We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal setting; Ideal service !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Moncton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal setting; Ideal service !!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed here while visiting relatives last week. The hotel is centrally located and easy to get into and out of and very handy to uptown and the hockey arena. I asked for and received a room overlooking the harbour. The view is fantastic !! The room was well appointed and spotless. The bed was very comfortable and water pressure was good. And it was so refreshing to have a hot breakfast in the morning served by friendly staff. I will return here for sure. Great job folks !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_moncton_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    65
    67
    46
    63
See reviews for
124
77
23
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed on the weekend of February 1st and had a great time. The front desk was always helpful in answering our questions, the Breakfast was great the hotel is a little old but very clean I would recommend this hotel to any one with kids the pool was great

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sports m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

On Jan 31, 2014 our hockey team checked into the hotel, and when folks started getting ready for bed and moved the pillows they found mouse droppings under the pillows. Our team stayed on the second floor and everyone immediately checked their beds and under every pillow on every bed there was strong evidence of mouse droppings. It was disgusting. When it was reported to the front desk, the only thing they offered was to get the housekeeping staff to change all of the sheets on the beds. The whole team checked out of the hotel and found a clean hotel to stay at for the weekend. Talking with some of the other teams, we found out that a team on the 7th floor also found mouse droppings, orange peels and cigarette butts under the pillows and between the mattresses. Needless to say but they checked out on the same night as well. The health department needs to shut this hotel down until the place is cleaned up. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel, mice poop under the pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travel5474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint John hotels

Amherst, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed here for a hockey tournament jan 2014.... We noticed a lot of people leaving in the evening... The whole second floor had mouse poop in the beds..We were on the seventh floor so decided to check our beds....our rooms also had mouse poop under the matresses.Along with cigarette butts,dirty Kleenex,old oranges.ect..rooms smelled like smoke and had to go get febreeeze which didn't help.Found another motel at 11:30 at night and left....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quispamsis, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel on December 25 and 26th due to a power outage affecting our community. The hotel offered a great deal on rates for those affected by the ice storm which was much appreciated and a real help.
Our room was an average size with two queen beds, a nice flat screen tv and a nice view of the harbour. The bathroom was dated looking with water changing from hot to cold without warning, mind you the hotel was at full capacity so this is the result. This being said, I ran the water for my daughter to have a bath and it was a pale yellow not clear. The bath mat looked as if it were something out of my grandparents house, yellow stained and old. The room was clean however and the cleaning ladies do a great job so kudos to them. All in all, for the rate we got we were warm and clean and this is the most important thing. The pool was not open the days were were here, under renovation the front clerk told us. We would have enjoyed swimming if it were open as it looked to be very nice.
The breakfast included is a hot breakfast and very delicious. The second morning, we arrived at the restaurant at 10:25 and were greeted by a waitress who informed us the free breakfast ends at 10:30 which we were unaware as no one told us. She told us we would have to pay. I told her we would look to the quick items that are found in another location off of the restaurant, serving cereal, bagels, etc. She said I could if there was anything left...there wasn't. We then went back to the restaurant and I spoke to another waitress asking her if she would honour the 'free' breakfast. She was happy to do so and we ate without issue. This shouldn't have been an issue with the first waitress if even only considering the circumstances which we were there.
Overall, our rate couldn't have been better and the food was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellOlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed there Oct. 22 - 29 2013. We booked it because it is within walking distance of the Harbour Station Arena...15 minutes. Thankfully we were car-free. Event parking at the arena required the same amount of walking, fees and traffic. This Howard Johnsons is an old hotel that is being renovated piece by piece. It's clean, comfortable, large rooms with everything we needed. Well almost: for now there isn't any in room safe or security availble at the front desk. Also there is a nice pool, towels provided, etc. but in room it's hard to find a place to hang wet bathing suits. Check the amenities...kitchenettes are available, fridge and microwave, etc. The staff throughout, including a very nice restaurant, is first rate. This hotel FITS THE LANDSCAPE and is an exceptional value. If a 5 star is needed one should look for that. Yes, you may see frayed carpets and chipped paint, etc. but that's minor stuff. It's clean, large, with Bay of Fundy views for reasonable rates. Breakfast was included. Airport shuttle was included, prompt and efficient. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Check the amenities list. If something is important to you, like Bay of Fundy view, kitchenette, et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Synchroswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed 3 nights in October during the Skate Canada competition. As I write this review a month later, I’m still amazed at all the extras I had at such a low price.

I really appreciated the free shuttle to and from the airport. I think it’s available for stays of 3 nights or more. It’s a 20 minute ride so cab fare would have been costly. A nice gentleman met me at the airport holding a sign with my name. You need to make arrangements to go back to the airport one day prior departure. I was the only one needing a ride both ways so I’m sure this service was pretty costly for the hotel but they seemed happy to oblige.

The breakfasts were really good. You get to choose from a menu with 11 choices including omelettes, eggs with homefries and choice of meats and pancakes. Much better than the usual included buffet style breakfasts. The dining room is quite large and we never had to wait for a table even though the hotel seemed at full capacity.

The room was humongous and clean. There’s a kitchenette area with a midsize fridge, a sink and a microwave. There’s a plastic bin full of ustensils, cups and plates which I thought was a nice touch. My king size bed was comfortable and had plenty of pillows. They have adjoining rooms so keep this in mind if you’re travelling with familly.

The location is good even though the downtown area is on the other side of the highway. It’s about a 15 minute walk and the friendly front desk staff will be happy to point you in the right direction.

I don’t think you can find a better hotel in Saint John at this price point.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IceseafromMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 20 in Saint John
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 20 in Saint John
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
0.4 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 20 in Saint John
981 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Address: 10 Portland St, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4H8, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic port city of Saint John and all it has to offer while staying at the Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Ideally situated only a few kilometers from Fort Howe and downtown Saint John, our hotel is conveniently located off the Saint John Throughway and Main Street on Portland Street. Key local attractions include the New Brunswick Museum, Reversing Falls, and Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Park. Our knowledgeable and helpful staff can recommend what best suits your travel itinerary. Our property offers an array of modern amenities including an ATM, business area, multi-lingual staff, meeting facilities, newsstand in lobby, picnic table, and guest laundry facility. Pets are welcomed, restrictions and charges may apply. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with free full breakfast. After a day of sightseeing, guests can relax in our indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, or enjoy a meal or a drink at the Vegas Bar and Grill, our on-site eatery. Each of our 131 guest rooms feature home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini-fridge, hairdryer, coffeemaker, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, and clock radio. Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John is your best choice within Canada's "Original City". We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Fredericton or Nova Scotia. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza Hotel Saint John
Fort Howe Saint John
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing