We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kinda dusty” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earle of Leinster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Earle of Leinster
Ranked #6 of 16 Saint John B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Kinda dusty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed one night and was quite comfortable. I was shown a number of rooms but found that the ones in the main building felt rather overcrowded and dowdy. I also thought that the inn was just on the edge of being poorly maintained. Hallway walls were a little scruffy and stairs looked as if they might benefit from a good vacuuming.

Then I was shown one of the cottage-style rooms in the former carriage house and took it feeling that it was cleaner and less crowded. Pine-paneled walls, hardwood floor, smallish bathroom (with a maddening shower head), mini kitchen with eating area. But I thought that it too could benefit from a thorough cleaning after I noticed all the dusty cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling. I would stay here again only if their housekeeping was upgraded. The innkeepers were pleasant, rates were very good and the breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: See the carriage house rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasinchelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    24
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
43
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this B&B, run by Cheryl & Dwight who are very friendly, helpful and obliging.
The property was built in 1878 so the rooms are large, with high, ornate ceilings. Ours had an ensuite retro-built within the room, but still lots of space. Small fridge & microwave. Breakfast was busy, chatty with thoughtful hot entrees each day. Enough to eat without being stodgy. There are about 7 rooms in all, I think.

Room nicely appointed, including 2 high-back padded leather chairs.
Could be a tad cleaner, but not critically so; we put our empty baggage away on top of the wardrobe to be out of the way, only find thick dust on them when getting them down. The angle where the floor meets the wall could have been cleaner in parts, too. But these are minor points; the place was basically well-cleaned, warm and the 4-poster bed was comfortable.
The shower is cruise-ship size - snug.

It's located about 10 minutes walk (very safe; this is Canada) from the city centre, via a well-laid out English-style park. There is free parking at the side of the building and on-street. Free WiFi.

Thank you, Cheryl & Dwight, for a lovely stay. Recommended.

Room Tip: It's a quiet street; outside noise isn't a factor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGrimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I just completed a four night stay at the Earle of Leinster and it was a fabulous experience. So as not to be repetitious, I'll just say that all of the great things you read about this inn are true. What does bear repeating is what warm and welcoming hosts Cheryl and Dwight are. For the moment Dwight picked me up at the airport to the time I left (btw, the taxi was a little late and Dwight was about to take me there himself) I knew that the Earle of Leinster is a very special place with very special innkeepers. They totally aim to please their guests. Each morning you are treated to a delicious and sumptuous breakfast prepared by Cheryl. I like the way they have three breakfast seatings and ask you to choose one. This ensures that there is always space in the breakfast room--just one of the many touches that make you feel comfortable and cared for. As a big coffee drinker, I appreciated Dwight and the bottomless coffee cup :)

I spent my four nights in The Parlour. This room is beautiful, quite spacious and contains a full kitchen. I would highly recommend this room, especially if you plan to prepare some of your own meals. The inn's location is superb--in the Uptown area, not more than five minutes on foot to the Old Market. I thought the area felt totally safe--on two occasions, my friend and I walked from the Delta Hotel to the inn at around 1:00 am. Call us two crazy old ladies, but we both felt perfectly safe.

The next time I find myself in Saint John I will stay here and I heartily recommend the same to any potential guests. Thank you Cheryl and Dwight!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriola Island, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Everything you need in a B&B. The hosts went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable. The internet connection didn't work well in our room in the Carriage house, but that's okay, you have the key to the main house with access to the basement area that is furnished with comfy couches etc. Our room had a small kitchenette, tv, a comfortable clean bed & it was quiet.

Cheryl made us wonderful breakfasts, tailored to our diet & Dwight made sure that we always had a full cup of coffee.
The price was very reasonable especially for the location, walking distance to downtown St John. If we ever go back to St John, this will be the place to stay.

Room Tip: If you like to be off by yourself, then the carriage house is the perfect spot. It's in the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GabriolaGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

New owners haven't had it a year yet and are updating (it does need it). Good, hot breakfasts and wonderfully friendly innkeepers. They don't live on the property, but make themselves available.

Nice walk to downtown. Very reasonably priced - although the prices are in flux at this point.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to vary greatly, so call and talk to Dwight and Cheryl if you are in doubt
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAEricson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay... the rooms are amazing, very homely and lots of character. Only a few minutes walk from Uptown (Downtown) Saint John. The owners Dwight and Cheryl are great hosts and made my stay very enjoyable. The breakfasts are awesome as well! If I'm ever in Saint John again, this is where I'll be staying.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank NehPets83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We arrived in St. John late evening but when we called re accommodation, Dwight was more than happy to give us directions and bedded us down in a suitable room. The establishment is a short walk from town and many choices for lunch and dinner.....but the best meals were the breakfasts that Cheryl cooked!! They gave us excellent advice re taking a city tour (city bus),mornings were fun in the small dining room where everyone shared their experiences, and we certainly would recommend them highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryandwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.7 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 19 in Saint John
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
0.6 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 19 in Saint John
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
0.5 mi away
Chipman Hill Suites
Chipman Hill Suites
#1 of 16 in Saint John
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earle of Leinster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earle of Leinster

Property: Earle of Leinster
Address: 96 Leinster St, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 1J3, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Earle of Leinster 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Earle of Leinster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earle Of Leinster Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing