We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Earle of Leinster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Earle of Leinster
Ranked #3 of 16 Saint John B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

New owners haven't had it a year yet and are updating (it does need it). Good, hot breakfasts and wonderfully friendly innkeepers. They don't live on the property, but make themselves available.

Nice walk to downtown. Very reasonably priced - although the prices are in flux at this point.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to vary greatly, so call and talk to Dwight and Cheryl if you are in doubt
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAEricson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    24
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
44
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay... the rooms are amazing, very homely and lots of character. Only a few minutes walk from Uptown (Downtown) Saint John. The owners Dwight and Cheryl are great hosts and made my stay very enjoyable. The breakfasts are awesome as well! If I'm ever in Saint John again, this is where I'll be staying.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank NehPets83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We arrived in St. John late evening but when we called re accommodation, Dwight was more than happy to give us directions and bedded us down in a suitable room. The establishment is a short walk from town and many choices for lunch and dinner.....but the best meals were the breakfasts that Cheryl cooked!! They gave us excellent advice re taking a city tour (city bus),mornings were fun in the small dining room where everyone shared their experiences, and we certainly would recommend them highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryandwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Arrived in town with no reservation
but we're directed here bya major hotel. Our hosts could not have been nicer or helpful. Breakfast was over the top. Not fancy but nice. It was close to all that the Town had to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John890000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Cute, confortable, close to most attractions, enjoy a couple days in St-John it's really worth especially in this inn. Dwight and Cherryl are nice inn keepers and we really enjoy their awesome breakfast each morning. Wonderful bedroom in this old century house... Really you gonna love it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgmdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed at The Earle of Leinster B&B one night in September 2012 by chance, selected by reasonable rates and location. I returned a year later by choice to make it my home base for travel in the area. Traveling with a friend for a Road Scholar program, we stayed a total of 5 nights and found owners Cheryl and Dwight delightful, rooms charming, breakfasts delicious and varied, location and price perfect. As a seasoned traveler I heartily recommend the Earle of Leinster!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill And Caroly... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My boyfriend and I were spending two nights in Saint John and were looking for a place to stay. We booked the Earl Of Leinster based on the price and the location and were very pleasantly surprised with our experience. This was our first time in a B&B and it was everything I had every imagined! The home was old, and had history. Yes, the furnishings and overall state was dated but I didn't expect anything different. The owners Dwight and Cheryl are originally from BC but clearly love their new hometown and referred us to a number of spots that we ended up going to. Breakfast was GREAT! Cheryl is a fantastic cook. The people staying there were very friendly and we met new people at breakfast both days from all over Canada as well as the United States. We stayed in the "Study" which has it's own bathroom and kitchenette, and was large and private. We were not too disturbed by noises in the house. I would definitely recommend others to stay here and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.7 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
0.6 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Chipman Hill Suites
Chipman Hill Suites
#1 of 16 in Saint John
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earle of Leinster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earle of Leinster

Property: Earle of Leinster
Address: 96 Leinster St, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 1J3, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Earle of Leinster 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Earle of Leinster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earle Of Leinster Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing