We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff and an amazing breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“great staff and an amazing breakfast”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Biggest surprise here was the included breakfast - I did not have high expectations, but it was absolutely fabulous! Really good eggs, bacon, fresh juice and whatever else you felt like.

The front desk staff were super nice as well.

Rooms were OK, a little shabby, but clean. View from the hotel over the bridge to the town was nice.

Overall, for the price of the hotel, it did it's job and the front desk staff + the breakfast were added kickers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    61
    64
    45
    57
See reviews for
113
75
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Spending 5 nights in this hotel certainly gives me the opportunity to give a full review.

I spent the time with my mother. The lobby is simple yet nice and I was very pleased to find out about free breakfast. There were 11 choices you could get for free and then others that you would have to pay for. However, if you have dietary restrictions, there is very little you can have and after so many mornings, you fid the free breakfast to be repetitive as the menu never changes.

I slept well in the beds however, you could see that the bed was very lumpy as the sheets could not lay flat.

Also, the cleaning ladies sometimes did not replace everything like shampoos or soaps. So we found ourselves using soaps down to the last stubs.

One plus side is that it is a 15 minute walk to Uptown, Saint John.

Overall, there was nothing overly special about the hotel but it's comfortable enough for someone needing an affordable place to stay.

Room Tip: I stayed on the fifth floor which was great. You had a wonderful view of the ocean and ports. Very b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giselle Tucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Booked in after 8 pm while two wedding receptions were going on. Didn't realize banquet rooms were on third floor so we thought it would be quiet on 4th. Had to listen to the thump of music base deep into the night. Carpet in room was so stained it was frightening. My little dog found unknown food under the dresser and ate it before I could grab her. Kids and drunks were noisy in the hall til well after midnight. Non smoking room smelled of smoke. Horrible! Front counter staff had an "oh well" attitude when advised of the problems

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint John hotels

Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The only reason that this hotel did not get a 1 star was because it was technically "clean". With that said, the experience was very disappointing.

When you first enter, the lobby looks rather nice, considering it is a Howard Johnson. When we got to our room, it did not have a mini fridge, as we had requested. We called the front desk and they advised us that there was a mistake, and we got moved to a room that did have a fridge. Once we reached that room, the air conditioning did not work. So once again, we had to move. By the time that we finally got settled in, we only ended up watching a movie and falling asleep during it. And this was supposed to be a fun girls night.

Aside from that, we had a decent sleep. But the hotel was certainly not anything special.

If you are budget oriented, this may seem like a good choice. But there are other, and much better, hotels in Saint John. Their rates may seem a lot higher, but if you use discount websites or go to the hotels website directly and browse their specials, you can find something MUCH nicer, for a similar price range.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristyMaireC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

First impression was poor with the VLT's front row and centre. Very bad smell in the room. Survived the first night. Checked out before the second. Mattresses were also not bagged! Hotel at least agreed to refund second night.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garson
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

When we checked into the hotel we were quite surprised by the size of our room, King size bed, sink, microwave, fridge, coffee pot and all the amenities... it just had everything we needed. We arrived late and went to the restaurant for pizza, MMMM it was good and service was great. The beds were so comfortable we had our best nights sleep in a week. Pillows not the best but the beds and linens were awesome. Breakfast was a choice of 11 different selections from the menu including bacon and eggs.
Location was perfect and just an all around great stay

Room Tip: i would sure recommend this hotel to anyone travelling. Nice big pool for the kids also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed here for one night with my wife and two children. We had booked the hotel because it was rated 3 star on Expedia so I thought it would be up to 3 star standards. This was not the case. When we drove up to the hotel the entrance way canopy looked like it would collapse. The tarmac was broken up and it looked like we had driven onto a construction site. The lobby was dirty and smelled like stale smoke. The front desk was dirty and behind it was a mess of boxes and broken stuff. We arrived late so we had not much choice but to stay for the few hours left in the night. The elevator was a beaten up thing with buttons that barely worked. It had a parking garage feel and it moaned and groaned its way up the floors.
The room was not any better. The carpets were dirty and dingy, to the point where I was afraid to take off my shoes. One of the beds was so saggy that I thought I would fall to the floor when I got on it. Not to mention that the room smelled like a dog kennel. In the bathroom, the tub had these blue streaks in it that heavens know what they were. Needless to say I none of us would get a shower. We could not wait to get out of there!
The breakfast was a dinner type breakfast. The dining room was cleaner.
Needless to say I would never stay at this hotel again. I will not be using Expedia again to book as it appears that your star ratings are way off the industry standards. I worked in the hospitality industry for many years, specifically with hotels like Delta, Fairmont, etc, and I have never seen a 3 star hotel like this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 20 in Saint John
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 20 in Saint John
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 20 in Saint John
954 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Address: 10 Portland St, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic port city of Saint John and all it has to offer while staying at the Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Ideally situated only a few kilometers from Fort Howe and downtown Saint John, our hotel is conveniently located off the Saint John Throughway and Main Street on Portland Street. Key local attractions include the New Brunswick Museum, Reversing Falls, and Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Park. Our knowledgeable and helpful staff can recommend what best suits your travel itinerary. Our property offers an array of modern amenities including an ATM, business area, multi-lingual staff, meeting facilities, newsstand in lobby, picnic table, and guest laundry facility. Pets are welcomed, restrictions and charges may apply. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with free full breakfast. After a day of sightseeing, guests can relax in our indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, or enjoy a meal or a drink at the Vegas Bar and Grill, our on-site eatery. Each of our 131 guest rooms feature home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini-fridge, hairdryer, coffeemaker, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, and clock radio. Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John is your best choice within Canada's "Original City". We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Fredericton or Nova Scotia. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza Hotel Saint John
Fort Howe Saint John
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing