We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Beer - Fun Atmosphere”

Big Tide Brewing Co.
Ranked #19 of 237 Restaurants in Saint John
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Big Tide Brewing, located at 47 Princess St in Saint John NB. Hand crafted beer of all styles brewed on-site, and a full service restaurant.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
635 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“OK Beer - Fun Atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped in on a Tuesday night to sample the home brews. Choices were limited to five drafts, none of which my wife and I were particularly fond of. Tried the pierogi which were very good. It happened to be trivia night and the place filled up quickly with the locals. My wife and I joined in and had a great time - and we finished in the middle of the pack! Located in the heart of Saint John, there are other pubs in the surrounding area, but this one is popular and fun.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pfefmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    66
    27
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm Beer Frozen Parogies”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Don't bother stopping here! Beer was warm and lacked life and flavour. Staff milled around the bar in a huddle ignoring the frowns on our faces. Ordered the parogies which turned out to be frozen bagged reheated version, sprinkled which what might have been bacon and green onions. Not going to repeat the experience, crossed the street and enjoyed cold beer and a great meal and atmosphere at The Brit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simtou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Best brew in Saint John ”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Love the beer here. Great brews with a great variety. The food is good too. The atmosphere is nice and welcoming. Will definitely return in the future.

Helpful?
Thank ShipahoyNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALLACE
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quaint Micro Brewery”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband enjoyed one of their beers (I had the gluten free choice of wine). Neat to see actual brewery and smell the yeast. Wings were excellent. Decor is simple and in the basement. Staff friendly!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan210662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have heard excellent things about the beer at this brewery, but I went primarily for the food. Perhaps it was because I went in the evening and the place was quite slow, but I was incredibly underwhelmed. The decor was quite dark and dingy and the atmosphere felt very plain.

The food was not BAD, not it was not good either. In fact, I can barely remember what it tasted like now... It was just, forgettable. At one point I saw a staff member take the garbage out of the kitchen and through the dining area. I am by no means an expert, but there has to be (or should be) some sort of health code violation about this.

After I was finished a friend and I actually headed over to another pub for more food and beer. That says enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristyMaireC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Tide Brewing Co. also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Big Tide Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing