We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always welcomed...”
Review of Hilton Saint John

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Saint John
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always welcomed...”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I was lucky enough to spend 5 nights at the Hilton, Saint John in August 2011, this was my 3rd visit since 2008. From my home town of Brisbane, Australia, this is about as far away as you can get. The hotel reception staff were brilliant. Very efficient, and very friendly.
Every time i've been there the rooms are always clean and everything is where you would expect it. The hotel has been there for a while so as you might expect its shows its age in a few places. But if you take an overall view of the place that ispart of its charm.
From the Brigattine bar you look out over the Bay of Funday. This place has the highest tides in the world.
The service is way above what I normally encounter around the world. These guys are genuinly nice people.
Breakfast was relaxed and the variety was adequate.
It is the closes hotel to Markete Square. during summer there are always great outdoor events happening. In winter, its probably under a few feet of snow.
Overall the hotel gets 5 stars from me. Not so much from the physical building and amenities but for the people.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcintoshBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Mr McIntosh
Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and thank you for your very kind words regarding the team here at the Hilton. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a fourth time very soon! We wish you safe travels.
Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    355
    159
    76
    37
See reviews for
210
343
42
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaside, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My husband surprised me on our anniversary with a 2-night stay in one of their Executive Suites with a harbor view. The room was HUGE! There was a really comfy king-sized bed with super soft sheets and down pillows. We slept like babies all weekend! And the bathroom was equally great. There were granite countertops, Crabtree & Evelyn bath amenities and a generously sized jetted tub....totally refreshing. But the room isn't the only thing worth boasting about, there's also all the wonderful attractions that are within close proximity to the Hilton, such as Brunswick Square and the Old City Market. Needless to say, I LOVED our stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Finna
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your recent anniversary celebration at the Hilton! many of our guests comment on the great views of the harbour, and we are pleased tht you were able to find time to explore the shops and uptown attractions adjacent to the hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again on your next anniversary..of before! Best wishes.
Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here for 1 week in December while on a business trip to Saint John. On the whole, I was happy enough with the stay and would probably book again.

The quality of the hotel is fine. It appears to have a little bit of age on it and is probably a bit below what I would expect from the Hilton chain normally, but the rooms are clean & comfortably furnished (not to mention the size of my double room was enormous!). However, I was advised by colleagues in Saint John that there are some very poor quality rooms in the hotel and was told to specifically request one of the newly renovated rooms. None of the rooms look like they have been renovated in the last 5 years, so I assume they meant “more recently renovated” instead of “newly”, but in either case, it is something you might want to ask about up-front if you book here.

The level of services was quite good. I found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly, so no complaints there. I didn’t try any of the amenities such as the gym, so no comment there.

The location of the hotel is good, right on the harbor. This leaves it within walking distance of the town square, so there are plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby (though be warned, this are closes down quite early, so eat early!).

Will probably book again if in Saint John. I might be able to find something nicer in the same price range here, but honestly, Saint John is a small town, so I doubt that I would will find anything significantly better and I had no major complaints about my stay, so not much incentive to look.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrussellpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Jrussellp
Thank you for your review. We are pleaseed that you enjoyed the hotels location and its proximity to local restaurants and the uptown core. The inside 'pedway' connection to these areas is appreciated by many guests..especially during a Canadian winter!
The very large bedroom size is another feature which our guests comment on regularily. Concerning the age of certain rooms, your comments are well taken. We are very pleased to inform you that, beginning in approximately 6 weeks, we will commence the latest phase of our ongoing renovation project whereby three guest floors will be completely refreshed. We believe you will be delighted with the contemporary look and feel of these new floors. We look forward to your return to get your personal feedback. Many thanks again for your positive comments.
Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This hotel has a great location, right on the water, close to many restaurants and shops. Our room was on the 9th floor and looked out on the water. The room was large and clean. Upon getting to our room we found that we didn't have a fridge. I called down to the front desk and they advised that they were doing some upgrades and not every room had a fridge yet. As this was something we wanted they had one sent up within 10 minutes. Great service!
We enjoyed the indoor pool, but the hot tub has been removed. Not sure why. A couple family members did mention that they would have liked a chlorine pool, not the salt water pool. We also had the breakfast buffet each morning. Fairly standard breakfast food.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return.

Room Tip: Request a water view on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lswoods74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Iswoods74
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our waterfront location and the great views of the harbour. The decision to change from chlorine to salt water in the pool was made in response to a growing number of requests from our guests who wanted a more environmentally friendly experience. Also parents stated they found the absence of chlorine was easier on their childrens eyes. The hot tub was removed some time ago. An expansion of the fitness centre is planned which will incorporate the space currently occupied by the hot tub. Again, this was in response to requests from our guests for expanded fitness facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again on your next trip east! Kind regards, Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here a couple weeks ago for one night and our room had dust all over it as well as our sheets had make up on the pillow and a yellow big stain on the comforter! This was a big turn off for me and my wife. It also took 45 minutes to get a pizza delivered from room service, and we pre-ordered breakfast the night before to arrive by 9:30am because we had to leave at 10am and it ended up arriving at 9:55am making us late for our departure. All in all, every part of our stay was frustrating! Not up to Hilton standards at all.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Hotel is right on the harbor and connected to an inside connection walkway that leads to an inside shopping mall, the NB Museum and all the way to City Market. If you have trouble with hills, the inside walkway provides escalators and elevators. The hotel is also an easy outside walk to the Boardwalk with its cafes and seafood restaurants. Our king, harbor-view room had an excellent view which could be best seen sitting in the bay window.

The room was generously sized, but furnishings were a little dated, e.g., no flat screen TV. Both the bowl and the counter of our bathroom sink were badly cracked. The staff said it was due for replacement within a month. Otherwise, the staff was very helpful and friendly, even coming out to our car to see if we needed help with the luggage.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandLinda042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
JohnandLi
Thank you for your response. Your positive comments on our location and great views of the harbour from your room are much appreciated. Also that you found the time to explore the 'inside connection' and experienced the sights and restaurants on the boardwalk adjacent to the hotel. We apologise sincerely for the deficiencies in your guest room.We are pleased to confirm that renovations are due to commence within the next few weeks while will address the issues you outlined. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon and hear your feedback again once these renovations are completed. Kind regards, Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Great place. A little hard to get to, but well worth it. Great room, and super service. Skip the bar and restaurant and go across the street to the market square. The bar is way over priced and terrible bartender. Cosmo tasted like a Mai Tai for $14.50 C.

Really nice room!!

Room Tip: Ask for the large room with the seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatorday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Gatorday 1
Thank you for your response and your positive comments regarding our hotel location and the super service you experienced. We hope that on your next visit you will give us another opportunity to serve you at the Brigantine lounge so you may experience the cocktail of your choice made to your liking. Thank you again and we wish you safe travels. Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
302 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Saint John

Property: Hilton Saint John
Address: 1 Market Sq, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 4Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint John
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Saint John 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Saint John Hotel Saint John
Hilton Hotel Saint John
Saint John Hilton
Hilton Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing