We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Clean hotel. Breakfast adequate. Great location, central to many things in New Brunswick with easy access to main roads. Room could have better lighting, but otherwise, good. Staff very friendly. Hot tub & pool area nice. Could have more info available about surrounding area.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SRWillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review and positive comments regarding the hotel and our location. . We hope you enjoyed your vacation and to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

I am a Platinum member and have stayed in hotels worldwide, this hotel is excellent! The gentleman at reception was excellent, very knowledgeable and welcoming he made a great first impression. All the staff we encountered very service oriented. Our room was very clean and well equipped and had a great view. The hotel location is very central and easy to find.

I would highly recommend this hotel, first class service!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruszer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thanks so much for being a Rewards Club member...and for staying with us!
We have many "Platinum" members who frequent our Hotel and we always appreciate their feedback as they are "on the road" so often.
Our owners give us a beautiful property to work with and we strive to provide that Service and Cleanliness that set us apart.

Hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Kind regards

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Greeted by very friendly receptionist, quick painless check in. Later that night, my key card was having issues and not able to access room or pool, even after getting a replacement card. Gentleman at reception immediately called the maintenance person to meet me at the entrance to the pool, great service! The card reader issue was resolved by the time I returned to my room from the pool. I also LOVED the hot tub at this hotel, it is one of the largest I have seen in a hotel, really enjoyed it. They also have a nice little room for kids, even though we didn't have time to use it. Gym facility was also spacious and clean. Breakfast was plentiful and lots of variety. The lady running the breakfast is very hard working and keeps the area well stocked and clean. Location is also great, we walked to the reversing falls and if we didn't have younger kids and older parents with us, we probably could have walked downtown as well. Overall, really impressed with this hotel, would definitely stay here again if I am ever visiting the area again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank twinstars616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your thoughts on your recent stay. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to take advantage of all of our facilities and amenities. I will certainly pass along to the rest of our team.

Kind regards..

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our family of 3 stayed one night in a kids suite. We had a nice view of the river. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was small with it being a suite and the only complaint was the air conditioner was on the kids side which was also the view side. Our breakfast was very good with many choices. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jungleland_1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay in one of our Kids Suites. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.
Kind regards

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Room was large and clean. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Lot of dogs due to local Dog Show, but all were well behaved. We were on the second floor on the back of the building and it was quiet. Hard to find, but I found all of St. John hard to navigate. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandJNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thanks to you and your pet for staying with us on your recent stay!
Pets stay free and are always welcome.

We're glad to hear you enjoyed our stay.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were very happy overall with our stay here. The rooms were a good-size, the breakfast offered many hot and cold options and there was a rotation during the time we were there (eggs: choice of cheese or western stuffing, sausages choice of pork or turkey), different cereals, pancakes, hard-boiled eggs, bagels and breads with spreads, piece of fruits (apple, orange, bananas), juice, coffee, milk.
Our room had a view on the harbour wich was nice. The hotel is located in a quiet area (but St John is in itself very quiet!) Less than 5mn walk is a McDonalds, a Scotiabank and 15mn walk is the city market. There was not much interaction with the stuff so I will not comment on them. We were away most of the time plus we did not have any complaint toward anything. Only down sidewas the fact that the room across ours: the occupants kept on going in and out the doors whole night long (until 3:30am) both nights we were there and the door slammed shut. I noticed all the doors make loud noise when they close.
I forgot: - many buses deserve the area, I was waiting for a friend for about 5-10mn at the corner and there were a good 6 buses coming from every corner - different lines. You can check online for St John transit to find out maps and schedules.
- within walking distance (8-10 mn) is a shoppers DrugMart, an alcohol store (equivalent of LCBO in Ontario), a Sobeys supermarket and a Deluxe Fries restaurant.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the harbour and you can try to require these if that is of interest to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Manohisoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thanks so much for your detailed review of our property. We're so glad you were able to enjoy our amenities, facility and location.

We hope to have you back as our guest soon!

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised whe we checked in to this hotel. Normal HIE from the outside, but truly delightful inside.

Two beautiful queen beds, well decorated, clean...what more could you ask for?

Service was great, too! We were even encouraged to leave our laundry in the dryer while we went for dinner. When we came back, our stuff was atop the dryer, and were told ghat someone put an additional 50 cents in to finish drying them!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

A sincere "Thank you" from our Team who strive every day to make all of our guests feel the way you did after staying with us! I have posted your review for all of them to see.

Come back and visit soon... and thank you for choosing our Hotel for your stay while in our beautiful city.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.8 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
1,048 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
314 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Address: 400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saint John
#2 Family Hotel in Saint John
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#5 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range: £93 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint John Harbour Side You're invited to stay at our Saint John hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Saint John, NB. Hotels in the area can't compete with the great amenities and location we offer you. When you stay at our hotel in Saint John, you're near the world-famous Reversing Falls, the Old City Market and the new Harbour Passage Trail, giving you fast access to the shops and attractions of uptown Saint John. Our hotel is also located near historic Fort Howe, an 18th and 19th century British Army fortification. Are you a corporate traveler looking for hotels in Saint John? Our lodgings are adjacent to the Place 400 Business Complex, where the Xerox and IBM Call Centres are located. We are also within a 10-minute drive of the Aliant and Irving head offices. If you're planning an event, you'll find four meeting rooms with rentable equipment at our hotel in Saint John. Your search for Saint John, NB hotels ends with us. Our smoke free hotel features an indoor pool, Fitness Centre and a Business Centre. You can enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas, and you can wake up each morning to our complimentary Express Start "Hot" breakfast, served exclusively at Holiday Inn Express hotels. Flat screen televisions, Mini fridges and microwaves now in all of our rooms. In Saint John, you can relax in comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John Hotel Saint John
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Saint John
Holiday Inn Saint John
Holiday Inn Express Saint John
Saint John Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing