We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pet friendly but hard to find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Room was large and clean. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Lot of dogs due to local Dog Show, but all were well behaved. We were on the second floor on the back of the building and it was quiet. Hard to find, but I found all of St. John hard to navigate. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandJNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thanks to you and your pet for staying with us on your recent stay!
Pets stay free and are always welcome.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed our stay.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were very happy overall with our stay here. The rooms were a good-size, the breakfast offered many hot and cold options and there was a rotation during the time we were there (eggs: choice of cheese or western stuffing, sausages choice of pork or turkey), different cereals, pancakes, hard-boiled eggs, bagels and breads with spreads, piece of fruits (apple, orange, bananas), juice, coffee, milk.
Our room had a view on the harbour wich was nice. The hotel is located in a quiet area (but St John is in itself very quiet!) Less than 5mn walk is a McDonalds, a Scotiabank and 15mn walk is the city market. There was not much interaction with the stuff so I will not comment on them. We were away most of the time plus we did not have any complaint toward anything. Only down sidewas the fact that the room across ours: the occupants kept on going in and out the doors whole night long (until 3:30am) both nights we were there and the door slammed shut. I noticed all the doors make loud noise when they close.
I forgot: - many buses deserve the area, I was waiting for a friend for about 5-10mn at the corner and there were a good 6 buses coming from every corner - different lines. You can check online for St John transit to find out maps and schedules.
- within walking distance (8-10 mn) is a shoppers DrugMart, an alcohol store (equivalent of LCBO in Ontario), a Sobeys supermarket and a Deluxe Fries restaurant.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the harbour and you can try to require these if that is of interest to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Manohisoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thanks so much for your detailed review of our property. We're so glad you were able to enjoy our amenities, facility and location.

We hope to have you back as our guest soon!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised whe we checked in to this hotel. Normal HIE from the outside, but truly delightful inside.

Two beautiful queen beds, well decorated, clean...what more could you ask for?

Service was great, too! We were even encouraged to leave our laundry in the dryer while we went for dinner. When we came back, our stuff was atop the dryer, and were told ghat someone put an additional 50 cents in to finish drying them!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

A sincere "Thank you" from our Team who strive every day to make all of our guests feel the way you did after staying with us! I have posted your review for all of them to see.

Come back and visit soon... and thank you for choosing our Hotel for your stay while in our beautiful city.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Overall, hotel was fine. Clean, breakfast was good with many options. They also had a toy box with new toys and colouring at breakfast which was appreciated. Another family friendly bonus was a playroom attached to the gym. Good for young kids. Pool was a little cold but kids still swam. Overall, would recommend it. It was a 10 minute walk to downtown. Parking was free.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank riley1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your thoughts on your recent stay. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience and wish you safe travels on the remainder of your family holiday.

Thanks for staying with us!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Better than expected... very clean, friendly, and excellent service.
Very bright and inviting rooms, with space and very comfortable beds.
Great view from room of the harbour area.
Excellent parking on both sides of the building.
Great indoor pool and hot tub area the whole family enjoyed, with windows and skylights.
Breakfast was amazing and the best included one we have experienced yet... loved the automatic pancake maker
Will consider joining the HIE&S loyalty program from this experience.
Only complaint would be that we found the location a little difficult to access initially, and the AC unit seemed to struggle to keep the room cool but these are very minor issues.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drip_investor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

So NICE to hear! "Favorite"!
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were able to take in our amenities and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Kind regards

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our second visit to this property. We made use of the breakfast room, workout room and pool. The room was comfortable for two adults and two children. The bathroom lacked a fan but cracking the door open a bit did the trick. We have a return visit already booked for Early August on our way back home.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your thoughts on your recent stay. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and thanks for coming back!

Kindest regards..

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here en route to New England with friends. Our night here was July 1st and the lobby had a great display with lemonade, cookies and cake. We were warmly greeted and when we asked about pubs and activities for Canada Day, the staff started calling spots to see who was open!
The room was clean, comfy and quiet. As we were doing a road trip, some of us wanted to turn in early, some of the men wanted to socialize so they offered them the breakfast room and helped them order pizza! Overall the service here really stood out at a time when I think it may be a lost art.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaMacNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Not just meet...but "exceed your expectations" is one of the main goals of our Team here at HIE Saint John. And we do that through the high standards of Service and Cleanliness!

So glad you had a positive experience at our Hotel!
Hope you come and visit again.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Address: 400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint John
#2 Family Hotel in Saint John
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#5 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range: £82 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint John Harbour Side You're invited to stay at our Saint John hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Saint John, NB. Hotels in the area can't compete with the great amenities and location we offer you. When you stay at our hotel in Saint John, you're near the world-famous Reversing Falls, the Old City Market and the new Harbour Passage Trail, giving you fast access to the shops and attractions of uptown Saint John. Our hotel is also located near historic Fort Howe, an 18th and 19th century British Army fortification. Are you a corporate traveler looking for hotels in Saint John? Our lodgings are adjacent to the Place 400 Business Complex, where the Xerox and IBM Call Centres are located. We are also within a 10-minute drive of the Aliant and Irving head offices. If you're planning an event, you'll find four meeting rooms with rentable equipment at our hotel in Saint John. Your search for Saint John, NB hotels ends with us. Our smoke free hotel features an indoor pool, Fitness Centre and a Business Centre. You can enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas, and you can wake up each morning to our complimentary Express Start "Hot" breakfast, served exclusively at Holiday Inn Express hotels. Flat screen televisions, Mini fridges and microwaves now in all of our rooms. In Saint John, you can relax in comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John Hotel Saint John
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Saint John
Holiday Inn Saint John
Holiday Inn Express Saint John
Saint John Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing