We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Searching and Make Your Reservation”
Review of Weir Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint John
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Weir Inn
Ranked #5 of 16 Saint John B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, CT
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Stop Searching and Make Your Reservation”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I were looking for a comfortable place to stay in Saint John, and did we ever find it. The view from the rear is extremely relaxing, and you can watch the effects of the tidal changes as rocks appear and disappear. The trip into Saint John is only about ten minutes. Hence, you get easy access to Saint John and the benefits of a quiet neighborhood. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was great (fresh fruit, an omelette one day and pancakes the other). Nonie also gave us a brochure for self-guided historic walks around Saint John, and we greatly enjoyed the one we did. If you are wondering where to stay for your trip to Saint John, look no further.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoofleDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

If you are in the St John area, this is the place to stay. Nonie has built a B and B facility that is among the very best we have stayed in. Two beautiful rooms with superb bathrooms, both tastefully decorated are on either side of a common area for guests in the basement. A fireplace, Keurig, and fridge are just some of the features of the sitting area. The private entrance opens out to the Bay of Fundy and a breath taking view. Nonie’s hospitality and breakfasts were superb. Getting into town is super easy and there are some very scenic spots to visit nearby. We recommend this spot without reservation and would stay here again for sure, given the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PMcG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oromocto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The pictures don't do this place justice. The view is spectacular, the beach is beautiful, the food is delicious, the rooms/furniture are comfortable, and the hosts welcoming and good-humoured! Far better than any hotel could offer in the area and only a very short $10 cab into town if you want to have some drinks with dinner. Stay here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steevesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

After spending 2 weeks traveling around the maritimes and staying at 7 B&B's (all TripAdvisor #1's for their location), I can easily say that this was the best one by far. There are a few necessities for a traveler when it comes to accommodations: getting a good night sleep to gear up for the day's excursions and getting a chance to clean up after a day of fun. These two should be done in comfort, and I got that in spades here.

Nonie and Paul have a wonderful set up for their guests. You have a private entrance in the back to a great living area, equipped with tables, recliners, boardgames, a guest fridge, and a fireplace. Off of this are two rooms. Ours had two double beds with plush bedding (I was traveling with my mom so the two beds was very nice). It was like sleeping on a cloud. Off of that was a spacious and very clean bathroom, with a normal stand up shower (don't take this for granted at B&B's!).

Breakfast time is flexible based on your preference, and it was superb! Nonie's fruit salad has a special something in it that really shines, and is followed by a very tasty and filling main course. We had home fries and vegetable omelettes with salsa, as well as a fantastic toast that Paul whipped up. (Don't miss out on the homemade pumpkin spread--it's unique and delicious!)

Both hosts are extremely accommodating and nice. Paul even drove out with me to help me get a Canadian SIM card for my iPhone!

Also worth noting is the superior location. They are right on the water and have beach access. Can't beat that.

All in all, if you're in St. John and need a B&B, stay here. Or you will surely regret it.

Room Tip: Honestly can't go wrong here. One room has two beds, the other a large single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LetsGoExploring13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was a fantastic place to stay in Saint John. There is a large common room with plenty of reading material about the area, a coffee maker and cozy furniture. When you step out of the sliding doors, you have a perfect view of the Bay of Fundy. A few steps down the grassy hill, and you are at the water. Lovely landscaping all around the property. Our room was excellent- warm beds and a huge bathroom. With the windows open, we could hear the waves crashing all night. Our breakfast was quite delicious- fruit salad and veggie omelet. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TxAggie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The B&B is located direcly on the waterfront, just a few minutes away from downtown St. John. We stayed in a very clean room with a spacious bathroom. The shared common area provides the possibility to have tea or coffee and to store things in a fridge. In the morning we enjoyed a very delicious breakfast as well as the nice conversation with Nonie and Paul, the hosts, and were even introduced to the local delicacy of fiddleheads. If you're looking for a beautiful, quiet place to stay in St. John, that would definitely be a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlen_Jonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

A good friend and I recently decided on a winter getaway that resulted in us being at the Weir Inn for a couple of nights. We had a great stay at this cozy comfortable bed and breakfast right on the shore of the beautiful Bay of Fundy, yet only a five minute drive from uptown Saint John. The place is wonderfully serene with a fantastic view overlooking the bay, like being at a retreat or spa. The hostess is very hospitable and accommodating, looking after every detail and providing delicious full breakfasts. I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJeanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 20 in Saint John
287 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 20 in Saint John
553 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 20 in Saint John
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#10 of 20 in Saint John
66 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Saint John Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weir Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weir Inn

Property: Weir Inn
Address: 131 Kean Rd | Saint John West, Saint John, New Brunswick E2M 4Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Saint John
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Weir Inn Saint John, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing