We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Guelph, Canada
1 review
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel. I was meeting friends for a reunion. The hotel was very nice and clean. Staff were friendly. Room was clean, bright, had a new flat screen TV and the bed had new bedding was so comfy!! I had a great view. The hotel offers free made to order breakfast which was a pleasant surprise. Service in the hotels restaurant was great. All in all my stay was a great one!! Would definitely recommend this hotel--GREAT PRICE!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    60
    64
    44
    57
See reviews for
111
75
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at HJ in Saint John for one night while touring the East Coast. Price was more or less reasonable in comparison to other hotels however the hotel is in bad need of renovations. All furniture is tired, to the point it is now retro in style, banged up and scratched. Carpets were not only old but dirty, baseboards with water marks, peeling paint etc etc. fixtures I n bathroom appeared to be the original, seemingly management is trying to squeeze every last penny out of the place before refurbishing. Location is convenient with a view of the harbor and walking distance (1 km) to shopping. For breakfast a choice of options are available and it was quite good and included in the room. Service was fine. Overall very average.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jgw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Hotel overlooks the Harbour. Good location. Rooms were shabby and worn, but very clean. Had a pool but it was always full of young kids. Staff was very friendly . Wifi worked well. Included breakfast from the restaurant, your choice several options from the regular menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAns99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Biggest surprise here was the included breakfast - I did not have high expectations, but it was absolutely fabulous! Really good eggs, bacon, fresh juice and whatever else you felt like.

The front desk staff were super nice as well.

Rooms were OK, a little shabby, but clean. View from the hotel over the bridge to the town was nice.

Overall, for the price of the hotel, it did it's job and the front desk staff + the breakfast were added kickers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Spending 5 nights in this hotel certainly gives me the opportunity to give a full review.

I spent the time with my mother. The lobby is simple yet nice and I was very pleased to find out about free breakfast. There were 11 choices you could get for free and then others that you would have to pay for. However, if you have dietary restrictions, there is very little you can have and after so many mornings, you fid the free breakfast to be repetitive as the menu never changes.

I slept well in the beds however, you could see that the bed was very lumpy as the sheets could not lay flat.

Also, the cleaning ladies sometimes did not replace everything like shampoos or soaps. So we found ourselves using soaps down to the last stubs.

One plus side is that it is a 15 minute walk to Uptown, Saint John.

Overall, there was nothing overly special about the hotel but it's comfortable enough for someone needing an affordable place to stay.

Room Tip: I stayed on the fifth floor which was great. You had a wonderful view of the ocean and ports. Very b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giselle Tucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Booked in after 8 pm while two wedding receptions were going on. Didn't realize banquet rooms were on third floor so we thought it would be quiet on 4th. Had to listen to the thump of music base deep into the night. Carpet in room was so stained it was frightening. My little dog found unknown food under the dresser and ate it before I could grab her. Kids and drunks were noisy in the hall til well after midnight. Non smoking room smelled of smoke. Horrible! Front counter staff had an "oh well" attitude when advised of the problems

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint John hotels

Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The only reason that this hotel did not get a 1 star was because it was technically "clean". With that said, the experience was very disappointing.

When you first enter, the lobby looks rather nice, considering it is a Howard Johnson. When we got to our room, it did not have a mini fridge, as we had requested. We called the front desk and they advised us that there was a mistake, and we got moved to a room that did have a fridge. Once we reached that room, the air conditioning did not work. So once again, we had to move. By the time that we finally got settled in, we only ended up watching a movie and falling asleep during it. And this was supposed to be a fun girls night.

Aside from that, we had a decent sleep. But the hotel was certainly not anything special.

If you are budget oriented, this may seem like a good choice. But there are other, and much better, hotels in Saint John. Their rates may seem a lot higher, but if you use discount websites or go to the hotels website directly and browse their specials, you can find something MUCH nicer, for a similar price range.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristyMaireC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#3 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
0.6 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Address: 10 Portland St, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic port city of Saint John and all it has to offer while staying at the Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Ideally situated only a few kilometers from Fort Howe and downtown Saint John, our hotel is conveniently located off the Saint John Throughway and Main Street on Portland Street. Key local attractions include the New Brunswick Museum, Reversing Falls, and Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Park. Our knowledgeable and helpful staff can recommend what best suits your travel itinerary. Our property offers an array of modern amenities including an ATM, business area, multi-lingual staff, meeting facilities, newsstand in lobby, picnic table, and guest laundry facility. Pets are welcomed, restrictions and charges may apply. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with free full breakfast. After a day of sightseeing, guests can relax in our indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, or enjoy a meal or a drink at the Vegas Bar and Grill, our on-site eatery. Each of our 131 guest rooms feature home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini-fridge, hairdryer, coffeemaker, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, and clock radio. Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John is your best choice within Canada's "Original City". We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Fredericton or Nova Scotia. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza Hotel Saint John
Fort Howe Saint John
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing