We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Val-d'Or, Québec, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value for price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

When you pay 108$/night for 2 adults / 2 children with a hot breakfast included, you can't expect a 5 star. Although this hotel needs some work and renovation, it was clean and the room was comfortable. The deco was a bit outdated, but I can't see that when I sleep, and I did sleep very well, the beds were very comfy.
The hot breakfast offered a choice of about 10 different choices, and was very good.
The service at the hotel and restaurant was good.
It's location is interesting, close to many tourist attraction, about 1km from the reverse falls.
Wi-Fi is so-so...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    58
    64
    43
    55
See reviews for
108
75
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
219 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Dropped in from a day of touring Maine and NB.
They had very friendly staff and nice enough rooms.
The hotel is dated and needs some current touch ups.
Pool and the routine amenities.
The included made to order breakfast is good so you can have your eggs and toast etc. There is 11 different breakfast options to choose from.
Bathroom sink was the typical motel sink slow draining and taps in the sink and tub turn backwards.
Wifi is sketchy so you may have to leave the room to access the internet.
We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WingRider2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blossburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The room smelled bad. The fixtures and tile appeared to be from the late 1980s, and the bed gave me a terrible back ache. The elevator was "scary."

The free breakfast in the morning was nice, though the coffee did smell like wet dog.

When we checked out, the attendant at the desk took great pains not to ask us how our stay was.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint John hotels

Moncton , NB
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The room was clean, staff was friendly and helpful, Location was good , close to shopping and a walk to most things. restaurants near by and the waterfront is close enough to enjoy a stroll or look at the cruise ships when they come in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LONDON232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The room smelled like a dead animal by the doors in the room.

No batteries in the remote.

No menus for room service they simply said "well what do you want?"

Two shower temperatures in the evening: freezing cold and cold.

Two shower temperatures in the morning: scolding hot for 6 seconds and then freezing cold for 20+

Wifi in room was useless... Ended up tethering to phone.

Breakfast made my wife and I both sick.



  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tryanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was put up at a hotel from worksafe NB and it couldn't have gone better. They really treat the worksafeNB people like royalty with great freebies and staff that knows what they are doing. Now I know why nearly everyone else at the center stays here. It makes your work at the worksafe center that much easier knowing you will be returning here after.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lukewithcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Reception very friendly and helpful. Close to market and downtown. Had pool and small gym. Included breakfast. Waitresses very friendly and breakfast was very good. Room not so clean as there was still sticky on the table and the bathroom floor was dirty in corners.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank congolia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
0.5 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#3 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
Address: 10 Portland St, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic port city of Saint John and all it has to offer while staying at the Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, the best choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Ideally situated only a few kilometers from Fort Howe and downtown Saint John, our hotel is conveniently located off the Saint John Throughway and Main Street on Portland Street. Key local attractions include the New Brunswick Museum, Reversing Falls, and Carleton Martello Tower National Historic Park. Our knowledgeable and helpful staff can recommend what best suits your travel itinerary. Our property offers an array of modern amenities including an ATM, business area, multi-lingual staff, meeting facilities, newsstand in lobby, picnic table, and guest laundry facility. Pets are welcomed, restrictions and charges may apply. Start your work or sightseeing day in fine form with free full breakfast. After a day of sightseeing, guests can relax in our indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi, or enjoy a meal or a drink at the Vegas Bar and Grill, our on-site eatery. Each of our 131 guest rooms feature home luxuries such as free Wi-Fi, microwave, mini-fridge, hairdryer, coffeemaker, 32 inch flat panel cable TV, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, table with chairs, and clock radio. Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John is your best choice within Canada's "Original City". We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Fredericton or Nova Scotia. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn Saint John, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza Hotel Saint John
Fort Howe Saint John
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing