We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better then expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better then expected”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived very late and the front desk staff was great. The room was very nice, the beds are very comfortable. My daughter loved the pool. It was a nice breakfast with quite a few ooptions. They do allow pet so if you have allegies please tell the front desk to make sure your room was pet free. Room has a fridge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harmadoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and that you managed to realx and enjoy our large indoor pool facility. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    156
    42
    6
    2
See reviews for
133
132
17
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

When we checked in and asked where the hospitality suite and smoking area was. The staff didn't just tell us where they were but walked us there himself.
The inn is walking distance to macDonalds restaurant (next door) Tim hortons, NB Liquor & a shopping plaza for snacks & cigs.
There is a lounge/reading area complete with large flat screen tv & fire place right off of the lobby
The rooms are spacious &tastefully decorated.
Beds are comfy. There is a nice bright light in the bathroom for applying make up etc.
there is a mirror and sitting area outside the bathroom which is nice if two people are getting ready to go out at the same time.
There is an oversized mini fridge & a microwave which came in very handy.
The holiday inn is also very easy to drive so which is great as I don't know St. John.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Playaplayer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your thoughts on your recent stay. It was great to hear that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities/facilities our Hotel has to offer.
We are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience and wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Very impressed with this property. The location was very close to downtown with great views of the water. The rooms were a good size and I really enjoyed how comfortable the beds were. The staff were very friendly and even allowed us to snag a few extras from the breakfast bar after it had closed. I will definitely be back next time I am in Saint John.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trilogy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review and positive comments regarding the hotel, staff and our location.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

An older building, but they're doing their best to maintain it. It seemed clean, which is the most important thing. The location was good equidistant between the highway and the downtown. With that said, it's not the nicest neighbourhood to walk through if you wanted to hoof it to downtown. It was raining, so we drove. Breakfast was decent, and what you expect from the Holiday Inn Express brand which in our opinion is at the top of the pyramid of the common, relatively affordable hotel brands. The staff at the front desk was friendly and welcoming. We appreciated the easy and free parking as well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hypurv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for reviewing our Hotel and for staying with us while in Saint John!
We hope you were able to enjoy all the sights and sounds of our beautiful city.
Come back and see us soon.

Regards

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham, New York
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very convenient location,Very clean,Great breakfast.We found that the beds were comfortable but softer then we liked and the flooring in the bathroom was nice looking but could be deadly when wet,even slightly, it was soooooooooo slippery. As this was our second visit with HIE&S we found these accommodations much more liveable then in Charlottetown PEI (you should read it for reference) We may stay again at a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! So glad to hear you're stay was a positive one.
I was sorry to hear your experience in Charlottetown was not as good as they have a wonderful Hotel and dedicated team where we certainly recommend guests stay when travelling to the Island.

Thanks for staying with us!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed in a king size suite nice room. Location was great, 20 min walk to restaurants and shops or a short drive. Pool area really nice. I have allergies. Could not for the life of me figure out why I was having an attack until the morning when I heard two dogs barking across the hall. I had always assumed Hotels had designated floors for people with animals. I did voice my complaint that morning and was told they have different cleaning methods for rooms. That's not good enough for people with severe allergies. Our rooms were in a small alcove with a few feet between them. That's just like shutting a door in a house and hoping a individual won't have an attack. Different floors are a must and no animal should be in the room previously I don't care how well you clean a room. I like holiday inns but I can't go back to this one.

Room Tip: If you have allergies think about going elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArrisSaskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property.
We will be discussing your comments in an upcoming team session to see where we can improve on our Pet Policy. Pets are always welcome here at our Hotel - as well we have a specific floor where we do not allow pets.
We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Kind regards

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were very pleased with our recent one night stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Saint John. The hotel was in good condition, the room clean and comfortable (the bed was extremely comfortable, actually), and it was only about a 3 minute drive to the downtown area where there are many restaurants, bars, and places to shop. Overall, we had a good short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBUNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for staying with us and submitting a review of our property!
So glad to hear everything was positive. We hope you come back soon and have time to stay longer.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.8 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
1,003 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Address: 400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint John
#2 Family Hotel in Saint John
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#5 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint John Harbour Side You're invited to stay at our Saint John hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Saint John, NB. Hotels in the area can't compete with the great amenities and location we offer you. When you stay at our hotel in Saint John, you're near the world-famous Reversing Falls, the Old City Market and the new Harbour Passage Trail, giving you fast access to the shops and attractions of uptown Saint John. Our hotel is also located near historic Fort Howe, an 18th and 19th century British Army fortification. Are you a corporate traveler looking for hotels in Saint John? Our lodgings are adjacent to the Place 400 Business Complex, where the Xerox and IBM Call Centres are located. We are also within a 10-minute drive of the Aliant and Irving head offices. If you're planning an event, you'll find four meeting rooms with rentable equipment at our hotel in Saint John. Your search for Saint John, NB hotels ends with us. Our smoke free hotel features an indoor pool, Fitness Centre and a Business Centre. You can enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas, and you can wake up each morning to our complimentary Express Start "Hot" breakfast, served exclusively at Holiday Inn Express hotels. Flat screen televisions, Mini fridges and microwaves now in all of our rooms. In Saint John, you can relax in comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John Hotel Saint John
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Saint John
Holiday Inn Saint John
Holiday Inn Express Saint John
Saint John Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing