We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Highway Stop”
Review of Hilton Saint John

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Saint John
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you're traveling to points north or east of New Brunswick (or Nova Scotia) this isn't adequate highway on and off stop. It's minutes from the highway and within walking distance of most of the down town area. At best you could say that this is a functional hotel with easy access. The underground parking can be a challenge especially if you are driving an oversized vehicle, but this hotel is near enough to local restaurants and the waters edge to make it a pleasant (but not memorable) overnight visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JanetJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Saint John
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is well looked after. The location is downtown and great for business or pleasure. As always the staff can make a difference and the staff are great at this hotel, very helpful. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Parking is $20.00/day. They do not have complimentary breakfast. There is a marketing fee of $4.47 per day. (Unsure what this is for). Bathroom counter was very dusty. Found a brown pill on carpet (was it vacuumed from last people). Wine in bar is $14.85 per glass. I went to the dining area for a coffee to go .. I was ignored. When I told the manager that this happened & I went across the street to Tim Hortons he apologized but then told me to go to a better Tim Hortons 1.5 blocks away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank bdthompson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your input on our service and amenities and regret the poor impression we have made. Rest assured this is not the standard that we strive for and that we take our guests comments very seriously. We will continue to work on areas mentioned in the hopes that we can change the experiences for our guests into something more memorable and more in keeping with the standards that we strive for. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, well situated on the boardwalk. Surprisingly quiet despite all the actuvities going on around it. Beds were like sleeping on clouds and it was really clean. Lots of restaurant choices just one step out the door. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Visited here for 3 nights in early July with my family.Location is great with lots of restaurants within walking distance.We had a room with a view of the harbor. Harbor is very industrial, but still better than city view perhaps.Nice warm salt water pool, but couldn't use showers as the water was "too" hot, as per the warning notes on the pool entrance.Only complaint we had about this hotel, is the very poor water pressure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and amenities and regret your experience of low water pressure. We would like to assure you that this was looked at immediately and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Many thanks and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for just one night, but found the room clean and quiet (even right by the elevator it was nice and quiet). We were upgraded to a Bay-of-Fundy view, and enjoyed looking out on the water even if it was full of white scum from the paper factory upstream.
The receptionist was very competent and friendly, suggesting we park and pay in the garage rather than paying the higher Hilton rate that allows in-and-out service.
The breakfast continental buffet was excellent, and at $12.95, was actually very reasonable given that one could select from oatmeal, cereal, fruits, coffee, juice, smoked salmon, luncheon meats, cheeses, cottage cheese, yogurt. I don't know the price of the full buffet, but the continental was PlenTY of delicious food. The wait staff, although it was early morning for us so it was not busy, were competent, friendly, helpful.
One suggestion: in the rooms that have bathrobes in the closet, put in two when there are two guests arriving, so we don't have to fight over them :)

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of a room near the elevator - it was VERY quiet here.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ooonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

ooonor
Thank you for your review and for your favourable comments regarding the service at the front desk and also the food and service levels at York Bistro. Your suggestion of a second bathrobe is an excellent one and has been noted by housekeeping. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next visit though the Fundy region. Kind regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The one issue with this hotel was finding it. GPS was confused - we could see the sign but found getting to it a bit of a problem. Excellent view and location to the harbor and close by sites. Internet was ok for the most part. Room was very clean and staff helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelsbyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Travelsbyrail
Thank you for your review. Your positive comments on the staff helpfulness and room cleanliness are appreciated and have been shared with the housekeeping team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
309 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Saint John

Address: 1 Market Sq, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 4Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint John
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
Price Range: £110 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Saint John 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Saint John Hotel Saint John
Hilton Hotel Saint John
Saint John Hilton
Hilton Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing