We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location in Saint John”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Convenient location in Saint John”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a previous trip and returned for its comfortable rooms and convenient location in Saint John. Our room was nicely furnished with two queen beds, a round table plus two chairs as well as a desk and chair. The only limitation was a small bathroom counter.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFH_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review and positive comments regarding the hotel and our location. So glad to hear your first experience was a positive one that you came back to visit again!
That "experience" is what our veteran team strives to provide every day.

Come back and see us soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    154
    42
    6
    2
See reviews for
123
124
16
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belleville
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent one night here before taking the ferry to Digby. Our room was clean and comfortable, although the beds were a bit soft for my liking. We had a nice view of the harbour. The breakfast was excellent, and the breakfast room was large. The pool and hot tub were wonderful. Parking was free, Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to the Market Square and the museum. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jubejube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review and positive comments regarding our hotel and the facilities. Being just 5 minutes from the Ferry Terminal...we get many guests who are making that voyage. I hope your trip across to Digby was a great experience.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived very late and the front desk staff was great. The room was very nice, the beds are very comfortable. My daughter loved the pool. It was a nice breakfast with quite a few ooptions. They do allow pet so if you have allegies please tell the front desk to make sure your room was pet free. Room has a fridge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harmadoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and that you managed to realx and enjoy our large indoor pool facility. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

When we checked in and asked where the hospitality suite and smoking area was. The staff didn't just tell us where they were but walked us there himself.
The inn is walking distance to macDonalds restaurant (next door) Tim hortons, NB Liquor & a shopping plaza for snacks & cigs.
There is a lounge/reading area complete with large flat screen tv & fire place right off of the lobby
The rooms are spacious &tastefully decorated.
Beds are comfy. There is a nice bright light in the bathroom for applying make up etc.
there is a mirror and sitting area outside the bathroom which is nice if two people are getting ready to go out at the same time.
There is an oversized mini fridge & a microwave which came in very handy.
The holiday inn is also very easy to drive so which is great as I don't know St. John.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Playaplayer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your thoughts on your recent stay. It was great to hear that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities/facilities our Hotel has to offer.
We are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience and wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Very impressed with this property. The location was very close to downtown with great views of the water. The rooms were a good size and I really enjoyed how comfortable the beds were. The staff were very friendly and even allowed us to snag a few extras from the breakfast bar after it had closed. I will definitely be back next time I am in Saint John.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trilogy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review and positive comments regarding the hotel, staff and our location.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

An older building, but they're doing their best to maintain it. It seemed clean, which is the most important thing. The location was good equidistant between the highway and the downtown. With that said, it's not the nicest neighbourhood to walk through if you wanted to hoof it to downtown. It was raining, so we drove. Breakfast was decent, and what you expect from the Holiday Inn Express brand which in our opinion is at the top of the pyramid of the common, relatively affordable hotel brands. The staff at the front desk was friendly and welcoming. We appreciated the easy and free parking as well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hypurv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for reviewing our Hotel and for staying with us while in Saint John!
We hope you were able to enjoy all the sights and sounds of our beautiful city.
Come back and see us soon.

Regards

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham, New York
Level Contributor
194 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very convenient location,Very clean,Great breakfast.We found that the beds were comfortable but softer then we liked and the flooring in the bathroom was nice looking but could be deadly when wet,even slightly, it was soooooooooo slippery. As this was our second visit with HIE&S we found these accommodations much more liveable then in Charlottetown PEI (you should read it for reference) We may stay again at a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! So glad to hear you're stay was a positive one.
I was sorry to hear your experience in Charlottetown was not as good as they have a wonderful Hotel and dedicated team where we certainly recommend guests stay when travelling to the Island.

Thanks for staying with us!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.8 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 20 in Saint John
553 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#3 of 20 in Saint John
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 20 in Saint John
285 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
0.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Address: 400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint John
#2 Family Hotel in Saint John
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#5 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint John Harbour Side You're invited to stay at our Saint John hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Saint John, NB. Hotels in the area can't compete with the great amenities and location we offer you. When you stay at our hotel in Saint John, you're near the world-famous Reversing Falls, the Old City Market and the new Harbour Passage Trail, giving you fast access to the shops and attractions of uptown Saint John. Our hotel is also located near historic Fort Howe, an 18th and 19th century British Army fortification. Are you a corporate traveler looking for hotels in Saint John? Our lodgings are adjacent to the Place 400 Business Complex, where the Xerox and IBM Call Centres are located. We are also within a 10-minute drive of the Aliant and Irving head offices. If you're planning an event, you'll find four meeting rooms with rentable equipment at our hotel in Saint John. Your search for Saint John, NB hotels ends with us. Our smoke free hotel features an indoor pool, Fitness Centre and a Business Centre. You can enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas, and you can wake up each morning to our complimentary Express Start "Hot" breakfast, served exclusively at Holiday Inn Express hotels. Flat screen televisions, Mini fridges and microwaves now in all of our rooms. In Saint John, you can relax in comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Saint John
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John Hotel Saint John
Holiday Inn Saint John
Holiday Inn Express Saint John
Saint John Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing