluses! This was a very positive experience, more than I expected from Holiday Inn Express. I believe you will also be pleased, if you choose to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbor side room, and try to get a room on the fourth through the seventh floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks so much for your recent review of our property...and of course for staying with us. " A positive memorable experience" is what we strive to give our guests every day. So glad to hear your experience was just that!

Come back and see us soon!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Loved having a hot breakfast in the morning...was quite yummy. The staff was very friendly. Liked the room a lot. Was the nicest room we had on this vacation. We had a great view of the harbour was certainly a change from looking at the back of parking lots...Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alwaysdreamin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks so much for your kind comments!

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience while staying at our award winning Hotel in Saint John. Great views here...especially in the summer with the cruise ships in port.

Come back and visit soon. Thanks for choosing our Hotel for your stay while in Saint John.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We havent stay in this hotel in years and were very impressed with the renovation.
Great location just off the Harbour Bridge on Main St makes it an easy place to find.
The clerk on the desk was very nice and quick to get us to our room
Loved the cosy beds and nice linens (my pet peeve)
They had the standard HIE breakfast in the morning looked after by fast staff...nothing was left unfilled...
We'd stay again if need be....

Room Tip: you can have a harbour view which I think would be nice with cruise ship in the summer..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased that your recent stay was satisfactory and that you enjoyed the quiet and the comfort of our guest rooms. Your comments will be circulated to our entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kindest regards

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I spent three days in this hotel during March break 2014 in one of the Suites. The suites were a little on the small side but acceptable. Front desk staff were friendly and rooms were quiet. We had a great view of the harbour from the 4th floor. Breakfast was excellent and unfortunately I see from other posts I probably should of tipped. The pool and hot tub are of a size and quality I have not seen in many hotels. There is an mezzanine over the pool which probably many people aren't aware of. The Fitness room was well equipped although I didn't use it and next to it was an area for for children. My only one comment would be this hotel needs an automatic open front door. I saw myself and others struggle to bring in luggage and other items. I had to drop everything in my hands and open the door. This is something I'm sure could be done at a moderate cost.

This hotel is recommended and I would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel on your recent stay!.

We're glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our facilities and amenities.
We have been obtaining quotes for the automatic doors you mentioned and hope to have these installed sometime in the next few months.

Thanks for staying with us.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blainville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in March 2014. The outside does not look like much but the inside is clean and acceptable for the price. The room is fairly big and very clean. All was in working order. Free parking and free breakfast. I noted that you can have soup around dinner time for free also. Over all a very acceptable performance.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We are glad to hear that your recent stay was an enjoyable one. Your positive comments on your stay have been shared and are much appreciated.

Thanks for staying with us!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The room were clean comfortable and modern. Everything functioned as it should. Breakfast was one of the worst aggregations of inedible garbage I have ever seen. They did have real bananas but everything else was highly processed junk food. Decided to move after one day. I need to start the day with a good breakfast. The fitness center I had a look at but did not use. There wasn't a lot of equipment in there so I didn't bother. One of my gripes with most hotel fitness centers is that they don't have regular exercise bikes, they only seem to use the recumbent bikes, not sure why that is, but this one was the same. So if you don't care about breakfast or the fitness center, the hotel is fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apond58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We value your comments and feedback about your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that we could not meet all of your needs while visiting the city. In case you did not get a an opportunity to experience our full breakfast line up while you were with us...here is some of what we offer. Fresh bananas, apples,fluffy scrambled eggs or cheese & western omelets,crispy bacon or sausage patties, beans,variety of breakfast breads,bagels,muffins & cereals,oatmeal, a selection of fruit juices and skim & 2% milk,signature cinnamon buns,flaky biscuits, hardboiled eggs,100% Arabica Smart Roast® Coffee,Assorted yogurt
Holiday Inn Express is also rolling out some new options as early as next month which include turkey sausage, greek yogurt and a new Oatmeal station with condiments. Also several gluten free items.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.8 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
999 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Address: 400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint John
#2 Family Hotel in Saint John
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#5 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint John Harbour Side You're invited to stay at our Saint John hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Saint John, NB. Hotels in the area can't compete with the great amenities and location we offer you. When you stay at our hotel in Saint John, you're near the world-famous Reversing Falls, the Old City Market and the new Harbour Passage Trail, giving you fast access to the shops and attractions of uptown Saint John. Our hotel is also located near historic Fort Howe, an 18th and 19th century British Army fortification. Are you a corporate traveler looking for hotels in Saint John? Our lodgings are adjacent to the Place 400 Business Complex, where the Xerox and IBM Call Centres are located. We are also within a 10-minute drive of the Aliant and Irving head offices. If you're planning an event, you'll find four meeting rooms with rentable equipment at our hotel in Saint John. Your search for Saint John, NB hotels ends with us. Our smoke free hotel features an indoor pool, Fitness Centre and a Business Centre. You can enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas, and you can wake up each morning to our complimentary Express Start "Hot" breakfast, served exclusively at Holiday Inn Express hotels. Flat screen televisions, Mini fridges and microwaves now in all of our rooms. In Saint John, you can relax in comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John Hotel Saint John
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Saint John
Holiday Inn Saint John
Holiday Inn Express Saint John
Saint John Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing