We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views from the top of the hill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858
Ranked #4 of 16 Saint John B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful views from the top of the hill”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I stayed with Ralph and the crew at Homeport at the beginning of our trip to Nova Scotia. He was brilliant. Met us at the door - showed us around the two houses that comprise the B and B and was happy to chat with us or leave us to our own devices. His dinner recommendations were spot on and his suggestion that we call ahead for reservations with the car ferry (instead of using the website) was really, really useful.

Our room was delightful. My wife has very long legs and hasn't had a proper soak in a tub for a very long time - the tub in our room was cavernous and perfect for a bit of relaxation. The bed was very comfortable and the discussions around the breakfast table were wonderful. Recommended very highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimzimlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter3545, Owner at Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
So happy your stay with us was so delightful. All the rooms are a bit different and I am glad you had the one with the Olympic size cast iron tub. I remember the reaction from your wife when she saw the tub. I think she had the taps running before I back downstairs.

Hope to have you back Rlalph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    44
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
140
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We loved this place. The setting is grand - an elegant old mansion, which you really don't fully appreciated until you go inside. Nice location on top of the hill overlooking the river and a short hike into town. The hosts were super personable and we could have talked to them for hours.... justt really nice people. Our room (the Adriana) was huge and a great value at $135 (I think it was around $150 with tax). Ralph made a great eggs benny and eveything was fresh. Thanks Karen and Ralph!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter3545, Owner at Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Hi Glad your stay was perfect. And really glad you liked my Eggs Benidict. One of our favorite breakfasts because it is not something most people make at home everyday. Toss in some fresh homemade muffins or my famous "Sin"immon buns and fresh fruit and you got a meal to keep you going all day. we do mix it up every day so even if your with us for a week it is always something different. Yumm

Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We really enjoyed staying here, very comfortable beds/rooms, delicious breakfasts, and the proprietors were so nice. It is close to the downtown area, maybe 2 miles or so/5 minute drive, and easy access to the highway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter3545, Owner at Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thanks for taking your time to share comments about Homeport. You have picked up on one of our great features in our central location. Close to town reversing falls and the access roads but not stuck in the centre of the busy uptown core with restricted parking or worse paid parking with tow away zones. 5 minutes drive door to door for uptown or a 25 to 30 minute walk along Harbour Passage to get to the city centre or Reversing falls.

Hope to have you back soon
Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carleton Place
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed two nights at Homeport, once before taking the ferry to Digby, and once on the return trip. We had two different rooms, each filled with antiques, but nicely appointed. The B&B is high on a hill overlooked the bay and Reversing Falls.

Room Tip: Stairs are a bit steep, there is one room on the ground floor if that's a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter3545, Owner at Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hi Mary M
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed the stay. You noted the stairs and yes we are on the top of the hill but it does afford us the best views in town. we have made the outside steps as shallow as possible with minimal risers of only 6 inches to make baggage movement as easy as possible. But as always we are here to assist our valued guest with bags as needed. Thanks for noting the main floor room. That is the Captains Suite and is very convenient to all our public rooms on the main floor including the Galley breakfast room.

Hope to have you back soon
Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If you only have one night to stay in New Brunswick then it has to be at Homeport.
It is a very stylish home-from-home [if you lived in the 1800's] full of wonderful furnishings and objects tastefully blended with modern facilities to provide a perfect taste of how good hostelry can be done.
Every huge bedroom has a character and style of its own with thoughtful little touches such as a dish of mints on the desk alongside a wellread old book of stories and poetry.
Our appreciation of history and the past was enhanced by the obvious care and attention and pride our hosts Ralph and Karen had taken in renevating the 2 old buildings and joining them into one large but still comfortable hotel.
We would loved to have stayed longer and made more use of the fabulous new lounge with views across the harbour, but then my husband and Ralph would have talked 'cars' for ever and we would not have had time for sightseeing.
Mention classic cars to Ralph and you've a friend for life. We were fortunate enough to have actually appeared with a classic car in one of his books. An amazing coincidence forever remembered.
Breakfast was the usual exquisite home-cooked affair as served by B&B's as opposed to regular chain hotels but with the added bonus of sharing the table with different fellow travellers each day, all with their own interesting stories to tell.
Saint John itself didn't have a great deal to offer but the nearby Bay of Fundy is a must visit especially if you can catch it when the tide is out and get down on the beach.
A note worth mentioning was the atrocious dining experience we had at the Hilton in the harbour. When you get a lamb shanks diner within 10 minutes of ordering it then you know it's not the cuisine of quality. The prawn curry was just as bad. Fortunately the manager was gracious enough to accept the complaint and dismiss the charge for the lamb.
On departure from Homeport Ralph is brilliant and helpful with advice on other unique B&B's and will even book them ahead for you.
It is certainly the only place we'd stay in New Brunswick.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jareynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter3545, Owner at Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thanks for the very comprehensive overview of our Homeport B&B. You really covered the lot and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. And I really did enjoy our discussions on the little British cars with your other half. So much fun to find somebody of like (somewhat twisted) mind when it comes to vintage and classic cars. I think we entertained you pretty well.

Sorry the meal at the Hilton was not up to standards it is not a place I would likely go for a fine dining experience but I am glad they made it right in the end.

I do hope we can have you back. evenings in the parlour with guest like your selves make the long days in service really worth while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked a trip through Expedia for three nights. We received a confirmation from Expedia that our booking was successful, in fact the night before we were to leave, I received an e-mail from Expedia that confirmed our reservation. Just to make sure, I called Homeport and spoke with one of the owners who told us that they did not have the reservation and Expedia had notified them that we were notified about the canceled booking. After posting a not so nice posting about this property, and after finding out that Expedia tried to cover themselves and blame it on the owners, I am writing here to make it right. The owners did everything they could and apologized to us (when they really didn't have to) when it was Expedia's fault. I would definitely stay with them the next time I am in St. John. But I would call them directly!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter3545, Owner at Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hi Bernadette K

I am so glad we got that mess sorted out but am very sorry your trip was not as planned due to the mix-ups by Expedia. These third party booking agents that have become so popular are often the source of mix-ups that are usually thrust back on the individual properties to sort out.
Most small places like us are reluctant participants with the third party agents.

They have a done a great job of inserting themselves between the tourist and the B&B or Inn and they charge the property a minimum of 15% of the room rate to show our property and if we choose not to show on their site we run the very serious risk of just disappearing altogether and not being found. So we are very much between a rock and a hard place.

I agree with you fully when you suggested call the property directly to find the best availability and the best rate.

Ralph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newmarket
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have been to New Brunswick a few times, staying at Homeport has made St. John my favorite place to stay in N.B. We read a few reviews before we stayed here, almost all were good. Someone mentioned that the Latour Room which is where I wanted to stay had no door on the bathroom., because of this review we picked a different room. Should have asked the owner, because of course there is a door. Anyway great people, great views, great breakfast...you can't go wrong with this place. We stayed in June 2013. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smoo1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globetrotter3545, Owner at Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Hi Smoo

Thanks for the review and pointing out that in fact there is a door on the bathroom of the LaTour room. I think this just shows how accurate some reviews are. Unfortunately we more than often pay the price of a poor review when in fact it rarely resembles the truth to the matter. I regularly ask folks where they are coming from when the check in and it always surprizes me how few can remember where they slept last night.. anyway thanks for the review Always appreciated And we hope to have back soon.

Ralph Holyoke owner and operator (16 years and going strong)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.9 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
0.6 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#3 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858

Property: Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858
Address: 80 Douglas Ave, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 1E4, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on a hill with a commanding view of the Bay of Fundy, and the Historic Port and Skyline of Saint John the Homeport Historic B&B/Inn c1858 provides the perfect setting to relax and enjoy the gracious ambiance of Canada's oldest incorporated city. The twin homes were built in 1858,and were constructed for a prominent shipbuilding family whose boat yard was located a few hundred yards below on the harbor tidal flats. Its unique Italianate architecture reflects the opulence of the time with very large bright windows and rooms, 10 foot ceilings, free standing spiral stair cases, and detailed wood work rosettes, finials and columns. Of particular interest is a pair of carved figure heads that have stood sentinel in the formal twin parlors for nearly 150 years. Come stop for a while and enjoy these magnificently restored Mansions and be pampered in Five Star luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeport Historic B&B / Inn c 1858 Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing