We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillside Motel(Saint John)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$156
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hillcrest Motel(Saint John)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
16
28
41
18
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
28
41
18
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront desk personroom was cleanbreakfast staffwould stay here againhighwaymonctonbay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This Comfort Inn meets all of the average requirements for this particular chain of hotels. As with many of the other TA Reviewers, you get a much better rate if you can reserve, rather than just arriving for the night, as we did with no reservation.
It is easy to see when you are coming eastward, from the Maine / NB border. However, travelling westward to the border, you might miss it so put its address into your GPS or you will have to backtrack a short ways to reach it. The Front Desk staff were extremely pleasant.
The breakfast is fabulous,and the hostess in the breakfast room is a super friendly person.

Our room was huge, and had a Queen size bed, but very little else! The worst part was there was no fridge or microwave. For a hotel of this standard, and at rather high prices, this needs to be addressed by management. Many people are now travelling with medications, healthy snacks or items requiring refrigeration.

So, the title for this review seems to match many other TA reviewers! Our room was on the 2nd floor, and as soon as you entered the building, the smoke from the smoking rooms (I think the entire first floor??) absolutely permeated the hallways. Even though our room was non-smoking, the smell of stale cigarette smoke lingered. As someone with allergies, this was not a pleasant situation, and for that reason alone, we will not stay here again.
If the management does permit smoking rooms, then why not have them on the 2nd floor, so that all of the smoke can go up and out?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heath1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

The management of the Comfort Inn Saint John was distressed to read your review and would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such candid feedback. By reading each of these reviews, we are able to recognize areas in need of improvement and take the appropriate actions to correct them. Once again I would like to thank you for offering suggestions for improvement. We do hope you would reconsider and stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Typical Comfort Inn. OK but there is no elevator for the 2nd floor which was not mentioned on the web site. Otherwise it is basic clean chain hotel at a reasonable price located where we needed a room.

Room Tip: If you have much luggage you may to make sure your room is on the 1st floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reddykilowatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

We were pleased to hear your stay was good other than there not being an elevator available at this property. We appreciate your comments and hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This is your average Comfort Inn. smoking downstairs and most of the non-smoking rooms upstairs and there is no elevator.

I had checked rates for the rooms a few weeks in advance but as we were unsure of our itinerary I did not reserve a room. Then when we knew the date that we were going to be there the rate had jumped by $20.00 per room.

Like others have written the hotel is located out in an industrial area. Not much in the way of restaurants within walking distance.

Breakfast staff was very helpful as being a tour guide.
The breakfast room is small with limited tables.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A-847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of the Comfort Inn Saint John. At this location we do offer smoking and non- smoking rooms on both floors. The Comfort Inn strives to have the most cost effective rooms available at all times, and automatically adapts your rate to current market demands. This dynamic pricing strategy uses the “Best Available Rate” so we give all potential customers the same price for a given period of time to ensure customers are treated fairly. Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We do appreciate your continued patronage, and look forward to serving you more in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The first thing that hit us as we entered the lobby was the smell of cigarettes. Our room, supposedly non-smoking, smelled of cigarettes. No elevator. So few electrical outlets that they used a multi-plug in one of the two outlets. One could not have the small refrigerator (which was not turned on - perhaps good from a safety standpoint, light, and coffee maker all plugged in at the same time. Could not wait to get out of there. Surprised the Fire Marshall does not shut them down.

Room Tip: Don't use if you are a non-smoker, or need electrical outlets for things like CPAP machines for sleep.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Inn Saint John. We would hope that the many positive reviews would be a testament to our commitment to providing excellent service. We pride ourselves on meeting the needs of our entire guest which would include having smoking rooms, being pet friendly while trying to accommodate the ever changing needs of our guests.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback, we hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to serve you again and reinstate your confidence with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Aaaaaahhhhh............another Comfort Inn with reasonable prices, good accomodations and..........yes........wait for it....SUPERB staff. We checked in after the ferry ride over from Nova Scotia and of course the lobby was full of other travellers. There was s short wait but the front desk person (Debbie) had it well under control and although I could feel the tension in the small space, Debbie handled herself with great professionalism and a constant smile. She even found the time to continue training another employee (Jenn) without delaying any of the check-ins.
Now that night the rains start and Debbie helps getting us a pizza delivered and the next morning...........the flood. Water so high in the roadway outside the Comfort property that cars are getting stuck and you casn forget about riding motorcycles off the property. And again the staff (front desk, maids and breakfast personnel) is wonderful providing information and assistance in any way that they could. Even leaving the breakfast area open so that guests could make sandwiches or cereal since no one could get anywhere. This hotel has the type of staff that any business would be very happy to have........and very lucky to have.

The staff makes this hotel EXCELLENT ! ! ! !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

The Comfort Inn Saint John thanks you for leaving such a glowing recommendation of our property. It was unfortunate that due to the nature of the weather that we did indeed have our road flooded. We were on the other had very delighted to hear that our staff were able to ease some of the travel stress due to flooding for you. It is always nice to hear how well our guests are treated staff and exceptional service is what we strive for. It is our priority to ensure guest’s needs are met and satisfied. We truly appreciate your generous comments. We will look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews