We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not the quality we expected”
Review of Hilton Saint John

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Saint John
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Saint John
Reviewed 26 July 2014

You'd be hard pressed to beat the location of the Hilton, directly overlooking the harbour in Saint John and in the centre of "uptown". We had a room with a view looking right across the bay. The rooms were clean and modern with comfortable beds with fluffy down comforters and soft pillows to sink one's tired head into after a long day of sightseeing. Everything was very clean, although a few light bulbs were out in the bathroom, the swivel shaving mirror loose (minor issues, hardly worth mentioning) and wi fi was not included and expensive if we had opted to use it. Brunch was outrageously overpriced, but again, the view from the dining room was very nice. We had stayed at the Delta further up the hill on Main Street the year before and although the quality of the suite was not as nice as the Hilton, the views were SPECTACULAR and we would stay there next time as the location was far superior and the pricing comparable.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a view of the harbour.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LittleFrenchBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Saint John
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

First night given a city room when booked for harbor view. fourth time this has happened at this hotel.Toilet was splattered with feces, tub had 2 inches of standing water while showering (couldn't remove drain cover to see what was plugging it up), towels weren't folded, bedside light didn't work, carpet had not been vacuumed, spackling from fresh drywall was all over carpet. Moved to a harbor view room bar side. This bathtub filled with water too, but I was able to remove the drain cover and a solid inch of hair and junk from the drain as well. Loud music kept me awake (again- have had this experience here before) long after 11 having been told it would end at 10. Last time it was 1am- when the bars closed. Following up with the front desk they admitted they had no idea how long the music played. What? They lived and worked here. They also claimed to have never had a complaint about the music before. Well, they'd had some from me before. I've stood next to people being checked into harbor view rooms and been told there were no harbor view rooms left. I've had people arrive hours after me given harbor view rooms after being told there were no harbor view rooms left. Today I cancelled my last night here (tomorrow night), but requested a late departure and was told no- they were booked solid and had no availability in the hotel. Did they realize that they were saying this to me immediately after I had made a room available? I feel lied to in this place. It seems so un-Canadian. I wish the good they tried to do outweighed the bad, but it just doesn't make up for the mediocrity of their service and product.

Room Tip: Due to noise concerns stay away from the elevators and the boardwalk side where the bars are.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20Freeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

20Freeport
Thank you for your review. We apologise sincerely for the poor service you received during your recent stay. This is certainly not the experience that we wish our guests to receive and we will strive to ensure that these oversights in relation to housekeeping do not reoccur. Also if you booked a harbour view room then you should have received that room type. Again we apologise and please accept that we are looking into this thoroughly to make sure it does not happen again. Despite your most recent experience we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back so you may experience the high service levels we believe you should expect. Kindest regards..Dermot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just got back from a week in Saint John, had a marvelous time. I can't think of how a hotel could have a better location, quite frankly. While Saint John tends to be rainy and foggy, one can easily bypass the external elements by taking the underground walkway that leads you straight into the Saint John Marketplace. Once there, you are able to maneuver throughout the mall, various businesses, the local swimming rec plex, all with ease without getting wet. This was great for me, as I was travelling with kids, and they thought it was the neatest adventure. Our room overlooked the harbor, so we were able to sit and watch the magic of the swirling waters from the comfort of our own room.
The rooms themselves could use a little updating, however, we felt it was clean and comfortable and plenty sufficient for our needs. The hotel restaurant is quite tasty, however, upon arriving late our first night, tired and famished, we were unpleasantly surprised with a surprise on our bill.
Since we were there with children, who had the kids menus, we had no idea we would have to articulate to the waiter specifically "our kids want the meal on the kids menu". To me, when you are with a 6 and 8 year old, it's obvious. However, when the bill came, we see that the waiter placed the adults Cheeseburger meal and adult Salmon meal, instead of the kids version, making for a $25 difference in our bill. Not cool.
However, our second experience in the restaurant was great and the waitress could not have been more helpful.
Pool is very small, not really worth mentioning. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a harbor room! It's worth it!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brandandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We decided at 3pm, to go to Saint John for the night (an hour away) just to for the change of scenery and found a good deal at the Hilton. The front desk clerk was amazing, and when she realized we were there with our 3 year old, she moved our room so we would have a view of the fireworks, which had been postponed since Canada Day. We didn't even know there would be fireworks. We had a perfect view, and were able to wake our son for the fun, and get him quickly back to sleep without ever leaving our room. What was going to be a nice night away, turned awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Firstly, the bed (pillows, blankets, mattress, something about it) was ridiculously comfortable. I normally don't sleep so well away from home. For our baby, a hotel employee assembled a playpen in our room and provided extra bedding - though it is adult sized. We managed to use a sheet and blanket to make a very comfy bed for our baby, who slept very well too. So well, we were grateful breakfast continued past 11! The buffet is great for little ones. Our view of the working harbor was interesting and nice, but it was also nice when it all vanished one foggy morning. We were with a large group and it was nice to meet and congregate in the breakfast room, terrace, or lobby areas, and we all appreciated being a block or two from all sorts of sights and eateries. We loved the St. John Ale House, practically next door.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Yvanka_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you're traveling to points north or east of New Brunswick (or Nova Scotia) this isn't adequate highway on and off stop. It's minutes from the highway and within walking distance of most of the down town area. At best you could say that this is a functional hotel with easy access. The underground parking can be a challenge especially if you are driving an oversized vehicle, but this hotel is near enough to local restaurants and the waters edge to make it a pleasant (but not memorable) overnight visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JanetJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is well looked after. The location is downtown and great for business or pleasure. As always the staff can make a difference and the staff are great at this hotel, very helpful. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.6 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
309 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Saint John

Address: 1 Market Sq, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 4Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint John
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
Price Range: £110 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Saint John 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Saint John Hotel Saint John
Hilton Hotel Saint John
Saint John Hilton
Hilton Saint John New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing