We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Saint John
1 review
“Curling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

comfortable,staff helpful. enjoyed the included breakfast Good location for our purposes. Parking lot a bit rugged but it is winter.Disappointed pool was closed for maintenance . Overall a very enjoyable stay would book again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    59
    64
    44
    57
See reviews for
111
75
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here March 08-14.It was supposed to be a special evening but it was nothing like that.The hotel room was clean but we were kept awake till 3:45 in the morning with all the noise in the hall and people knocking on our door.The next morning no hot water and a 20 minute wait to sit down to have breakfast.My husband left the hotel at 4:30 in the morning just so he could get some sleep somewhere.On the plus side the staff in the restaurant and their cleaning staff were extremely pleasant.No one at the front desk asked if there was anything they could do to make my stay better..They just said 'Oh I'm sorry' so I left.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 488sasha00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osoyoos, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights on a business trip. We waited 2 hours at the airport for our pick up. We phoned the hotel several times. When he did finally arrive he admitted that he had forgotten about us. The room was OK. Needs some updating. I slept really well in the bed.
The breakfast was very good and we had a selection of 8 choices with lots of coffee. The restaurant staff were very good.
The swimming pool and hot tub were closed for repairs while we were there.
The most disturbing thing was that a water main had broken on the day we arrived and people in Saint John were required to boil their water and not drink the tap water. This was in effect during our entire stay BUT no mention of it at our hotel at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabaG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint John hotels

Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed here while visiting relatives last week. The hotel is centrally located and easy to get into and out of and very handy to uptown and the hockey arena. I asked for and received a room overlooking the harbour. The view is fantastic !! The room was well appointed and spotless. The bed was very comfortable and water pressure was good. And it was so refreshing to have a hot breakfast in the morning served by friendly staff. I will return here for sure. Great job folks !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_moncton_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed on the weekend of February 1st and had a great time. The front desk was always helpful in answering our questions, the Breakfast was great the hotel is a little old but very clean I would recommend this hotel to any one with kids the pool was great

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sports m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

On Jan 31, 2014 our hockey team checked into the hotel, and when folks started getting ready for bed and moved the pillows they found mouse droppings under the pillows. Our team stayed on the second floor and everyone immediately checked their beds and under every pillow on every bed there was strong evidence of mouse droppings. It was disgusting. When it was reported to the front desk, the only thing they offered was to get the housekeeping staff to change all of the sheets on the beds. The whole team checked out of the hotel and found a clean hotel to stay at for the weekend. Talking with some of the other teams, we found out that a team on the 7th floor also found mouse droppings, orange peels and cigarette butts under the pillows and between the mattresses. Needless to say but they checked out on the same night as well. The health department needs to shut this hotel down until the place is cleaned up. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel, mice poop under the pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travel5474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed here for a hockey tournament jan 2014.... We noticed a lot of people leaving in the evening... The whole second floor had mouse poop in the beds..We were on the seventh floor so decided to check our beds....our rooms also had mouse poop under the matresses.Along with cigarette butts,dirty Kleenex,old oranges.ect..rooms smelled like smoke and had to go get febreeeze which didn't help.Found another motel at 11:30 at night and left....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
0.6 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Address: 10 Portland St, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic port city of Saint John and all it has to offer while staying at the Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Ideally situated only a few kilometers from Fort Howe and downtown Saint John, our hotel is conveniently located off the Saint John Throughway and Main Street on Portland Street. Key local attractions include the New Brunswick Museum, Reversing Falls, and Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Park. Our knowledgeable and helpful staff can recommend what best suits your travel itinerary. Our property offers an array of modern amenities including an ATM, business area, multi-lingual staff, meeting facilities, newsstand in lobby, picnic table, and guest laundry facility. Pets are welcomed, restrictions and charges may apply. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with free full breakfast. After a day of sightseeing, guests can relax in our indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, or enjoy a meal or a drink at the Vegas Bar and Grill, our on-site eatery. Each of our 131 guest rooms feature home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini-fridge, hairdryer, coffeemaker, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, and clock radio. Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John is your best choice within Canada's "Original City". We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Fredericton or Nova Scotia. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza Hotel Saint John
Fort Howe Saint John
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing