We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Get-A-Way Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Moncton, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic Get-A-Way Hotel”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic weekend here. The hotel staff were friendly, our room was clean and bright(newly painted), and the on site restaurant was really good(the FREE made to order breakfast surprised us, and it was delicious). The prices in the restaurant were affordable which made it an easy choice to eat on site for most of the weekend. We were close to Saint John's uptown area and we visited that area as well. The hotel also has free parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    61
    64
    45
    57
See reviews for
113
75
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here sing because the Hilton was sold out of our corporate rate. The staff were amazing, and helped me out with a couple of issues I had not related to the hotel. However, the greatest staff on earth couldn't help thus place out. The tiling in the bathroom was chipped and broken and the flooring was perhaps original to the hotel, very dated and in poor condition. The furnishings were scraped and in very poor condition. Then the bed....perhaps original to the hotel as well, was a king sized and was so saggy it was pathetic. The line I was given was that the free hot breakfast makes up for any hotel short comings...it was fine, but you have 1 choice on the menu, including only one beverage - so if you want a coffee and juice, there's a charge. Granted the hotel is very dated, but improving the amenities like having a bar and restaurant that is open past 9 pm, and a fresh hot buffet breakfast included with the rate might help. I will avoid coming back, if the corporate rare is not available at the Hilton, maybe I'll look for a hostile.....

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cliff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint John hotels

Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I just spent the weekend here, and I have to say, I was impressed with this hotel. The lobby are is clean and bright and vey welcoming. The staff member was very friendly upon check in and quite helpful in answering any questions I had. My room was clean, and the bed had new bedding. I had a great sleep. In the morning the hotel offered a free mad to order breakfast which was FABULOUS!! I will definitely be back-as will the group of friends that stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel. I was meeting friends for a reunion. The hotel was very nice and clean. Staff were friendly. Room was clean, bright, had a new flat screen TV and the bed had new bedding was so comfy!! I had a great view. The hotel offers free made to order breakfast which was a pleasant surprise. Service in the hotels restaurant was great. All in all my stay was a great one!! Would definitely recommend this hotel--GREAT PRICE!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at HJ in Saint John for one night while touring the East Coast. Price was more or less reasonable in comparison to other hotels however the hotel is in bad need of renovations. All furniture is tired, to the point it is now retro in style, banged up and scratched. Carpets were not only old but dirty, baseboards with water marks, peeling paint etc etc. fixtures I n bathroom appeared to be the original, seemingly management is trying to squeeze every last penny out of the place before refurbishing. Location is convenient with a view of the harbor and walking distance (1 km) to shopping. For breakfast a choice of options are available and it was quite good and included in the room. Service was fine. Overall very average.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jgw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Hotel overlooks the Harbour. Good location. Rooms were shabby and worn, but very clean. Had a pool but it was always full of young kids. Staff was very friendly . Wifi worked well. Included breakfast from the restaurant, your choice several options from the regular menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAns99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Biggest surprise here was the included breakfast - I did not have high expectations, but it was absolutely fabulous! Really good eggs, bacon, fresh juice and whatever else you felt like.

The front desk staff were super nice as well.

Rooms were OK, a little shabby, but clean. View from the hotel over the bridge to the town was nice.

Overall, for the price of the hotel, it did it's job and the front desk staff + the breakfast were added kickers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 20 in Saint John
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 20 in Saint John
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 20 in Saint John
951 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Address: 10 Portland St, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic port city of Saint John and all it has to offer while staying at the Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Ideally situated only a few kilometers from Fort Howe and downtown Saint John, our hotel is conveniently located off the Saint John Throughway and Main Street on Portland Street. Key local attractions include the New Brunswick Museum, Reversing Falls, and Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Park. Our knowledgeable and helpful staff can recommend what best suits your travel itinerary. Our property offers an array of modern amenities including an ATM, business area, multi-lingual staff, meeting facilities, newsstand in lobby, picnic table, and guest laundry facility. Pets are welcomed, restrictions and charges may apply. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with free full breakfast. After a day of sightseeing, guests can relax in our indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, or enjoy a meal or a drink at the Vegas Bar and Grill, our on-site eatery. Each of our 131 guest rooms feature home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini-fridge, hairdryer, coffeemaker, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, and clock radio. Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John is your best choice within Canada's "Original City". We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Fredericton or Nova Scotia. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza Hotel Saint John
Fort Howe Saint John
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing